We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
135
83
18
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
83
18
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews between banff and lake louise train noise fire pit bedroom cabin full kitchen french doors light sleeper cedar chalet recreation room hot tub johnson canyon these cabins snow shoes huge bathroom separate shower a small grocery store dvd player
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 263 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We discovered Castle Mountain Chalets whilst driving the Bow Valley Parkway on a trip in January so decided to spend a night there to check it out.

We booked one of the slightly larger pine cabins and immediately regretted booking only one night as the cabin was very spacious with a modern bathroom an incredibly comfortable bed and a decent sized well equipped kitchen. The ultra efficient log burner in the one corner quickly got the cabin up to temperature; we even had to open all the windows and the front door to cool things down at one point.

The surrounding scenery is stunning, and the reception shop very well stoked at reasonable prices, the cabins are just a short drive/walk away from several attractions including Johnson’s canyon.

However there is one huge drawback, the cabins are right next to the railroad at a location where it crosses the main road with no gates so approaching trains have to sound their horns constantly as they pass through. The night we stayed they were passing through at a rate of at least two per hour all through the night. Despite what was possibly the most comfortable bed in North America we got very little sleep and were then glad we were only spending one night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TWMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here unexpectedly when Johnston Canyon Resort had double booked our bungalow and were very happily surprised when we were shown our appartment. The resort itself is a 10 KM drive from Johnston Canyon (Falls) and is a self-catering accommodation. There is a communal recreation room including a computer with internet access, a hot tub, BBQ area etc. The accommodation was spacious and well equiped. The bathroom has a jacuzzi bath and separate shower cubicle. Overall we were very comfortable and the staff very welcoming. However, since this was an unexpected stay, we were not prepared for self-catering. There is a small shop on site which sells a variety of things.

Room Tip: Be aware the trains can be heard throughout the night which is the same for all the accommodation in this area.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya-Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We booked for five nights in the new loft apartment suites. The new suites provide a little bit of luxury- with their incredibly comfortable beds, well equipped bathrooms including jacuzzi baths, superbly equipped kitchen and comfortable lounge with sofa/bed and small balcony.

The accomodation is actually superb and with the reduced end of summer/weekend rates made them incredibly good value for money.

The Chalets themselves are a mix of different style/era properties within easy travelling ditsance of both Banff and Lake Louise. Set on the Bow Valley Parkway there are excellent opportunities for wildlife watching although it was a bit quiet when we were there.

The downside if the proximity to the train lines and having read previous reviews had drawn the conclusion that its a balance between location and any disturbance caused. We did find that the noise could be "blocked out" in the main- but a couple of nights either there were more early morning trains- or the driver had upped the volume on his "horn"- whichever- a couple of nights we didn't sleep as well as we would have liked.

We had one minor maintenance problem- actually caused be a problem in the neighbouring flat. When we reported the problem we received possibly our best customer service in a long time. The complementary bottle of wine was also an excellent gesture (and quite tasty).

These flats are excellent and the accomodation well run. On that basis they can be highly recommended- just remember the trains- so they aren't a shock.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BinfieldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The ad for the cabins described them as Luxuriously Rustic. Rustic yes, luxurious not so much. The bath fixtures were stained, we ran hot of hot water, some kitchen utensils were not clean, the coffee pot was inadequate. However, it was the train noise that was the worst. The first night we were there it seemed that there was a train at least every 30 minutes. Because the cabins are only about 100 yards from the tract it sounds as if the train whistle is right in the room. Forget getting a decent nights sleep. The next couple of night were not as bad, but definitely not good. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here for a week in one of the "Pine Cabins." After we made the reservations, I read some of the negative reviews on this site and almost cancelled... I'm so glad we didn't!

Our cabin was perfect for us -- immaculately clean, comfortable & attractive bed, couch, fireplace, kitchenette, and nice bathroom with tub & shower. We had a picnic table outside our door and chairs. It's true that the cabins are close together, but they seem to be positioned so that you don't feel that way. We could mostly see trees from our windows.

We were out and about on most days, and the cabins are nicely located midway between Lake Louise and the town of Banff. Great view of Castle Mountain from the entrance. There's a gas station (one very old fashioned pump) and a surprisingly well stocked store.

We never used the common areas, but understood there was a lounge area, computers, and a hot tub. The wireless internet wasn't working during our stay, but that wasn't a big drawback for us.

Yes, it is fairly close to the train tracks and the trains go by at night. We both happen to love trains -- so we found the sounds soothing when we could hear them, and both of us slept through them without any trouble at all. If you're an extremely light sleeper, you might want to bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews