We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day, Great guy”

Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours
Ranked #12 of 27 Tours in Banff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Some the best known scenery on Earth is concentrated in a set of parks in the Canadian Rockies.Straddling the continental divide of Alberta and BC, Canadian Rockies Alpine is well situated to discover and explore this UNESCO World Heritage site.Walks leave daily,and are led by a licensed, insured park guide.Private, multi day and custom outings are available upon request.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day, Great guy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was on a trip with my girlfriend to Banff, both of us for the first time. I found Dave on trip advisor and had a good feeling about him. What a great guy. He was like hiking with a friend... we joked, we laughed, we ate, we drove, we hiked, we spent the whole day together in the Rockies. He totally got us and we made the best out of a rainy day with no complaints. He also helped up plan the rest of our trip based on what we wanted.

I plan on going back to Banff with my husband and kids and Dave will definitely be booked again! I feel like I'll be going back to see an old friend rather than just a hike guide. Thanks Dave! Karla and I had the most amazing trip and it was great to start it off with you as our guide.

I strongly recommend you book this guy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kellylynndub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Thx girls for your kind words and for taking time to share your memories. Hope to see you again sometime soon with your families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't have wanted to see Lake Louis any other way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

David was friendly and kind right from the start. I had hoped to arrange for a full day private guided hike for me and my family in the Banff area and approached David for a plan. I explained in the email our circumstances as tourist without access to vehicles and as very inexperienced hikers. Unlike other guided tour establishments who offered us no alternative except to rent a car and get to the hike area on our own, David offered to rent a vehicle on our behalf and pick us up and drive us for the entire trip. He only charged us very reasonably for the car rental and insurance. This way we also saved on the entrance fees to the n.parks I think. Throughout the scenic drive, David explained the sights that we would otherwise have no clue to. He would go out of the way to show us different sights from the route we came by. We spotted a family of mother and baby elks because he did so.

My father wasn't exactly fit with an aversion to physical activities normally and have already been to Lake Louis. David understood our needs and managed to choose the most suitable trail for us, just challenging enough to give satisfaction but never to kill our joy with fatigue. We took the Lake Agnes Trail up to the Six Glaciers. His knowledge of the area was humbling, he managed to bring us on a quiet route even in the busiest summer season and he answered all our questions about the flowers and sights.

It was a great experience that we would never forget. (My dad still raves about it all the time!)

Also, if you are planning to hike in Banff but for some reason are not planning to drive (we didn't as we are unfamiliar with the driver's position being from Singapore), definitely get Dave to arrange the trip for you. He could get better prices for car rental and hotels at corporate rate and he even offered to pick us up from the Calgary airport on our next trip. I wished I got him to help earlier as we could have saved loads from the taxi fare (which was exorbitant!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iezean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Tx for taking the time to capture some of your memories and your kind words. Hi to your dad please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Day Discovering Bee Hive Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first guided hike and thanks to our guide, Dave Honeyman, we have a treasure
trove of memories! We asked for a scenic hike and that is exactly what we got. He was super
knowledgeable about the trail and all the beautiful plants,rock formations, lakes and wildlife
we saw along the way. There was never a dull moment with Dave! He listened to what we
wanted to do and then delivered. We would recommend a full day with Dave. So much to do
and see. Thanks to his guidance, we didn't waste our time wandering aimlessly about. After hiking up Bee Hive (on Lake Louise), we drove to Lake Moraine and explored a bit. Even while
we drove Dave gave us such cool info about the sights. We would highly recommend Dave as
an excellent guide!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrumyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Thx folks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford Lincs England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HF Holidays Western Canada and Canadian Rockies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Dave Honeyman of Canadian Rockies Alpine took us to some of the most beautiful and remote parts of the Rockies we would never have discovered on our own. His knowledge and obvious love of this part of Canada added enormously to the hiking. Each day of our 15 day holiday he blended his efficiency and a great sense of adventure with down to earth charm. Without Dave's encouragement and coaching we would never have achieved the heights we did! Altogether it added up to a wonderful in depth experience of the hiking, flora and fauna of the Rockies from Vancouver to Calgary. We would unhesitatingly recommend this holiday to anyone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanadianRockiesAlpin, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for posting, it really was a memorable trip.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Canadian Rockies Superguide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Dave has guided for us on many occasions, last time in August 2011. His hikes were well thought out and customised to suit our abilities, whilst still providing an element of challenge – who could forget Cory Edith Pass or Indian Ridge! He can take you places you’d never otherwise find and there’s not much he doesn’t know about Canadian flora and fauna – he always makes time to tell you about the animals or plants you come across on his hikes and knows a ‘wee bit’ about history and geology too. His enthusiasm for his country is infectious – hence the reason we keep returning to Canada. Dave is a good organiser, efficient and considerate with a good sense of humour and, as visitors to Canada, we’ve always found him friendly and helpful. We hope to visit again soon.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndaW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanadianRockiesAlpin, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Looking forward to your next visit this summer in 2013.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing