We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise find”
Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, AB
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great surprise find”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

One Thursday morning in Calgary I felt like heading up to Banff. As a photographer, I knew I wanted to be there to capture the sunset and wished that I had headed out early enough for sunrise. On a whim, I went onto Expedia and checked out rooms. I was shocked when I found a room with a queen size bed at Bumpers for $65. I booked it last minute and headed up to Banff.

My review could end here - Banff for $65 a night is unheard of. I did, however, enjoy more than just the price.

The rooms were cozy and clean. The staff is friendly and you're far enough off the main street as not to have to hear the noise all night.

I was out an about most of the night but returned to my comfortable room and slept well after an amazing feast at Bumper`s Beef House. Oh my.

If I had a complaint, I found it a bit warm even with the windows open. Not enough to ruin my sleep, but just warm enough to notice.

Very early in the morning I headed out to capture the sunrise, but not before filling my thermos with some complimentary coffee at the front desk on the way out.

Only regret was that I didn`t stay a second night - i`ll be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borborhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    65
    62
    16
    6
See reviews for
29
94
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Bed bugs, what more can we say, caution. I would not want anyone else to have all these bites.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ykretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

South Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Bumpers is our first 'motel' style accommodation and we would have no problems recommending it. It is a fair walk from Banff centre, but this didn't put us off. The room was large with tv and some toiletries. No frills kind of place, but as we were only there for one night it didn't worry us. The main reason we chose Bumpers is that a few years ago we were in Banff and had a meal there and it was really good, with great staff and atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLKTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Banff is not the most affordable place, but Bumpers Inn cushions the blow (a bit). I paid $125.00/night for 2 people/2 beds (during the high season) + $10.00 for a pet. The rooms were basic. I really liked the view facing the patio; the trees made me feel like I was in the wilderness. There is no air conditioning however, and a warning should be issued that the rooms get HOT. Sleep was difficult because of this. The hotel is located a distance away from where all the action is, but I liked this as it remained relatively quiet. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyoblada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I probably will not stay here again because the beds were too uncomfortable. Upon laying down they seem fine, but after a while my back started to hurt a bit, and in the morning it was much worse. It may be that my back is just spoiled by my nice mattress at home.
Though the rooms were clean and free of bedbugs (I checked very carefully), some of the bathroom walls were cracked and overall in much need of renovation. The cinderblock walls help keep sound from passing through, but don't look very nice, even when painted. Rooms were spacious compared to a typical hotel, and had a counter with mirror outside the bathroom. Coffee machine, hairdryer, and TV but no fridge, microwave, or iron. No hot tub or any other amenities on site unless you count an ice machine. There was a wireless network, but it was password protected so either it's not for guests or you have to pay for it.
Can't comment on the service as my friend did the checkin and I only stayed one night. Location is good if you want someplace quiet. The price was too high for what you get, in that there are much better hotels in Banff for the same price. Of course, this was the only one I could find anything available. The fact that they were among the last to sell out means they either don't advertise enough, or maybe they just don't get much return business!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We travelled with two kids on Christmas eve to Banff. We booked online a few weeks ahead. The price for the stay was so low, we couldn't pass it up. We were not offered any sort of upgrade upon arrival. Basic dorm room appearance, two double beds. A courtyard off the rooml is nice, and we peered into the vacant room next door, which revealed an exact room with a much nice cedar wall that would have improved upon the experience, lending it a taste of mountin chalet rather than city dorm. Parking was free, the Inn has a restaurant, which was closed Christmas Eve, so we did not try it. The hotel itself is well equipt and fairly standard. I called front desk to see if they knew what restaurants were open, but unfortunately the person I talked to only spouted off restaurants in the area and didn't even know the hotel's restaurant was closed for the evening. He was helpful, but not well informed. He did bring us some magazines with listings of restaurants in the area and we found a few that were open with some sleuthing. Regardless, a quick stay, good on our budget and we slept very well on the beds.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Correggio, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

As in Banff everything is very expensive we was looking for a reasonable price.
We was out all the day for nature trips and we was in the Motel only for sleeping so we don't need many services but only cleanliness and quiet.
The MOtel is located immediatly outside from center so is very quiet and the room in its semplicity was always clean.
At the end, the minimum service for the price payed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mareluna73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 33 in Banff
1,157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 33 in Banff
785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 33 in Banff
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#28 of 33 in Banff
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Property: Bumpers Inn
Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing