We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Banff”
Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed November 25, 2006

We stayed at Bumpers for two nights in Sept 2006. Our room was very bare with no pictures on the walls to brighten the place up a little. The style was also a little dated and tired but it was clean, with a large bathroom and as a definite plus it was inexpensive for Banff. Located away from the main town centre it was quiet. There was a pleasant central garden / patio area although we didn't use it as it was too cold! Bumpers Steakhouse is right next door and we had a tasty meal there – be prepared to wait it's very popular and rightly so. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akhmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Bumpers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2006

We have stayed at Bumpers many times throughout the years. The price is very reasonable for being in Banff. No, it's not new or all that modern. But, it is clean and comfortable. The centre courtyard is a very nice touch and we love sitting there during the evening playing cards. We have never had a problem with noisy people sitting there late in the evening. If we did, I think one call to the front desk would solve the matter. The lady who works the front desk during the day (Linda) is very friendly and helpful. The fact it is located beside Bumper's Beef House is a bonus since you don't have to go far for a great meal! All you can eat salad bar is great! And, the prime rib is fantastic!

Complaints about Bumper's surprises me. What do people expect? As others have stated, you don't go to Banff to spend time in your room. If you want something affordable and comfortable, stay at Bumper's.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank Banfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

We were travelling in May and hit the off season rates. Easy to find, staff very friendly. Rooms were nice, finished in pine. No air conditioning though, so had to have windows open and there were some noisy guests in the courtyard. We definately recommend Bumpers to the budget minded traveller.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank PEI_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

6 nights at Bumpers started us off on our 3 week stay in the Rockies.
The start wasn't great as we were allocated the room above Reception with glorious views of the car park and road junction.
However, when we spoke to the helpful receptionist, we were given 3 keys to rooms to view and decide which we'd prefer. As such we got a suitable room round the back.
The positives with Bumpers is it is cheap for Banff. Plus it's next to the Bumpers Steak House - which is great (we preferred eating in the bar upstairs) rather than downstairs in the restaurant - but that too is very good - especially the salad bar.
Downsides are that it is a bit "tired" in the room, everything had been well used. Also - it's a gamble on the other guests staying there. All rooms face into a central court which is you have other guests partying into the evening will make things noisy.
It's a 15 minute stroll into town if you don't want to drive.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank AIBNORFOLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Northampton, England
324
Reviewed January 14, 2006

We wanted a place in Banff that would not cost a fortune and that was just clean and was a place to rest our heads for a few nights.

This Inn was just perfect for that. It's not luxury, it is simple and clean and you won't be paying rip off prices like in the rest of Banff. Most of the day you'll be out and about so my recommendation is to take the cheap option unless its a special occasion.

Its location is right on the main road (like all other hotels) but its probably the last hotel on the strip out of town. You get the odd coyote in the car park at night! It's about 15 mins walk from town. Speaking of coyotes, try the Coyote restaurant while you are here, we loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
15
Reviewed December 23, 2005

I stayed in Banff with a couple of friends during a road trip across Canada. Beautiful town - would love to go back when the mountains are open for skiing. Stayed at Bumpers Inn because it was cheap. We were checked in by a rude staff member, she was more insterested in chatting to her friends on the phone than helping us. Very condescending (and judgemental) towards 3 young femlaes, she even warned us about noise etc - before we'd even checked in!! The room smelt pretty bad - sort of musty and old. Rooms sparsely furnished but clean, no facilities onsite like a pool or restaurant. And too far from the main centre of town - at least a 20 minute walk. Friends of ours stayed at The Red Carpet - about $10 extra a night, and only 5 minutes to town. We ate at Bruno's - great little bar/restaurant, just off the main street.

Stayed: June 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed October 10, 2005

When we first got there, the front desk agent gave us a room full of mouse traps accidently, then we moved to a second floor room, which was nicer because of the vaulted ceilings. The bathroom was nice, it must've been fairly recently rennovated. I didn't like the location so much, as it is a long walk from the town centre. Overall it was decent and clean, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 33 in Banff
1,208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#22 of 33 in Banff
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 33 in Banff
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $86 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing