We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and well looked after but are a bit dated. As has been mentioned in other reviews there is no airconditioning it didn't worry me but it was a tad warm at night. The staff are nice and are willing to go the extra mile for guests

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MGM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    57
    15
    6
See reviews for
27
87
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at Bumper's Inn upon our arrival to Banff. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The scent of pine wafted through the room from the surrounding pine forest. We felt the property met our needs and was very reasonably priced. Office staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was one of our poorest motel experiences ever. We arrived to stay on one of the hottest days of the year. We had had a very good day driving the Icefield parkway between Jasper and Banff and were ready for a bit of relaxation at our motel. That was not to be. We guessed we were in a bit of trouble upon arrival, finding a " Be back in 15 minutes sign on the door to the lobby and of course not knowing which end of the 15 minutes we were on. The clerk arrived back about 10 minutes later to check us in. His overly animated manner made me even more concerned. But it was the room that said it all. The room was an oven and there was no air conditioning. It was hard to believe how hot it was. Seeing our clerk in the courtyard, I asked, "Is there no AC here. His response was No Sorry. The night was a very painful experience as the room NEVER cooled down, even though we were deep in the mountains. This was due to a extreme lack of circulation. There were only two small window to open and no chance for cross ventilation.

As well it was apparent that this place is being neglected. Regular maintenance is not being done.

I would suggest staying clear of Bumper Inn unless you are a teenage skier looking for a great motel to get drunk and raise hell in during ski season. That would be all it might work for.

You may ask why we stayed. Well, we had reserved with 48 hour cancellation charge in play. As well this is Banff in high season. We were travelling with friends and knew that getting a reasonable motel with two rooms was not going to happen. After the night we had....we should have scratched and clawed to get out of this situation and to seek out an alternative. But you know when you are travelling and hot and tired, it's really not what you want to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

SW Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We lucked out! Had reservations at a B&B in Canmore but received a cancellation due to owner family crisis. Found Bumper Inn in Banff on TA. Canmore was frequently recommended on TA for it's slower pace.

Glad we booked, as Bumper Inn turned out to be located just as you enter Banff from the highway. Not a Fairmont - but clean, roomy, comfortable bed and nice shower. For the money, I don't think we could have done better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Comfy bed, fridge, m/wave & coffee maker were appreciated. However, there were only two table lamps - no ceiling lights. You could only read in daylight if you sat at the window & not at all after dark. There was no A/C, temp of 36c -28c, only two small windows to open. We sweltered all night. The window looked out on a busy walkway, no blinds or nets - everybody could & did look in as they went past. Wouldn't recommend this Inn, it may be cheap by Banff's standard, but in a six week trip in U.S.A & Canada it was one of the most expensive we stayed in but not one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved Banff and Bumpers Inn was a convenient and cost effective base for us to explore. The bed was comfortable and the free wifi was fast. We didn't spend much time in the room but the location was quite convenient as we had a car to get around. The outside courtyard does seem to attract people in the evening and there was one night where it was a bit loud but it didn't bother us and we went to sleep (those long walks tired us out!) We were upstairs and there is no lift so carrying our luggage up was a bit of effort but it wasn't a problem. Breakfast is not provided but there is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. If you are looking for a low cost option to explore Banff this place is a good choice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnneinAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Located on the far edge of Banff, this quiet motel was perfect for our one night stopover on the way to BC. The room was clean and the beds comfortable for our family of 4. Lots of space in the room for stuff and recharging electronics.
I liked how the room overlooked a beautiful courtyard and how there was a balcony and windows that open. It would get quite warm though if it was more than +20 during the day.
Overall a lovely, reasonably priced stay for a quick stop.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank edmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#32 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Property: Bumpers Inn
Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing