We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet at edge of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Banff
SW Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quiet at edge of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We lucked out! Had reservations at a B&B in Canmore but received a cancellation due to owner family crisis. Found Bumper Inn in Banff on TA. Canmore was frequently recommended on TA for it's slower pace.

Glad we booked, as Bumper Inn turned out to be located just as you enter Banff from the highway. Not a Fairmont - but clean, roomy, comfortable bed and nice shower. For the money, I don't think we could have done better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    58
    15
    6
See reviews for
27
87
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Comfy bed, fridge, m/wave & coffee maker were appreciated. However, there were only two table lamps - no ceiling lights. You could only read in daylight if you sat at the window & not at all after dark. There was no A/C, temp of 36c -28c, only two small windows to open. We sweltered all night. The window looked out on a busy walkway, no blinds or nets - everybody could & did look in as they went past. Wouldn't recommend this Inn, it may be cheap by Banff's standard, but in a six week trip in U.S.A & Canada it was one of the most expensive we stayed in but not one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved Banff and Bumpers Inn was a convenient and cost effective base for us to explore. The bed was comfortable and the free wifi was fast. We didn't spend much time in the room but the location was quite convenient as we had a car to get around. The outside courtyard does seem to attract people in the evening and there was one night where it was a bit loud but it didn't bother us and we went to sleep (those long walks tired us out!) We were upstairs and there is no lift so carrying our luggage up was a bit of effort but it wasn't a problem. Breakfast is not provided but there is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. If you are looking for a low cost option to explore Banff this place is a good choice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnneinAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Located on the far edge of Banff, this quiet motel was perfect for our one night stopover on the way to BC. The room was clean and the beds comfortable for our family of 4. Lots of space in the room for stuff and recharging electronics.
I liked how the room overlooked a beautiful courtyard and how there was a balcony and windows that open. It would get quite warm though if it was more than +20 during the day.
Overall a lovely, reasonably priced stay for a quick stop.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank edmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
312 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Bumpers Inn is well located on the east end of town, about a block from the main drag, next to a pleasant grove of trees. If you feel like walking a mile or a bit more, you can explore the main street on foot.

Our room on the second level was quiet and spacious, with a comfortable bed, and although the building isn't close to being new, it is well maintained. For $140 per night, one might hope for more luxury (and at least a continental breakfast), but this is Banff, and location is a major determiner of price.

It was in the mid 80s (Fahrenheit, of course) when we arrived in Banff. The rooms at Bumpers do not have air conditioning, but since temperatures in the area tend to cool down considerably at night, we didn't give the matter much thought. Unfortunately, by 9:00 pm, and despite leaving our windows open, the temperature in our room was still at 79 degrees. I went to the office to request a fan, and was told that all the available fans had been given out. Our room remained uncomfortably hot throughout the night -- testimony, perhaps, to the building's insulation, but not to its comfort level on during our mid-July stay.

Wi-fi is available, but it was extremely slow, and the signal was very weak (it may be better in rooms closer to the router, wherever that may be).

Room Tip: First-floor rooms *might* be a bit cooler during hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater FL
Level Contributor
230 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Bumpers is on the edge of the main town area. I wouldn't say it is walkable to the city center. By that I mean you could walk it, but there really isn't much to see until you get close to the center of town. The rooms are, "roomy" and vaulted ceilings were in the 2nd floor room in which we stayed. The room was great. No A/C, you can open windows, but they look inward to the common courtyard, so the folks on the other side of the that court yard are also doing the same. It is located next to a wooded area and the hotel benefits from the shade and cooler breeze.
I would recommend this as a good budget stay with basic services fitted to the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashark7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were looking for a not to pricey place for a ski weekend. Bumpers fit the bill. Price was at the $100.00 mark, which was well within our budget. Check in was easy and staff were helpful with any Banff questions. Rooms were a good size and clean. There was WIFI and parking by your door. For a simple motel I rate it as better than most.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J&W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#32 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Property: Bumpers Inn
Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing