We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Banff
sarasota, fl
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's not luxurious. Read the other reviews. However, I loved all the windows facing the courtyard and the large room that reminded me of a Wisconsin cabin. Bed was very comfortable, nice quilt. Loved having the fridge.
This was one of the "cheapest" available hotels for September at $125 nt..with tax, almost $150 !
Western Canada is very expensive !
We brought premeasured baggies of cereal and some plastic containers (sour cream) for bowls. Bought milk and bananas in town. We had quick, healthy and cheap breakfasts. You'd appreciate that once you buy a few meals in town.
Since we like to walk, we loved the location close to trees and mountains, about a 20 minute, very pleasant walk. Several restaurants within 5 minutes walk and bus just across the parking lot.
Luckily, in September, we were able to keep the windows open and didn't need a/c.

Room Tip: 2nd floor overlooking courtyard was good for us. Some rooms have balconies and are only slightly m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alohashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    58
    15
    6
See reviews for
27
87
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 875 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Superb steaks. Don't over-do the free salad bar though. Warm and hospitable. Excellent service and friendly staff. Very welcoming owner. Nothing is too much. Clean and hygienic facilities. Safe access.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeBakerLegion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
193 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, prebooking/paying before we left the UK. The location and price are ok, it's about 20 minutes walk into the centre of Banff. There is a restaurant next door which I thoroughly recommend.

Nice friendly greeting on arrival, we had a fair sized room with fridge, microwave, coffee maker etc, really every amenity we needed. Being away from the town it was quiet at night which is a big plus for us.

What was lacking was a comfortable chair to sit in and proper cups, this was the only motel we've stayed in which provided paper cups with the coffee machine refills. No A/C, but we just about managed with an open window. At the back is a courtyard with tables and chairs for guests, as we were on the ground floor we had to close our curtains in daylight hours for privacy, so the addition of net curtains or blinds would be good.

Must add that the walls are very thin and the TV from the room next door was troublesome.

Cleanliness was good although my husband did find a tomato under the chair on our last morning - not ours I might add.

All in all it was a good and comfortable stay for the price, not 5 star by any means. If we visit Banff again we would probably look for somewhere else, unless we hear in the meantime that it's had a refurbishment..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on the first floor with a window overlooking the central courtyard. The room was a good size, with a tiled hall/entrance (handy when it's wet or snowy), a decent size bathroom and bedroom. The room wasn't luxurious but it was functional and clean. Easy to find when entering Banff from the east, and parking was free as well as a good wifi connection.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, obviously been there some time as he almost sang his replies to our questions as no doubt he's answered them so many times. No on site breakfast or restaurant but there is a Bumpers grill just to the front. Looking at the rest of Banff this place looks to provide great value as other accommodation is much more expensive.

I certainly would stay here again, but not sure if I'd want to be here for weeks as some of the home comforts would be missed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Max186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a rather faded looking motel on the edge of town; our room seemed rather dark and dated – but it was comfortable and quite a good size. It had a microwave and a fridge, and a bath tub that I could just about lie down in. The hotel has coffee in the lobby in the morning, but no breakfast; for eating in the evening there’s a good restaurant next door (nice food, quick service and not expensive). The hotel is very easy to find, just off the main road into town, but is in a quiet location. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Altogether, you could do a lot worse than staying here, and you’ll probably quite enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

basic accomodations but clean & convenient. Great for using as a base to explore Banff & Lake Louise. Room included a fridge, micro, & coffee pot. New mattress- very comfy. No A/C though. got a little warm in the late afternoon. Good steakhouse next door. Can't be beat for the price!

Room Tip: we had a bottom floor room. No elevator available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitchenmagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Banff is quite expensive so this little motel on the edge of town does not break the bank. A basic but functional establishment. No A/C or ceiling fans so the rooms are a bit stuffy in summer. Car park is a bit tatty but hey it's free. Steak house restaurant worth the go next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackwidows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#32 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Property: Bumpers Inn
Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing