We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Party Central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samesun Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Samesun Banff to your Saves list
Samesun Banff
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Party Central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I don't have any pictures for this Hostel, BUT I remember having a blast. I was subjected to a night in a 6 bed dorm for my Bachelor Party in 2013. The room was clean and it had enough room for us to hang out before heading out on the town. It's super close to EVERYTHING and the staff were relatively friendly.

The restaurant was cheap, had great food and drinks. The waitress kept asking us to take agwa bombs, which is definitely a tasty drink for those of you looking to pre-game. I would not suggest this hostel for anyone who wants a quiet night as they seem to cater to the younger party-goers.

Not much to say, except that I'm going back. For another Bachelor party. I will take some pictures this time.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. They are happy to try their best to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgiro403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    154
    44
    25
    13
See reviews for
16
37
182
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I decided on a Monday to head to Banff from Halifax, NS the next day by myself! As I decided late I was on a pretty tight budget so this worked out perfectly! I I don't mind sharing a room with others, the only bad part is when they leave because you've become such good friends! The staff was great, super helpful and knew the area very well as well as bus schedules for the hills and even an option to make you a bagged lunch for your trip to the hill the next day! Will definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone travelling to Banff. I met so many people from all over the world, and the activities in the Beaver Bar were an awesome starting point at which to meet new friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank F'onda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

"An amazing place to stay and a great place to socialize. Made some amazing friends and quite enjoyed my time there. The staff was incredible, and the rooms were clean and comfortable, they even had a fire place to keep you warm and help you dry your mittens. However the best part was the Beaver Bar where had scrumptious and cheap food and through great events each night in order to add to your experience. I would most defiantly stay here again!"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Providing great information about the area and a map to get around! would definitely stay there again! the rooms were pretty clean and spacious. Free breakfast always a plus :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 927SylviaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lodge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Managed to make a booking on the day we arrived, as it was a spur of the moment trip. Website was very easy to use. The bedrooms were large and had a private bathroom in each room, which is really great, and you don't get that every where. The staff were okay, didn't really require much assistance from them, so didn't actually talk to many of them. Bar was good, and it's nice to have a place to go where you meet like minded people. I thought $30 a night was pretty good, considering the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TripTime21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We decided quite late on Friday afternoon to go to Banff from Edmonton and Samesun was the first place we called. We were assisted by a friendly lady called Amanda and were able to make a reservation over the phone without any hiccups. We arrived late but Kate was manning the reception desk and provided detailed information about the hostel and surrounding areas. All the facilities were clean and we stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm room with an en-suite bathroom, the only downside was the bed was a bit uncomfortable. Breakfast was included and was a mix of reveals, muffins, fruit and pancakes, all delicious! You can also buy your ski pass here which gives you access to all 3 ski areas. We opted for Lake Louise Ski and it was amazing! Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: If you stay in the 8 bed dorm, try get the bunk bed furtherest from the door as you will be further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Consider this is Banff the price per night is pretty cheap 30$/night in a dorm of 6 beds, decent living room and kitchen and a nice bar downstairs, good place to meet people and near DT
I recommend this hostel if you want to save money and you are backpacking Nice staff and lots of people to meet

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianPoulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,904 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
0.8 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Banff

Property: Samesun Banff
Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Banff 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Samesun Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing