We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel experience”
Review of Samesun Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samesun Banff
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I only booked one night to begin with and ended up staying 4 nights. It has a lot of services that give you more then expected in a hostel like very clean rooms, the bathroom is in the room and thus only shared with your 5 or 7 room mates, not a whole floor. The front desk staff is very helpful specially Claire, with recommending restaurants, hikes, finding other backpackers for a trip. The only recomendations I could give to make it Excellent for next time is to make sure during breakfast hours that they don't run out of items too fast like muffins, syrup, clean spoons and dishes... AND although it's great to have The BeaverBar right there it is noisy and also after 11 it was hard to get some sleep. This said, I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking to have a great time in Banff, to be central and to have a clean, safe place, it felt like home after a few nights (and days of hiking!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sustmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 572 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Good parking and helpful receptionists. Plenty to eat on the help yourself breakfast I especially enjoyed making the fresh pancakes I had.

Bit dingy when you walk in and the kitchen dining area is very small and utensils need replacing. The hand in your key for a pan policy is nuts. Staying here is not for the feint hearted. Feels more like student drop in centre. If you're over 25ish you may feel a little out of place staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whirleybird50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked into this hostel after completing a bike trip from Jasper to Banff, we unfortunately did not look into reviews of the place before we booked. It was disgustingly dirty - the rooms have carpet in them, and our room did not appear to have been vacuumed in a very long time - on top of the extra carpet of hair and lint all over it, there were TOENAIL CLIPPINGS and chips all over the floor. Moreover, the shower in our room did not drain, so while showering, your feet were under the backed up, slimy, dirty water. The kitchen only had a hot plate for cooking on, definitely not large enough for more than one group to cook on at one time - probably exactly what they are going for, as it would encourage more business in their dingy little pub.

Both myself and my trip partner have spent significant time travelling and have stayed in numerous hostels in both Canada and overseas. Neither of us have seen such a dump of an establishment before - AND it was over $40 per person.

It would be worth the time finding a free shed to sleep in rather than paying to stay in this dump.

Room Tip: I would suggest booking elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Manager at Samesun Banff, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for providing us with your feedback.

We work hard to make sure all our guests are comfortable. It is difficult for us to know when there is an issue with the shower in the room without a guest letting us know when it happens. In regards to the carpet, our vacuum broke and we ordered a new one right away that was promised to arrive the following day, but the delivery was delayed by a few days. These issue has been rectified.

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your experience staying with us. If you are staying at any of our hostels in the future and are unhappy with your dorm, please let us know of your concerns and we will do our best to move you to address the problem or move you to a different room.

Thanks,

Amanda Ninness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great reception by friendly young girl. Super room on 2nd floor, very big with a nice view to the Mountains. Private bath and toilet as requested. Very quiet in spite of the number of young people staying there.
But then - the next morning things changed. The new girl in the reception looked like a hangover. The TV was on - with no sound. Instead there was loud music which eventually was slightly muffled on request. Breakfast: A few muffins and oat meal with WATER! "We don't use milk here" the hangover sullenly retorted when we expressed our surprise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Same Sun for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon travelling around Canada. We decided on a hostel to save a bit of money and it didn't disappoint. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The beaver bar was great fun and we met lots of lovely and interesting people. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was great (and free), simple and limited but we were happy enough with pancakes and maple syrup. We also ate there one evening and again, it was basic but cheap and tasty.There was also plenty of parking and we were really close to all the shops and restaurants, oh and free wifi.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great vibe, very relaxed and the cheapest drinks in town!
Only negative is kitchen/eating area and showers pretty unclean, even for a hostel. Daily events are available but not very well promoted. Free breakfast, free wifi, spacious room with heaps of storage space and large windows for fresh air in the rooms. Will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meow90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had a great time. The staff were very polite and helpful. Lots to do and see in Banff, the hostel made exploring the rockies easy and fun. The hostel location was perfect, moments away from everything even the greyhound bus station. Underground parking was available. The food was affordable especially when compared to other restaurants in and around Banff.

Justin C

Room Tip: its all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JCBC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Banff

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range: $33 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Banff 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Samesun Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing