We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Samesun Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samesun Banff
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Banff, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

GOOD
Spacious bedroom
quiet at night
cheap & filling food & cheap drinks
bar staff (matt) very helpful & friendly
good location


BAD
mouldy food & wrappers under bed
dirty shower & pee stained shower curtain
scummy walls
staff not helpful & snobs
uncomfortable bottom bunk
no papertowels in bathrooms to dry hands
Parking: only room for 5 cars/right fit

free breakfast was pathetic: after 9am, no toast or pancake mix or any clean dishes. no bagels or fruit or cereals like we were told. only orange flavoured tea bags with no sugar available and no milk or anything to mix (cutlery)

kitchen was a joke
-no room to cook or eat
-pots, pans, utensils & anything needed was at reception
-dircty dishes everywhere
-no room to do dishes
-no tea towels

verdict- place felt pretty dirty & uncomfortable. pretty shattered with the price compared to what we have had before in other decent places. wouldnt stay here again unless we had to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    156
    44
    26
    13
See reviews for
16
37
185
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were for three nights in this hostel and we didnt have a good experience. We are used to lodge in hostels and this is one of the worst. The location is ok but the quality price-quality is bad. The mattres were so thin and we couldnt sleep very well. So unconfortable. The kitchen is too small and there is not enought space for all the people who stay in the hostel. The bar is anoying and the staff should work in better conditions, The manager was nice with us but the rest of the people...The breakfast, not very good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst doing some hikes around Banff. It is on the main street of Banff, about a 5 minute walk from all the shops,pubs, etc. There is a kitchen and you get free breakfast with your stay (but get there early to avoid missing out). The kitchen has fridges and a pantry for all your food. The staff were extra friendly, opening up the kitchen early for us due to our early start one day. The beds and sleep quality were very average. The beds made a lot of noise and were quite uncomfortable. The rooms were ok, they felt a little cramped and didn't have a lot of storage space. There are personal lockers for each person in every room, but beware as my regular sized padlock was too large for the small metal loops and so I couldn't lock my gear away. All up, a decent stay. It may be a little overpriced, but it is a great location and the people staying there and working there were very friendly. Also, they have heaps of social activities (almost nightly, I think) at the bar downstairs which looked like great fun.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing the 8-share rooms. They were much more spacious than the 6-share and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff at the Samesun Banff are so friendly and helpful. The location is epic and the views are spectacular. Best hostel in Banff by far. I highly recommend staying there. It will be an experience you will never forget. Thank you for the great times and memories. Cheers!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnyGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just spent some time at the samesun it was amazing, staff are great the rooms are just devine. very clean cozy hostel. made me feel super welcome. great bar down stairs with great people theres this spunk name danny c who drinks there "girls go down and check him out" id happily rate this place a big 10 out of 10 you would be mad not to stay there, and the manager trish, she is simply amazing!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing very clean and cozy
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hi just wanted to share.... Spent time at the samesun Banff had the most brilliant time ever! All the staff are very friendly and welcoming, lots of advice for fun things to do. Spent lots of time in the BEAVER BAR, where I was made to feel very welcome. Check out the BINGO hosted by the lovely Onesy, very funny fun thing to do, plenty of dancing I had a great time. Oh yes.. Then there was open mike night , very talented people singing and playing guitar. I also just sat for a few hours in the bar with the iPad, had a great meal in a warm and friendly atmosphere, just watching young peeps having a great time, living laughing and loving life I hope to come back one day. Much love to all those lovely people who didn't make me feel too old to join in.
Kate's Mom AGWABOMB!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

stayed here with 2 friends on a quick vacation to banff. everyone here was super nice and highly positive folks. our roommates were very nice folks from France. the bar is awesome fun with always a good crowd and they make great drinks. the beds were clean and comfy. the bathroom in our room was also very clean. the only that sucked here is the wifi. I could only get on wifi from like 1230am-8am. being so far from home, and also being a student, I desperately needed solid wifi and I couldn't get it at all. speaking to others staying there, 90% of them said the wifi was useless. the staff was very friendly. would totally stay again, so long as the wifi worked. in today's day and age, solid wifi capabilities are a must.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kdburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,907 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
0.8 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Banff

Property: Samesun Banff
Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Banff 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Samesun Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing