We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Samesun Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samesun Banff
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were for three nights in this hostel and we didnt have a good experience. We are used to lodge in hostels and this is one of the worst. The location is ok but the quality price-quality is bad. The mattres were so thin and we couldnt sleep very well. So unconfortable. The kitchen is too small and there is not enought space for all the people who stay in the hostel. The bar is anoying and the staff should work in better conditions, The manager was nice with us but the rest of the people...The breakfast, not very good

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Samesun Banff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 564 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst doing some hikes around Banff. It is on the main street of Banff, about a 5 minute walk from all the shops,pubs, etc. There is a kitchen and you get free breakfast with your stay (but get there early to avoid missing out). The kitchen has fridges and a pantry for all your food. The staff were extra friendly, opening up the kitchen early for us due to our early start one day. The beds and sleep quality were very average. The beds made a lot of noise and were quite uncomfortable. The rooms were ok, they felt a little cramped and didn't have a lot of storage space. There are personal lockers for each person in every room, but beware as my regular sized padlock was too large for the small metal loops and so I couldn't lock my gear away. All up, a decent stay. It may be a little overpriced, but it is a great location and the people staying there and working there were very friendly. Also, they have heaps of social activities (almost nightly, I think) at the bar downstairs which looked like great fun.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing the 8-share rooms. They were much more spacious than the 6-share and had...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff at the Samesun Banff are so friendly and helpful. The location is epic and the views are spectacular. Best hostel in Banff by far. I highly recommend staying there. It will be an experience you will never forget. Thank you for the great times and memories. Cheers!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnyGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just spent some time at the samesun it was amazing, staff are great the rooms are just devine. very clean cozy hostel. made me feel super welcome. great bar down stairs with great people theres this spunk name danny c who drinks there "girls go down and check him out" id happily rate this place a big 10 out of 10 you would be mad not to stay there, and the manager trish, she is simply amazing!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing very clean and cozy
Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Coolins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hi just wanted to share.... Spent time at the samesun Banff had the most brilliant time ever! All the staff are very friendly and welcoming, lots of advice for fun things to do. Spent lots of time in the BEAVER BAR, where I was made to feel very welcome. Check out the BINGO hosted by the lovely Onesy, very funny fun thing to do, plenty of dancing I had a great time. Oh yes.. Then there was open mike night , very talented people singing and playing guitar. I also just sat for a few hours in the bar with the iPad, had a great meal in a warm and friendly atmosphere, just watching young peeps having a great time, living laughing and loving life I hope to come back one day. Much love to all those lovely people who didn't make me feel too old to join in.
Kate's Mom AGWABOMB!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

stayed here with 2 friends on a quick vacation to banff. everyone here was super nice and highly positive folks. our roommates were very nice folks from France. the bar is awesome fun with always a good crowd and they make great drinks. the beds were clean and comfy. the bathroom in our room was also very clean. the only that sucked here is the wifi. I could only get on wifi from like 1230am-8am. being so far from home, and also being a student, I desperately needed solid wifi and I couldn't get it at all. speaking to others staying there, 90% of them said the wifi was useless. the staff was very friendly. would totally stay again, so long as the wifi worked. in today's day and age, solid wifi capabilities are a must.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank 123kd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have never been to a more friendly place! Everyone who stays and works there truly understands what it means to be a Canadian. People are very respectful and facilities are pretty good. Free breakfasts and lots of activities throughout the week are excellent. Common room is clean and tidy and offers internet access on 2 computers + big buck hunter! Beds are comfortable and clean. Banff has never been so affordable and accessible and FUN!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Banff

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range: $35 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Banff 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Samesun Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing