We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“daniels reveiw” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samesun Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samesun Banff
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“daniels reveiw”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just spent some time at the samesun it was amazing, staff are great the rooms are just devine. very clean cozy hostel. made me feel super welcome. great bar down stairs with great people theres this spunk name danny c who drinks there "girls go down and check him out" id happily rate this place a big 10 out of 10 you would be mad not to stay there, and the manager trish, she is simply amazing!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing very clean and cozy
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    184
    47
    27
    14
See reviews for
17
51
231
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hi just wanted to share.... Spent time at the samesun Banff had the most brilliant time ever! All the staff are very friendly and welcoming, lots of advice for fun things to do. Spent lots of time in the BEAVER BAR, where I was made to feel very welcome. Check out the BINGO hosted by the lovely Onesy, very funny fun thing to do, plenty of dancing I had a great time. Oh yes.. Then there was open mike night , very talented people singing and playing guitar. I also just sat for a few hours in the bar with the iPad, had a great meal in a warm and friendly atmosphere, just watching young peeps having a great time, living laughing and loving life I hope to come back one day. Much love to all those lovely people who didn't make me feel too old to join in.
Kate's Mom AGWABOMB!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

stayed here with 2 friends on a quick vacation to banff. everyone here was super nice and highly positive folks. our roommates were very nice folks from France. the bar is awesome fun with always a good crowd and they make great drinks. the beds were clean and comfy. the bathroom in our room was also very clean. the only that sucked here is the wifi. I could only get on wifi from like 1230am-8am. being so far from home, and also being a student, I desperately needed solid wifi and I couldn't get it at all. speaking to others staying there, 90% of them said the wifi was useless. the staff was very friendly. would totally stay again, so long as the wifi worked. in today's day and age, solid wifi capabilities are a must.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 123kd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have never been to a more friendly place! Everyone who stays and works there truly understands what it means to be a Canadian. People are very respectful and facilities are pretty good. Free breakfasts and lots of activities throughout the week are excellent. Common room is clean and tidy and offers internet access on 2 computers + big buck hunter! Beds are comfortable and clean. Banff has never been so affordable and accessible and FUN!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Sometimes the more important thing about where you are staying is the people who work there and the people who stay there..........and both are great here! I have stayed in many hostels in Europe but this is the first hostel in Canada for me. If you are looking to meet lots of good Aussie and European friends then this is the place to be in Banff. It seemed clean to me there and all of the staff were friendly. Are the beds comfortable........well are they comfortable at any hostel? This hostel is nice and close to downtown and has a small but cheap and fun pub there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TunaTom-backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, General Manager at Samesun Banff, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your time in the Beaver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at Samesun in Banff for 4 nights.
I stayed before in Samesun in Vancouver and Kelowna but they are all pretty different.

I booked a 6 female dorm, which was very nice because the room are big, furnished (TV, fire place etc) and not full so the night were quite peacefull.
At the beginning I was afraid to have a room close from the beaver (the bar) but you don't hear anything so that's good as well.

However, the "average" grade is motivated by all the rest :

- The kitchen is not even small but tiny.. For an hostel like that even my kitchen is more convient ! No space to cook, no enough space to seat, very hot, no plate (only small ones!) and you have to give your key to get pots and pans (that you have to clean yourself because usually they are still greasy from the last uses).

- The "free breakfast" is a joke compare to (for example) Samesun Vancouver : You have just pancake paste to make for yourself (put water into some kind of flour), you have to fight with the other to have enough space for making a pancake and if you arrive after 9am there is no toast or anything left (breakfast is supposed to be till 10..). No fruit. Deceiving

- Basically, it could be more clean and the staff a little bit nicer (some of them were nearly rude)

So, it's ok for a few nights but i heard HI is nicer so I guess next time I'll check HI..
Ps : Banff and Lake Louise are wonderful anyway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zell am See, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed in this hostel for a couple of nights on my own and met so many great people there that I really regretted to leave the hostel.

I stayed in a six-bed-dorm and every room has got its own bathroom with shower. The rooms might not be the cleanliest, especially the bathroom was quite dirty, but except for that the rooms are nice.

Downstairs is a small cheap bar that is great for meeting other travelling people. Every day there is a special price for a certain dinner (6 Dollars for a not to small portion) and a special price for a certain drink for the ladies.
This bar is kind of the common room, I mean there is one also on the first floor, but that one is definitely too small for so many people .
The hostel has got Wifi, but that didn't work properly and when it did it was quite slow. The best thing to do is to go to a nearby coffeeshop and use theirs.

The kitchen is really small, especially for so many people and when I stayed there, it was kind of a sauna as well. We had 30°C outside and due to a bad air conditioning system it had pretty much the same temperature inside the kitchen.
The breakfast is included, but make sure you don't get up too late, because the kitchen is just too crowded around half past nine and you might not even get a place to sit down.

As bad as this all sounds the Samesun is definitely a nice place to go back to (as I did a few nights later) and I can really recommend this hostel for young people who look for a place to meet other travellers and enjoy some beers at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaZeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Banff

Property: Samesun Banff
Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Banff 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Samesun Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing