We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samesun Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samesun Banff
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

overall, great experience, and i can recommend it.

staff were always friendly and helpful (even late at night), friendly atmosphere and other travelers were cool. top location too.

only minor gripes: wireless needs some serious work, pub crawl was good but descended into a shemozzle half way through.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    173
    44
    27
    14
See reviews for
17
47
211
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed here over Christmas with my younger sister in an 8 bed mixed dorm. The room would have been really crowded if there was ever more than 6 people staying in it and there wasn't enough lighting. The room had it's own gas fire place, tv and bathroom with a large bath. It was about a 5-10min walk to the main part of town. A good atmosphere, we had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melz_belz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

I am glad I did not read Trip Advisor on this one or I might have been scared away. I was staying at Bumpers for $85/night, was was an ok place. I saw a sign in front of Branff Avenue Inn showing a $59 night special. This was cheaper than the YWCA Hostel we usually stay at. It turned out to be very nice.
Pluses: Large warm room with two queen beds, fireplace (gas) and jacuzzi
Adequate continental breakfast
Friendly staff
Underground parking with ski lockers
Minuses: Towels not regularly replaced
No ski lift ticket discounts

For the price, it can't be topped.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

I booked at the Banff Avenue Inn to take advantage of their 'Breakaway' package - billed as a relaxing getaway for Mom and Dad. The $139/night price tag included breakfast, admission to the Hot Springs and a 30 min massage. All staying in the Queen suite with a fireplace and jacuzzi. Sounds great, right? My first issue was our room - right by the lobby and dining area/bar and it would seem our door was hastily constructed of tissue paper, as we heard everything that transpired out there until about 12:30 am. Not a room I wish to relax in. Secondly, the bathroom. Neither of us were willing to use the jacuzzi - it just wasn't clean enough for me to get into naked. Hard water stains were all over the tiles, crusted on the knobs and partly obstructing the faucet. I think the grout used to be white, but is now some shade of yellow. A bottle of CLR and some elbow grease would go a long way. My third complaint was with the TV in our room. When we went to turn it on, it wasn't working. My husband went to the front desk to inquire and was told 'Oh right, we knew about that. Sorry, we forgot to mention it when you checked in. Did you want to watch tv?' Our stay was booked several weeks in advance...they knew we were coming and didn't bother to repair/replace the tv. We waited while they brought us another one. Not a big deal if it just happened, but again, they knew about it. Overall, this hotel might be fine if you aren't worried about cleanliness and want a place to put your head at night while you ski all day. If, however, you want a smidgen of peace, quiet and/or a clean environment, this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed here on a snowboard trip recently and were happy with this hotel. We stayed in a family suite which has two bedrooms/fireplace/jacuzzi tub for a great price. The only downsides for some would be small dinning room and no elevator. We went out for meals and don't mind the excersize so this didn't bother us. This is not a fancy hotel but is perfect for groups looking for a clean modest accomodation on a snowboard/ski trip. Covered parking is great and staff are excellent.

  • Liked — Staff, Price, Parking, Size of family suite room
  • Disliked — decor is a little dated
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albert
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

This is a great hotel for a skiing vacation but not for a weekend away retreat.

Upon on arrival the staff were quite friendly but it ended there. We stayed for three nights and our room was only cleaned once. They claim to have wireless internet but the truth is that there was no signal (not even a weak one) from our room. Our room overlooked a gas station garbage can bin. We booked weeks in advance and the hotel was not full so I was dissapointed in the room they gave us. Parking is at a premium in Banff and this hotel does not have allot of spaces to park in which I can see being a huge problem in high season.

On the positive side, everyday there were fresh baked goods each afternoon - very nice touch. There is an open bar with very reasonable prices although we never tried it out. The free breakfast has a variety of options and is a good continential spread. Although the rooms are older they are in decent shape..some staining on the carpet but overall clean.

Basically, you get what you pay for. It's cheap and if you are not spending allot of time in your room then you will probably be happy with it.

  • Liked — Fresh baked desserts
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cbass01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albourne West Sussex
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

Booked this place through Crystal for 15 people have written a complaint to them as the brochure is very misleading.Spent 10 nights there and we have been skiing together all over Europe for 10 years and this was our first trip to Canada,Hotel is by far the worst we have stayed in.
Good points:Rooms were the largest for a family of 4 we have ever stayed in.
Evening meals were great a choice of 2 dishes for every course ordered in the morning.
Hotel in main high street,5 mins. to shops & right next to bus pick-up to ski slopes in the morning.
the hotel is extremely warm(especially dining room),bedrooms get too hot during the night but you cannot open the windows as the noise throughout the night is continuous(dustman at 6.00am).
Bad to absolutely unbelievably bad points:
Room was never cleaned properly or hoovered , only enough hanging space & drawers for 2 persons not 4.
Breakfast was a continental type,if you asked for a cooked one you needed a microscope to see it (1/2Tomato, small piece of bacon, 2 Mushrooms).You always had to ask for more butter,Jam,Bread etc. as the staff never kept an eye on the stock.Orange & Apple juice run out after 2 days and was not replaced for 4 days.
Evening food was great but although the brochure says you have a choice of 6.30 or 8.15 you don't as they tell you what sitting you can have if the hotel is full, which it was.
there are no childrens meals at all.
Wine and soft drinks are supposed to be complementary with your meal but one night while still eating they refused to give us any more wine & the waitress(who had obviously had no service training ) eventually gave us another carafe but it was pretty obvious it had been watered down.
The dining room is extremely small and cramped whilst the reception area/lounge area is extremely small and sits about 6 people it also has a computer with broadband which costs $10 a week although this packed up 3 days before we left and nobody especially the female manager seemed interested in getting repaired. Both these areas in the brochure are described as 'COSY'.
The skiing on the slopes is fantastic, wide runs,deep powdery snow, Sunshine is the best.So your boots can become a bit wet,when you get back to the hotel,no boot room.
Hotel is 3 storeys high,no lift! Mondays the staff have the day off,gives you the chance to look at other hotels and restaurants,try either Tony Romas or The Keg great food. Do not ask for a room near the ice machine it has the same decibels as a boeing 757 aeroplane!
A lot of the staff were devoid of any personality,the receptionist was going back to England as she had just qualified as an accountant (does'nt that tell you everthing) I'm sorry but there are so many better hotels(hostels as well) to stay in Banff than this one.
Good job we had a good set of friends with us to ease the pain,
Terry

  • Liked — Large Bedroom
  • Disliked — Lack of space in the Hotel/Poor facilities/too small
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank terrymolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Banff

Property: Samesun Banff
Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Banff 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Samesun Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing