We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2005

Just got back from a glorious week in Banff.
Stayed at The Juniper. It is conveniently located off the highway but was difficult to find the first day because their signboard was blown off by a strong gust of wind.
We love the location because it is just outside of town and on a ridge. Our room looks out to the town and Vemillion Lake. It has such an awesome view. You can even sit out on the balcony and enjoy the sunrise over the mountains. Simply incredible.
The room was huge and tastefully designed. The decor is modern and clean lined. The bathroom has a clean and warm look and again in the modernistic design. Another nice touch are the fluffy bath robes and comfortable toss pillows.
There is a nice simple lounge with a big screen plasma tv right near the restaurant downstairs. Didn't use it at all because we were too busy taking in the views outside. They also have a hot tub but we didn't try it too because we already had our fill with the hot springs.
While we didn't try dinner at the on site restaurant, we had 2 breakfasts there. The food is standard fare. Not great but nothing to complain about either. The view out of the restaurant is also just as awe inspiring.
The exterior of the hotel looks pretty basic but once you get inside, you can't believe it is the same place.
Stay in this beautiful boutique hotel and you will be glad you did. It feels so classy in such an unexpected way. We sure did!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Beaverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2005

We stayed 2 nights at the Juniper and initially had a noisy room near the power plant for the air-conditioning. We quickly requested a move and were given a great alternative.
The Juliper has is no sign outside or at the end of the lane so you can easily miss it. It's not in the centre but provides easy access to the highway. The decor is very modern with tasteful furnishings. The breakfast is not included but was served well in the restaurant which has beautiful views of the mountains.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tim9hop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose, Ca.
17
Reviewed September 16, 2005

We stayed at the Juniper for 6 nights in early September and it was everything that they had promised. The view from our room and the restaurant were spectacular. The room asppointments were new and tasteful. The restaurant food was excellent as we have come to expect in most Canadian resorts. Since we have traveled exstensively, we have become accustomed to promises and disapointments in accomodations. Whenever one travels "stuff happens", and sometimes it is beyond the hotels control...lightning storm that knocks out power as an example. These are the times when a hotel truly either "passes" or "fails". The Juniper and its staff were great. The folks behind tha desk and the General Manager were helpful and professional in every way. Due to the power failure no "hot" breakfast was available one morning, but a "continental" breakfast was provided. The kitchen staff came to the rescue with a great buffet, far beyond the continental breakfast we were told. I had read some earlier negative reviews prior to arriving and we were a bit anxious. We need not have been. Clearly the management has changed for the better and we would recommend this stop to anyone. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mimimorang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C_GLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fifibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2005

9  Thank Divanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,487 reviews
1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $95 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a panoramic view, plentiful sunshine, and natural setting within vintage modernist architecture. Located along the wildlife corridor, the mountains rise straight up from our back door and downtown Banff is only minutes away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. Experience handcrafted cuisine using the finest and freshest ingredients in the Bistro & Lounge! Relax in our outdoor hot tub or next to our fire pits. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide. This boutique hotel features 52 guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Guestrooms are all equipped with an air cooling system, mini fridges, coffeemakers and iron & ironing boards. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Offering personalized, local hospitality; explore a peaceful place away from the crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing