We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great view to the Rockie Mountains!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great view to the Rockie Mountains!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We came driving from Ontario (3,000 km) on an expedition to the west. I receive a special offer in TravelZoo Canada where we payed CAD$72.00 for a double (taxes included!)

The hotel is located outside the town of Banff near Mt. Norquay and every room has a view of the rockies. We had a free upgrade to a deluxe double with a king bed (with dawn comforter) and a balcony with a stunning view (see picture)

The room had a medium size TV but they charge for movies on demand (CAD$13.00) and music on demand (CAD$9.99). You still have regular cable and a CD-radio player on your night table.

A mini fridge, clothe iron, bath robes, hair dryer and coffe maker were complementary in the room.

The only bad thing was the heating system make a lot of noise at night and it didn't really heat up the room, the thermostat said 20.5 degrees but it felt like 15....

Plus we got a 15% discount in the Bistro where the plates range from CAD$10-CAD$40.00. Very elegant by the way.

The Juniper Hotel has a hot tube with a view, excelent for after skiing!

So, overhall, I would stay here again and I would recomend it to my friends!

Good travelling

Patty

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    233
    83
    46
    20
See reviews for
146
351
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

I travel quite a bit and this is the first time I've been compelled to write a review. While vacationing at my in-laws in Calgary for the 2008 Christmas season, my wife and I wanted to get away for the night and chose to head to Banff. I wanted to make sure everything was perfect and spent a fair amount of time looking for the perfect hotel that's cozy, modern, moderately priced and intimate. We found it all in the Juniper. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and the delicious food at the Mukamuk restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is completely renovated and feels much like a boutique hotel in New York city. The views from the restaurant were also spectacular.

We'll definitely be going back and I highly recommend it if you're looking for an intimate getaway.

Helpful?
5 Thank BigPapaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

We booked a room at the Juniper mid-week on Dec 2, 2008 for a quick chill day vacation in the mountains. We booked a deluxe mountain-view room directly with the hotel for CAD$72 per night.

When we arrived, there were very few cars in the parking lot and confirmed upon checking in that there were few people booked at this time of the week. Daniel efficiently checked us in and Melissa was helpful in explaining the amenities in the hotel. Later on we asked if there were some playing cards available and Daniel ran out to another building and retrieved some playing cards for us - thanks Daniel for going the extra mile!

We went to the Mukamuk restaurant on the bar side with the fireplace. We got comfortable in front of the fire in the Natuzzi leather sofa and chair and enjoyed some drinks, an order of very tasty chili lime wings and a fantastic seafood hot pot.

Room 103 was average sized with great view of the mountains. After reading other reviews saying this hotel (and yes, even the exact room we stayed in) was too noisy, we were surprised that we really had to concentrate to hear any traffic noise at all. There were a couple of times where we heard some people walking around in the room upstairs but it lasted seconds each time and didn`t happen more than twice so no big deal.

Nice touches in the renovated rooms are new tile, new faucets, small refrigerator, 300 thread count sheets on the beds and complimentary robes - all for $72!

Overall a very enjoyable experience for $210, tax and tip in for one night accommodation with a breathtaking view, 8 drinks and a great meal. We will be booking here again next time we are back in Banff!

  • Liked — The value for the money and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything that matters
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Opsguy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

Got a promo code from Travelzoo.ca, which gave this hotel a great value for our stay. Being just across the highway from the Town of Banff, and at the foot of Mt. Norquay, this location is absolutely the best.

This used to be a run-down motel since the 1950s., which was renovated in 2004 to the new Juniper Hotel. Beautiful hotel rooms, if you got time, enjoy a dip in their hot tub, which is located outside with the stunning view at the mountains.

But then, since its located right beside a highway, there are occasional nite-time truckers passing by.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SiuBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley pa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

The hotel sits on the side of a mountain over Banff. Decor was a bit minimalist (some in our party loved the decor, some not). Very clean and well maintained. Location is less than a five minute drive from town; walking is possible, but involves crossing over the highway. You won't do it.

Deluxe rooms are very large and have a magnificent view (especially if you are on the second floor). The other rooms are small and face the parking lot. If you are not going to get a deluxe room, you should stay in town.

The hot tub has as good a view as everyone says; you have to try it.

The hotel restaurant was one of the surprises of our trip. Great food and service combined with an awsome view. It was as good or better than any place in town, and we wish we would have dined there again. As good or better than any place in town. Coyote Grill for breakfast, Elk and Oarsman pub for lunch were terrific.

Don't miss hikes at Johnston Canyon and the Tunnel Mountain Hoodoos.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank art89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

With a setting to take your breath away we were looking forward to this stay very much. Reception was swift and efficient, very nice chatty staff - local and from afar - and the reception area was very well laid out. Our room 203 was very spacious and clean - and it had a bathroom that was beautiful in design - lots of wood and slate and lovely fluffy towels and top class toiletries. Beds were very comfy and the quality of the bed linen was excellent.

We had anticipated having a great meal in the Muk Muk restaurant, which has a lovely setting. Unfortunately for us it was very busy and the service was slow and food not what we expected at all. It was a great pity.

Banff is a beautiful town, very picturesque and has lots of shops well worth a visit. We ate at Tony Roma´s one evening and had a superb meal. Also try breakfast at Melissa´s Missteak cafe - delicious food , large portions - we couldn´t eat it all!

  • Liked — The design of the buildings which blended in with nature
  • Disliked — Poor food and service in the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZandaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

we choose this hotel base on some of the reviews and how nice it looked online from their site and was looking forward to it, but at the end it was just disappointing.

we asked for a quiet room, but got a room that was beside their restaurant so we can heard all the noise from the restaurant. there was no mountain view even, we got the parking lot view, then there was the 'hot' tub, which was more like a warm tub.

our room didn't have any sound proof at all, so went ever someone was walking above our room, we can heard it, so bring ear plugs if you're staying at this hotel.

we got a discount (around $115) so we got what we paid for, a place to sleep. good thing we were only staying for one night.

  • Liked — it looks nice.
  • Disliked — it's noisy and wasn't that clean at all.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank elkelkmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,900 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.0 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Property: The Juniper Hotel
Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing