We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in a ruff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Diamond in a ruff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

I travel quite a bit and this is the first time I've been compelled to write a review. While vacationing at my in-laws in Calgary for the 2008 Christmas season, my wife and I wanted to get away for the night and chose to head to Banff. I wanted to make sure everything was perfect and spent a fair amount of time looking for the perfect hotel that's cozy, modern, moderately priced and intimate. We found it all in the Juniper. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and the delicious food at the Mukamuk restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is completely renovated and feels much like a boutique hotel in New York city. The views from the restaurant were also spectacular.

We'll definitely be going back and I highly recommend it if you're looking for an intimate getaway.

Helpful?
5 Thank BigPapaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    292
    99
    50
    23
See reviews for
193
433
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

We booked a room at the Juniper mid-week on Dec 2, 2008 for a quick chill day vacation in the mountains. We booked a deluxe mountain-view room directly with the hotel for CAD$72 per night.

When we arrived, there were very few cars in the parking lot and confirmed upon checking in that there were few people booked at this time of the week. Daniel efficiently checked us in and Melissa was helpful in explaining the amenities in the hotel. Later on we asked if there were some playing cards available and Daniel ran out to another building and retrieved some playing cards for us - thanks Daniel for going the extra mile!

We went to the Mukamuk restaurant on the bar side with the fireplace. We got comfortable in front of the fire in the Natuzzi leather sofa and chair and enjoyed some drinks, an order of very tasty chili lime wings and a fantastic seafood hot pot.

Room 103 was average sized with great view of the mountains. After reading other reviews saying this hotel (and yes, even the exact room we stayed in) was too noisy, we were surprised that we really had to concentrate to hear any traffic noise at all. There were a couple of times where we heard some people walking around in the room upstairs but it lasted seconds each time and didn`t happen more than twice so no big deal.

Nice touches in the renovated rooms are new tile, new faucets, small refrigerator, 300 thread count sheets on the beds and complimentary robes - all for $72!

Overall a very enjoyable experience for $210, tax and tip in for one night accommodation with a breathtaking view, 8 drinks and a great meal. We will be booking here again next time we are back in Banff!

  • Liked — The value for the money and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything that matters
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Opsguy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

Got a promo code from Travelzoo.ca, which gave this hotel a great value for our stay. Being just across the highway from the Town of Banff, and at the foot of Mt. Norquay, this location is absolutely the best.

This used to be a run-down motel since the 1950s., which was renovated in 2004 to the new Juniper Hotel. Beautiful hotel rooms, if you got time, enjoy a dip in their hot tub, which is located outside with the stunning view at the mountains.

But then, since its located right beside a highway, there are occasional nite-time truckers passing by.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SiuBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley pa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

The hotel sits on the side of a mountain over Banff. Decor was a bit minimalist (some in our party loved the decor, some not). Very clean and well maintained. Location is less than a five minute drive from town; walking is possible, but involves crossing over the highway. You won't do it.

Deluxe rooms are very large and have a magnificent view (especially if you are on the second floor). The other rooms are small and face the parking lot. If you are not going to get a deluxe room, you should stay in town.

The hot tub has as good a view as everyone says; you have to try it.

The hotel restaurant was one of the surprises of our trip. Great food and service combined with an awsome view. It was as good or better than any place in town, and we wish we would have dined there again. As good or better than any place in town. Coyote Grill for breakfast, Elk and Oarsman pub for lunch were terrific.

Don't miss hikes at Johnston Canyon and the Tunnel Mountain Hoodoos.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank art89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

With a setting to take your breath away we were looking forward to this stay very much. Reception was swift and efficient, very nice chatty staff - local and from afar - and the reception area was very well laid out. Our room 203 was very spacious and clean - and it had a bathroom that was beautiful in design - lots of wood and slate and lovely fluffy towels and top class toiletries. Beds were very comfy and the quality of the bed linen was excellent.

We had anticipated having a great meal in the Muk Muk restaurant, which has a lovely setting. Unfortunately for us it was very busy and the service was slow and food not what we expected at all. It was a great pity.

Banff is a beautiful town, very picturesque and has lots of shops well worth a visit. We ate at Tony Roma´s one evening and had a superb meal. Also try breakfast at Melissa´s Missteak cafe - delicious food , large portions - we couldn´t eat it all!

  • Liked — The design of the buildings which blended in with nature
  • Disliked — Poor food and service in the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZandaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

we choose this hotel base on some of the reviews and how nice it looked online from their site and was looking forward to it, but at the end it was just disappointing.

we asked for a quiet room, but got a room that was beside their restaurant so we can heard all the noise from the restaurant. there was no mountain view even, we got the parking lot view, then there was the 'hot' tub, which was more like a warm tub.

our room didn't have any sound proof at all, so went ever someone was walking above our room, we can heard it, so bring ear plugs if you're staying at this hotel.

we got a discount (around $115) so we got what we paid for, a place to sleep. good thing we were only staying for one night.

  • Liked — it looks nice.
  • Disliked — it's noisy and wasn't that clean at all.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank elkelkmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

We were to stay at the Juniper after flying in from Boston. I had booked reservations with The Juniper directly, online, several weeks in advance. Because I had seen reviews on TripAdvisor about highway noise and about the practice of booking (loud) weddings at so tiny a place, I specifically requested in my email a quiet room.

When we arrived we went to the room and there below us, as we watched from the balcony, was a wedding beginning to go full tilt. The lovely woman at the front desk told us that the wedding had a dj for dancing (this would take place directly below our room) but that "it would be over by 12:30 am."

We said that this was unacceptable, and I asked if the woman at the front desk could check her records. There it was, our specific request for a quiet room, or a room in a quiet part of the hotel. We were told the room we had would be discounted by 10% and that we would also receive free breakfast, but after talking about it, my traveling companion and I said to ourselves: 'But what are we supposed to do until the noise shuts down at 12:30 am?'

(It's a long trip from the East Coast and we were really looking forward to hitting the hay early.) We ended up leaving and staying at another hotel in Banff that was available. And very quiet.

So I would end by saying: read the other TripAdvisor reviews of the Juniper and heed them. We didn't and we should have.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the fact that our request at the time of booking for a quiet room was ignored: what would it take to advise via email and say, we have a wedding going that night...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank randytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Property: The Juniper Hotel
Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a panoramic view, plentiful sunshine, and natural setting within vintage modernist architecture. Located along the wildlife corridor, the mountains rise straight up from our back door and downtown Banff is only minutes away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. Experience handcrafted cuisine using the finest and freshest ingredients in the Bistro & Lounge! Relax in our outdoor hot tub or next to our fire pits. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide. This boutique hotel features 52 guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Guestrooms are all equipped with an air cooling system, mini fridges, coffeemakers and iron & ironing boards. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Offering personalized, local hospitality; explore a peaceful place away from the crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing