We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
449 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We had an overnight stay prior to getting a flight back to Vancouver. We didn't check in until after 10 pm because of the late arrival on the Rocky Mountaineer, but it was no trouble. The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint would be the lack of a bright central light, so everything seemed gloomy. My wife needed a torch to read the instructions on the coffee making machine!
The hotel itself is just outside town, and seems a Mecca for hikers and other outdoor people.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tenorman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about us. I apologize you found the room dark. If you prefer a brighter room, the deluxe rooms are on the south side and tend to see more sun. We also do have spare lighting available on request as well.

We’re proud to be the launching pad for many people’s hiking or outdoor adventures! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    291
    98
    50
    22
See reviews for
193
431
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vulcan
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay that was both people friendly and pet friendly. The room was nice, wood floors, and the staff brought a water dish, bed, bags and treats for our dog. Nice to have a separate entrance/exit door to take the dog for a walk. The restaurant was a highlight as the food was above average. The view was awesome! One thing that was not as good were the wood floors. Great for pets, but not so great for sound proofing. We could hear everyone walking around at night on the deck, and on floors above us. Other than that though, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Lyle,

Thanks for reviewing our property! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working on getting better soundproofing for the rooms soon – including door sweeps and insulated carpets for the hallways. Hopefully they’ll be in place for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Two of us stayed at the Juniper in late June 2014 and found it to be very clean, very comfortable a friendly staff and a truly great Bistro! There didn't appear to be a lot of guests there but nonetheless The Bistro was open an the food memorable in terms most importantly of taste but also presentation! We had dinner there as well as breakfast and I would rate both meals as excellent and reasonably priced and of course the real truth, would I stay there again - absolutely!

Room Tip: You can choose from a room over looking the mountains or the parking lot - I was tired enough I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us – it’s great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant! We hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We wanted to be away from the crowd at downtown banff and decided that an affordable suite having one of the best views in banff is an important criteria when selecting a accommodation in here and we are glad that we chose the Juniper Hotel. We stayed at the Healy Creek suite which surpassed our expectations. This spacious suite has everything - Very comfortable King Bed, living area with sofa and fireplace, Jacuzzi tub with rain shower, oversized balcony with panoramic views of Mt Rundle, the valley, downtown Banff and Vermillion lakes and more. Reception staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. After dinner, we had an evening walk at Vermillion lakes nearby and even saw a grizzly! Stay here if you want a quiet and peaceful place with astonishing views.

Room Tip: Go for the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aletus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. How lucky you managed to see a grizzly! We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed there 2 nights in early June. We had a norquay mountain as it was the lowest priced. It was okay as we hardly stayed in the room and came in only to sleep. If not traveling much would definitely have wanted a better view and a balcony access. The room was clean and tidy and met all our needs. The highlight is definitely the restaurant, Fantastic views and breakfast was really good too. So, a satisfying overall stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is a 5-10 min drive from the city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4funoftraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for reviewing our property. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the food as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this motel and thoroughly enjoyed the location. The motel is about a 15 minute walk into town or around $10 in a taxi.

Breakfast is amazing as you look out at the mountains, again very peaceful.

Probably wouldn't be a good location if you are young and want to party in town. But for us (middle aged couple) we enjoyed the distance and the peace and quiet away from town.

Well worth a try.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank names-all-taken66666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thanks for taking the time to review us! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & the food in the bistro. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Television was ancient and remote control did not work well. Door deadbolt would not work as door was in need of alignment - at night you could see hallway lighting around all edges of door. Reception staff were all very helpful, and the restaurant delivers some really awesome food (try the rack of lamb!). View over the valley is incredible, although during day traffic noise from TransCanada can be disturbing. Very pet friendly providing a bed, poop bags and bowls for our English Bulldog. Really nice garden containing a variety of natural flora from the area.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms get lot of vehicle noise at night, and noise from late night revellers returning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MetisProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for providing feedback about our property. I’m proud to say that we are addressing some of the issues that you highlighted soon. We’re getting new televisions, door sweeps & new carpets. It’s great to hear you found the staff helpful & enjoyed the food in the bistro. We hope you stay with us again soon to see some of the changes we’re making to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.0 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Property: The Juniper Hotel
Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a panoramic view, plentiful sunshine, and natural setting within vintage modernist architecture. Located along the wildlife corridor, the mountains rise straight up from our back door and downtown Banff is only minutes away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. Experience handcrafted cuisine using the finest and freshest ingredients in the Bistro & Lounge! Relax in our outdoor hot tub or next to our fire pits. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide. This boutique hotel features 52 guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Guestrooms are all equipped with an air cooling system, mini fridges, coffeemakers and iron & ironing boards. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Offering personalized, local hospitality; explore a peaceful place away from the crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing