We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close and friendly”
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Picton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Close and friendly”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Took the kids skiing to Norquay over the March break and decided to try out this property. We rented one of the cabins for the four of us. The accommodation was clean and very sufficient. It is the first property as you leave the mountain making the location great.
Downsides are a lack of a pool and one very small hot tub for all the clients. Recommend it for families.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    316
    104
    53
    24
See reviews for
207
470
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Fantastic place to be in Excellent service by Will , late night we had heating issue i believe then patrick came and fixed it. Nice n clean rooms and perfect for ski lovers. restaurant looked great we didnt try it but i could tell it was awesome. Not that far from Dowtown banff 3 min drive and very quite place. One thing it should have is vending machine other then that service and location was perfect. Please do go and you will have blast. My kids loved it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibrar a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I will pass on your feedback to the staff you had a good experience with! Hope you come back soon and get to try The Juniper Bistro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

From the moment I booked with the hotel, I had a great experience! When I called to change my reservation the girl was helpful and friendly!
We enjoyed our stay, all the stay was friendly and helpful! I will be staying there again, and telling others about this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for reviewing us! I'm glad you had such a great experience. I’m pleased to hear you found our staff so helpful and friendly. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel is by far my favourite. The staff are super friendly and accommodating we had a beautiful room which was very trendy and eco friendly. We were on the main floor with a sliding door opening to the mountains and a small patio facing the city. It was a short walk from our room out the patio door to the hot tub facing the unreal mountains. I wish I could stay there forever. The price was very affordable as well as the price for dinner on site. They give you cab vouchers if you want to venture out into the city (only a 5 mins drive)

Room Tip: I recommend getting a room on the main floor facing the city and mountains. There is a great walkout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharona88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review! I’m glad to hear that we’re your favourite spot. It’s great that you find out staff really friendly! The room that overlooks the town and valley, is called a ‘deluxe’ or panoramic view. Just so you know what to ask for next time you visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I used to regularly stay at the Juniper for years (in fact, we stayed here for our first trip as a couple and kept going back at the same time for our anniversaries). We used to love this place - nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, great food at their bistro. Unfortunately things seemed to have changed in the past 1-2 years (rooms are less clean, lots of confusion when booking, food at the bistro is average at best), and we've had a variety of issues dealing with the staff.
Example - we stayed in one of the suites last year which has a jacuzzi (which we wanted specifically). The next day there was no hot water in the hotel. We talked to the staff but were told that we would not receive a discount which I thought was ridiculous since we were staying at one of their most expensive rooms (and there was no hot water the entire day!). They offered us a voucher to take a shower at the Hot Springs. Really?? We declined...
Since we have so many good memories from years ago we decided to book a room once more for our wedding anniversary this year. Turns out that the room we booked was not available in "real life". When we called to cancel we were told that the hotel can't cancel the booking and that we'd have to figure it out online. We booked the room through the hotel's own website, not Expedia or any other site. I understand that the booking link leads to a third party booking site, but if that's what you implement as a hotel I really think you need to figure out a way to deal with these bookings through your own staff and not make customers spend half an hour trying to figure out how to cancel a booking.
All in all, we've been quite disappointed lately and won't stay at the Juniper hotel again unless things significantly change again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValF333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We are working at improving ourselves and find your feedback useful to our progress. As for your experience last year, I apologize your issue was not resolved at the time. I can inform you that we have had brand new boilers put in since then and should not have issues like this in the future.

I’m also sorry for the issues you had booking with us this time around. We have just starting using a new booking system and had encountered some growing pains that needed to be worked out. I can assure these issues have now been resolved and booking with us should now be hassle free.

We are working towards making significant improvements to the hotel and in the mean time try our best to provide the best personalized and friendly customer service. I am sorry that you did not experience this during either of your recent interactions with us.

I do hope that you reconsider and stay with us again so you can see all the positive changes we’ve made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful! Couldn't ask for a better spot to stay in the national park for a few days for a great price. The hotel is just 2 minutes outside of Banff, right off the highway, so it's easy to get to any of the ski resorts. The Juniper will be my go to place for ski trips around a the Banff area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrlaslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We’re glad that we worked so well as a base camp for your ski adventures. We hope to see you again soon… Did you know we’ve 18cm of fresh snow in the last two days?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed with a friend for a ski weekend, and was generally very happy. Could have been excellent with a few improvements. It is just across the highway from town, which wasn't a big issue for us.

The Good:
The room (while small) was well appointed and modern. Bedding was comfortable
Ski pass from the hotel comes at a good price
Very affordable

The Bad:
No elevator made carrying luggage and gear a bit of a hassle
There was a VERY LOUD event occurring in the hotel which we found inconsiderate to other guests
The restaurant was closed on Saturday night to accommodate an event. We planned to eat in town but it would have been courteous to inform guests of this inconvenience ahead of time.
Parking was limited and we had to park essentially back at the road.

Overall, we'd stay here again for the price, but there are certainly some better options in Banff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We’re glad to hear that you were generally very happy with your stay with us! I am sorry that there was a loud party that disturbed your sleep, we are moving away from hosting large parties because of this reason. The one you experienced was booked long in advance of our new policy and I apologize it disturbed you.

It’s great however that you found the bedding comfortable and our prices reasonable. Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,005 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,393 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Property: The Juniper Hotel
Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a panoramic view, plentiful sunshine, and natural setting within vintage modernist architecture. Located along the wildlife corridor, the mountains rise straight up from our back door and downtown Banff is only minutes away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. Experience handcrafted cuisine using the finest and freshest ingredients in the Bistro & Lounge! Relax in our outdoor hot tub or next to our fire pits. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide. This boutique hotel features 52 guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Guestrooms are all equipped with an air cooling system, mini fridges, coffeemakers and iron & ironing boards. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Offering personalized, local hospitality; explore a peaceful place away from the crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing