We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful views; rooms a little small and dated, though....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views; rooms a little small and dated, though....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed in one of the panoramic rooms with a balcony from February 1 - 3, 2014. We were very happy with the location of this hotel - just a couple of kms away from Banff townsite and from Mt. Norquay. However, the room itself was much smaller and more "dated" than we thought it was going to be (the rug and the TV in particular were amongst the out-of-date items), but overall the beautiful view and the nicely-re-done bathroom helped to offset those couple of things. The staff at the hotel were excellent - very friendly and courteous across the board. All in all, this was a quaint, nice place to spend a couple of days at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatsMeow1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing a review! I’m sorry to hear that you found the rooms a little dated, we are slowly working on renovating the hotel. We’ve already replaced the boilers that heat the hotel, re-floored the Bistro Kitchen and upgraded the ventilation system and we plan to give the walls a lick of fresh paint, have the carpets replaced in the hallways and implement some new soundproofing in the near future. We would also like to replace the TV’s and the furniture in rooms in the long run too, however it does take time.

It’s great to hear that you find our staff excellent. We try to provide friendly and warm guest service to every guest in our small and intimate 52 room hotel. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, I hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    262
    93
    49
    21
See reviews for
168
392
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed Friday and Saturday night the 31Jan - 2 Feb at a very good rate of $95/night. Good value as the front desk was friendly and professional ensuring a quick check in and easily answered the typical tourist questions. Even made the call for dinner reservation. Furniture was older and worn, linens newer and pillows and bed were very comfortable. Small bathroom with shower only and awkward to utilize due to "squishing" just to close the bathroom door or open the shower door. Smallest bathroom I've seen in a hotel but clean with good clean towels. Hotel is on the opposite side of the trans Canada from Banff so was quiet. The restaraunt was not open in the hotel due to renovation although we heard none of the construction noise. There is no elevator here so be happy there are only a couple of floors and hallways are quite wide.
Overall value was good. Furniture needs updating, requires painting. Sounds like my home except my ensuite is twice the size of their washroom :) I didn't ask if room renos or updates were coming after the bistro is completed...even if they're not updating rooms I'd stay again due to value. Can't beat the price to get the basics.

Room Tip: No elevators for physically impaired ski junkies lol. Don't break a leg if you stay here or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenCWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Warren,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Juniper Hotel. It’s great to hear you think we are good value and that the front desk was helpful.

I’m glad you asked whether we would be doing extra renovations as we do plan to paint the walls, have the hallway carpets replaced, as well as introduce soundproofing measures throughout the hotel. I hope they will be in place for your next visit. The Juniper Bistro renovations are also now complete and the restaurant is open again.

Unfortunately things like the bathroom size, we are cannot change! However if having a large bathroom is important to you, on your next visit, you should consider staying in one of our King Suites as they do have much larger bathrooms with rain-like showers and a couples Jacuzzi.

We hope to see you again soon! Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed at The Juniper last saturday for my anniversary. The lobby was quite nice but decieving because the rooms are tiny, outdated and smelled horribly of sewage which pretty much ruined the romantic weekend I was looking forward to having...

Wouldn't reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Melissa,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with constructive feedback. Unfortunately, the smell you mention does not originate from the hotel and sometimes arrives without our staff being made aware. It is hard for us to know when the smell arrives unless a guest notifies us, however we are always happy to move guests who are experiencing the odour in their rooms.

We value your feedback and are attempting to address the problems that you, and other guests have informed us of so that we may improve ourselves. We are, in fact, currently closed for a renovation to address some of the issues that you have highlighted. We have reinvested in the ventilation system so that the issue with the smell should be able to be resolved within the next few weeks. Alongside the air system upgrade, we have also had a new (and more efficient) boiler fitted, the Bistro kitchen re-floored, soundproofing improvement and the walls repainted.

We hope you will revisit us to experience these new changes.

Kind Regards,

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed there for ski trip after X'mas. The evening front desk staff is very nice and helpful. Got the room on the 2nd floor and she even offered to bring the luggage up for us! The room is in good size, neat and very clean. Would recommend to everyone who, like us, do want to stay at Banff but try to avoid the 'busy' downtown atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazda626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We’re proud to offer a location that is away from the crowds and surrounded by nature, so it’s great to hear you enjoyed that aspect of the property.

Thanks for choosing to stay with The Juniper, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We come to the Juniper quite often having gotten married here a few years ago and this is my second review of the property. Our last visit was in November 2013 as part of a special food festival, in which Juniper's restaurant - Muk-a-Muk Bistro - participated. The tasting menu we sampled at the restaurant was amazing, a 6-course heaven. I really hope they will incorporate some of the items from that menu in their regular dinner menu!

But the reason that I decided to leave another review was that I never really understood why some people complained about noise or not being able to sleep or being uncomfortable in their rooms. Well, I understand now - the rooms that are in close proximity to the ice machine on the main floor are a no-no for one very important reason: when the thermostat kicks in (which it does in the winter very often), an awful rattling noise is generated that may or may not be related to the ice machine... but we sure heard the people in the 100-105 room block complaining a lot the very night we were staying there (room 104). People across the hall from us asked to be moved to another room at 2:30AM because they could not sleep. I was close to asking the same, except my husband already managed to fall asleep and I did not want to wake him to move. So now I know to make sure and double check that we're not in those rooms. But it would be good if something was done about it... And upgrading the carpets in some of the rooms wouldn't go unnoticed either. But overall, it's still our home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m pleased to hear you are regulars of the Juniper Hotel! Be sure to sign up for our newsletter if you haven’t already to receive exclusive returning guest offers. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip in November and the delicious food from the Bon Appétit festival. Our current chef worked for many years with the guest chefs we had in for the festival so you will probably see elements of their style and approach in the menus to come.

I do apologize that you found the room you stayed in this time noisy. We have heard people’s complaints about this matter and are closing for renovation next week to address this issue. We plan to have the carpets redone and address some of the soundproofing issues, as well as move the ice machine! Hopefully, these will make a difference during your next visit.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We wanted to go to the mountains for New Year. There were 8 of us including a 5 year old and a 7 week old baby, three couples; so we really wanted a three bedroom suite so that we could be together and cook breakfasts and have snacks. Well we thought of the idea too late and everywhere was booked except "The Penthouse" at the Juniper. It cost roughly $1500 for three nights, so we thought it was good value. They warned us when we booked that "it has not been renovated, everything works, but the furniture is not new and it does not have flat screen TVs" Well that's OK we said as long as it is clean and comfortable, and clean and comfortable it was. The kitchen was perfectly adequate with enough dishes for a small army. The appliances worked just fine and from the window of the kitchen you could see the whole town of Banff including the Banff Springs - what more could you ask for? The hotel was perched high above the highway but we could not hear the highway noise. Yes the TV was older but so what. There was only one bathroom so it did get a little frantic at times. The only complaints we had were (1) the living room was soooooooo hot and our bedroom was sooooooo cold and you cannot adjust the heat, and (2) they did not provide enough towels to begin with and when they did they did not take away the wet towels so that we had a small mountain in the bathroom, and they did not clean the rooms until we asked them on the Tuesday (we arrived on the Sunday evening). However - we had the BEST view of all for the New Years fireworks! - it was an enjoyable stay and it was very close to the town centre. There was a restaurant attached but we did not use it, and there was a hot-tub which was apparently quite nice although I did not go myself. Parking was good. There is no elevator so our many trips unloading the two cars was a good workout. Would go again - but please, please repair the thermostats.!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing your review of our property! And great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our 3 Bedroom Suite. Glad that all the appliances and dishes suited your needs, and that you found it clean and comfortable.

The heating is adjustable in the living room and bedrooms by the thermostats on the wall, however the radiators can take a while to heat up or cool down once you have changed the temperature. We are having our boiler system replaced however, in a renovation happening next week. This should make the radiators more responsive and the heating system better in general in time for your next visit!

There may have been a communication error with our housekeeping department with regards to cleaning of your suite. After they provided extra towels for you on the first day, it was understood by the housekeepers that you did not want the room to be cleaned until the Tuesday. Either way, I apologize for the inconvenience.

Happy Belated New Year! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had originally booked for a 2 night stay, and we were unable to make the first night as we had a hot water tank blow. The staff were really good about it on the phone and we weren't charged any penalties.
When we got there, our room wasn't ready yet, as we were earlier than the stated check in time. Downtown Banff is 5 minutes away, quite easy to entertain ourselves.
We came back and our room was minutes away from being ready. Everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping staff were super friendly and helpful.
We had a great dinner in the bistro, all the staff there were also extremely friendly and helpful.
All in all we had a great stay. No complaints.
I liked also that the hotel was out of town a little bit. Gives it more of a getaway feeling rather than staying right downtown. Also awesome to be on the Hwy as we went to Sunshine the next day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It’s always great to hear that you found our staff accommodating and friendly, and that you had no complaints about your stay with us. We do pride ourselves in offering a location that is among nature rather than downtown! We hope you enjoyed great conditions at the ski hill and your stay with us. Please come back and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,964 reviews
1.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Property: The Juniper Hotel
Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing