We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Many happy returns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Many happy returns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We come to the Juniper quite often having gotten married here a few years ago and this is my second review of the property. Our last visit was in November 2013 as part of a special food festival, in which Juniper's restaurant - Muk-a-Muk Bistro - participated. The tasting menu we sampled at the restaurant was amazing, a 6-course heaven. I really hope they will incorporate some of the items from that menu in their regular dinner menu!

But the reason that I decided to leave another review was that I never really understood why some people complained about noise or not being able to sleep or being uncomfortable in their rooms. Well, I understand now - the rooms that are in close proximity to the ice machine on the main floor are a no-no for one very important reason: when the thermostat kicks in (which it does in the winter very often), an awful rattling noise is generated that may or may not be related to the ice machine... but we sure heard the people in the 100-105 room block complaining a lot the very night we were staying there (room 104). People across the hall from us asked to be moved to another room at 2:30AM because they could not sleep. I was close to asking the same, except my husband already managed to fall asleep and I did not want to wake him to move. So now I know to make sure and double check that we're not in those rooms. But it would be good if something was done about it... And upgrading the carpets in some of the rooms wouldn't go unnoticed either. But overall, it's still our home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m pleased to hear you are regulars of the Juniper Hotel! Be sure to sign up for our newsletter if you haven’t already to receive exclusive returning guest offers. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip in November and the delicious food from the Bon Appétit festival. Our current chef worked for many years with the guest chefs we had in for the festival so you will probably see elements of their style and approach in the menus to come.

I do apologize that you found the room you stayed in this time noisy. We have heard people’s complaints about this matter and are closing for renovation next week to address this issue. We plan to have the carpets redone and address some of the soundproofing issues, as well as move the ice machine! Hopefully, these will make a difference during your next visit.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    263
    93
    49
    21
See reviews for
169
392
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We wanted to go to the mountains for New Year. There were 8 of us including a 5 year old and a 7 week old baby, three couples; so we really wanted a three bedroom suite so that we could be together and cook breakfasts and have snacks. Well we thought of the idea too late and everywhere was booked except "The Penthouse" at the Juniper. It cost roughly $1500 for three nights, so we thought it was good value. They warned us when we booked that "it has not been renovated, everything works, but the furniture is not new and it does not have flat screen TVs" Well that's OK we said as long as it is clean and comfortable, and clean and comfortable it was. The kitchen was perfectly adequate with enough dishes for a small army. The appliances worked just fine and from the window of the kitchen you could see the whole town of Banff including the Banff Springs - what more could you ask for? The hotel was perched high above the highway but we could not hear the highway noise. Yes the TV was older but so what. There was only one bathroom so it did get a little frantic at times. The only complaints we had were (1) the living room was soooooooo hot and our bedroom was sooooooo cold and you cannot adjust the heat, and (2) they did not provide enough towels to begin with and when they did they did not take away the wet towels so that we had a small mountain in the bathroom, and they did not clean the rooms until we asked them on the Tuesday (we arrived on the Sunday evening). However - we had the BEST view of all for the New Years fireworks! - it was an enjoyable stay and it was very close to the town centre. There was a restaurant attached but we did not use it, and there was a hot-tub which was apparently quite nice although I did not go myself. Parking was good. There is no elevator so our many trips unloading the two cars was a good workout. Would go again - but please, please repair the thermostats.!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing your review of our property! And great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our 3 Bedroom Suite. Glad that all the appliances and dishes suited your needs, and that you found it clean and comfortable.

The heating is adjustable in the living room and bedrooms by the thermostats on the wall, however the radiators can take a while to heat up or cool down once you have changed the temperature. We are having our boiler system replaced however, in a renovation happening next week. This should make the radiators more responsive and the heating system better in general in time for your next visit!

There may have been a communication error with our housekeeping department with regards to cleaning of your suite. After they provided extra towels for you on the first day, it was understood by the housekeepers that you did not want the room to be cleaned until the Tuesday. Either way, I apologize for the inconvenience.

Happy Belated New Year! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had originally booked for a 2 night stay, and we were unable to make the first night as we had a hot water tank blow. The staff were really good about it on the phone and we weren't charged any penalties.
When we got there, our room wasn't ready yet, as we were earlier than the stated check in time. Downtown Banff is 5 minutes away, quite easy to entertain ourselves.
We came back and our room was minutes away from being ready. Everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping staff were super friendly and helpful.
We had a great dinner in the bistro, all the staff there were also extremely friendly and helpful.
All in all we had a great stay. No complaints.
I liked also that the hotel was out of town a little bit. Gives it more of a getaway feeling rather than staying right downtown. Also awesome to be on the Hwy as we went to Sunshine the next day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It’s always great to hear that you found our staff accommodating and friendly, and that you had no complaints about your stay with us. We do pride ourselves in offering a location that is among nature rather than downtown! We hope you enjoyed great conditions at the ski hill and your stay with us. Please come back and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

(Rated Good) Stayed there 2 nights. We had booked this hotel because they accepted pets. So, 2 rooms. Room 106 was ok, room 109 had a sewage/septic tank smell. The girls never told me about the smell before the morning of the departure, so i never had a chance to change that room. Both rooms have great views of the mountains, but highway 1 is at the bottom of the hill. It!s winter and windows are closed, so we never heard the noise from the highway. Also nice patio.
The hotel reminded me the feeling of a ski cottage. Decor is cozy but minimalist.
Finally a hotel with no carpet in the rooms. Stone slate in the bathroom and hardwood in the room. But its cold, so bring slippers.
We had breakfast at the Bistro each morning, and they were very good and affordable (about $12 pp). The duck confit with poached eggs was the favourite of our party.
We went to Banff for dinner. So did not try their dinner cuisine.
The hotel had aboriginal art pieces all over the lobby, the corridors and the bistro. Also interesting artefacts.
The hotel is well located if you're skiing Mt Norquay. We did not asked if they had a shuttle to the slopes. We took the car, about 3km climb to the main parking. Its also about 2 km from downtown Banff.
We paid about $120 per room per night on priceline.
We will probably be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeBee130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review of our property! We’re glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, the unrivalled views and the close proximity to the ski hill. We do apologize for the sewage smell, it is a problem that we are addressing currently. If you had known sooner we would not have hesitated to relocate you or your family to another room.

We’re glad you enjoyed breakfast with us and hope you will stay with us again soon and try our evening cuisine!

We hope you enjoyed your trip, please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Me and my boyfriend went there to have a romantic get away last weekend, well...
1. Room wasn't ready 2 hours after checkout time
2. We got ' upgraded'. I booked that hotel specifically for the fireplace and they 'upgraded' us to one without it and a patio
3. I booked room with king bed it was actually two single mattresses pushed together- I fell threw all night an didn't sleep
4. Walls are paper thin- we could hear everyone around us

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovingyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant stay with us. We can assure you that it is not standard practice to take so long for you room to be ready. This issue will be raised with our housekeeping department to ensure that it doesn’t happen again.

We do operate in a hotel that has many different room types and we apologize that you did not get put in one that was to your satisfaction despite it being an upgrade.

You’ll be pleased to hear that we have heard your feedback on the soundproofing issues and are taking them on board. We are undergoing a closure at the end of this month to address the soundproofing issue as well as giving the hotel new carpets and a fresh coat of paint.

We’re sorry to hear that you won’t visit us again and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Kind Regards,

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our son got married at The Juniper 2 weeks ago. His wedding was on a Monday and we stayed at the hotel from Saturday, through Tuesday. The first night we had to take a downstairs room, which, while clean and serviceable, was rather small. The next two nights we had one of the fireplace suites and it was fabulous! So, rooms are fine, but the defining point of this hotel is its staff! From Will, Jackie, Sarah and Justine, all of them went above and beyond to ensure that our experience was stellar. Because this is the 'off season' the Bistro is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. This wasn't a huge problem as it's very close to downtown (5 minute cab ride, $10 - with tip). We were able to arrange, with Justine to have Sarah tend bar while the newlyweds went off-site for pictures. The service of these women was outstanding. Kudos to all of you!

We had breakfast in the Bistro on Sunday morning and while it was good, it was not spectacular - what was spectacular though, was the view!

We walked back from town during the day. It was an easy walk and quite refreshing, even in December.

I would highly recommend the Juniper.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on the 2nd floor with the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peachyteachyontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your glowing review! We really strive to provide friendly and personal customer service so we’re glad to hear you experienced that. Congratulations on your son’s wedding and we hope to see visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, AB
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our wedding on November 23 at the Juniper Hotel in Banff. We chose this venue after looking at many others with our fantastic planner in the Banff area and several things stood out. The uninterupted view on the south side is fantastic. Looking over Vermillion Lakes and across the valley to the Banff Springs is one of the instant attractions. The rooms and suites on the 2nd floor are quite comfortable and well appointed. The washrooms appear relatively new for fixtures and the beds are very comfortable. The first floor rooms do feel smaller and are a bit colder on the south side with the doors leading to the patios, but still have great beds and good washrooms. The floors are the original hardwood which is a nice touch and understandably helps the pet friendly rooms for cleanliness. We have stayed here with our dog before and again for the wedding and the pet bed, treats, bags and food/water dishes were a thoughtful touch. The cleaning, maintenance, desk and event staff were all great to work with for the event and went out of their way to be accomodating for every request. All of our guests enjoyed the convenience of the single location for the wedding and reception, commenting positively on the quality of the rooms and venue, including the food at the Bistro. The art and historical displays through out the site are nice and I enjoyed the reading and presentation, including the trail camera slideshow on the lobby computer station!
The hotel could use an update in new paint and finishings. New windows and doors would help with some of the outside noise and cold feet issues on the lower floors. It is a boutique hotel, not a standard chain, and one should realize that when booking. It was built in the 1940's or 50's so there are some smaller rooms. Being wood frame, it is also noisier as the insulation and seperation of spaces isn't the same as newer properties. Light sleepers and or folks looking for greater solitude and luxury may want to look elsewhere. I tend to use my earplugs and didn't have any problems though. It is located away from Banff above Highway #1 which is quite busy and can disturb a peaceful view and relaxation looking over the valley if one let's it. It can be nice to stay away from down town in Banff, though being within walking of the main drag has it's attractions too. Realize what you are looking for when you choose. The Juniper is quaint and nice, a little dated and worn but very comfortable. The food is outstanding though portions in breakfast may not be to somes tastes. The service was fantastic from all areas and it can be more relaxing to stay away from the crowds, if you're willing to drive/hike a bit for attractions. I do think new windows, doors, and paint would go a long way in a bit of a refresh. Thanks for making our wedding the memorable event it was with your help!

Room Tip: I would suggest 2nd floor on the south side. The 3 suites are very nice. The chalets on the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a considered review of our property! I’m glad to hear you found the overall experience pleasant. We do pride ourselves in offering a unique and distinctive hotel experience and I’m glad you appreciated that aspect.

I’m also pleased to tell you that we have taken your feedback onboard and are tending to some of the issues you mentioned above. In January 2014 will be taking the time to give the hotel a refresh. Including a lick of fresh paint, new carpets and measures to improve soundproofing as well. Next time you visit we hope you notice the differences! We look forward to having you stay again soon, and congratulations on tying the knot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
1.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Property: The Juniper Hotel
Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing