We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Juniper Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
$151
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$228
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$245
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$406
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$232
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$192
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
$434
$388
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$254
$216
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveler rating
462
367
122
59
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
367
122
59
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorvermillion lakeshot tubmt norquayhardwood floorstranscanada highwayfirst floorthe trans canada highwayoverlooking banffdowntown banffroad noisevalley viewminute drivemount rundlefront desk staffking suitelight sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
747 - 752 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our five night stay at this boutique hotel, which has the best view in Banff! It's perched at the base of Mt. Norquay overlooking the entire valley and town of Banff, but because of its elevation, you can only see a few buildings (esp. the Fairmont) so your view is much more natural and scenic. The view from our room was spectacular and you felt like the surrounding mountains were embracing you (see picture). The hotel is also isolated from any other manmade structure, so you're completely surrounded by woods, giving you that feeling of being in the wilderness. It was super easy to get into town, which was just a five minute drive away (or less). We were able to go out for dinner and enjoy the hustle and bustle of Banff Ave, yet still enjoy the natural environment at the hotel. In terms of look and feel, the hotel has a very chic and modern look, yet has Native art pieces and sculptures throughout, so you get fitting reminders of the area and its original culture. The hotel and our room was very clean and the grounds were very clean and well maintained. Our room was great and very spacious. We liked having a full couch and three comfy upholstered chairs throughout the room. The staff and service was amazing. We arrived a little after 1am and was greeted by a very friendly and witty front desk associate named Patrick. He was very helpful and even asked us if we were hungry and if we'd like to see a bigger room, which was a great idea because we took his advice and upgraded! We were also impressed with the hotel's restaurant, where we ate breakfast every day. I HIGHLY recommend adding the breakfast because the food was great and it's the best way to get centered before embarking on your day. It gave us a chance to really soak-in where we were, what we've done, and what we planned to do. Having breakfast daily with that incredible view made our trip extra special and feel less hurried (see picture). We also appreciated the waitstaff, especially Mason, who was very attentive to our needs and even provided some interesting historical information about the recent floods (we didn't know anything about it) and some very useful advice about staying safe during our hikes. He suggested bringing bear spray and informed us that the hotel had a can we could borrow without charge during our stay. We took his advice and felt a lot safer during our hiking trips! We also saved dinner at the hotel's Bistro for the last night, but we wish we had eaten there sooner because we would've come more often. The food was the best we've had compared to other restaurants in Banff (we ate at four other places) and it was great to see local and regional fare on the menu (we had fish from Manitoba, which was full of flavor and cooked perfectly!), and again, because it got dark late, we had a fabulous view during our meal. And lastly, as a US-American same-sex couple, we felt very welcome by everyone at the hotel, which is something we really, really appreciate and look for when we book our trips. It was great to see that another same-sex couple had booked the hotel's event space to renew their vows after being together for 25 years! We loved this hotel and plan to stay again the next time we're in Banff. A great and ideal representative of Canada!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gattaca108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! It thrills me to know the staff at the Juniper made this such a special experience for you both. You've hit on all the aspects that make The Juniper a special place in the Bow Valley, the location, the views, the food, the service and of course our staff. We really appreciate hearing great feedback and I'll make sure to pass on your praise to the team, especially the specific staff you mentioned.

Thank you again for taking the time to write down your thoughts it means a lot to us, its why were all here.

We hope to see you again soon.

The Juniper GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had booked a mountain view room at the Juniper Hotel. When we arrived and checked in to our room, we realized that the mountain view was not the coveted view since the mountain wall was just a few feet in front of our window. We went back to the reception area to see if there were any rooms on the other side of the hotel. For $20 more, we were upgraded to a “valley view” room with an incredible view across Banff which included many mountains. You also get a small patio or balcony on this side allowing you to sit outside and admire the view as the light changes during the day. It was well worth the increase!
The room itself was comfortable with a retro mid-century style. The hotel’s exterior is vaguely Frank Lloyd Wright looking. There are some interesting photos in the main floor hallway of the hotel when it was built in the 1960’s.
The hotel is across the Trans Canada from the town of Banff. We were initially afraid that it might be noisy since it’s right above the highway, but it wasn’t. You do need a car. There are lots of parking lots in Banff so it was not a problem to drive into town for meals or shopping. We loved being away from the crowds!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with the panoramic valley view. The views of Mount Norquay are too close.
Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PepperRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I’m glad that our staff were able to accommodate your changes and you got to experience the Best views in Banff.

I’m thrilled you enjoyed our location away from the hustle and bustle, we like to say “we’re away from the crowds and closer than you think”.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Thanks again.

The Juniper GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed one night! The hotel was nicely decorated, The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable. The tvs are old but most people are there to sleep and do out door activites so that was not a big deal! The walls are thin. You can hear all that goes on in the hallways but i still got a good restful sleep. The Hot tub was great with a nice view ( We did have to bring our own towels though). Resturaunt had a great view with two beers on tap and a good wine selection. The food was ok. I ordered steak that came with French fries instead of the veggies. i guess the cooks got lazy! The staff complained about being under staffed and were running around like crazy but we still enjoyed our selves!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakota060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, we take all feedback and comments seriously and are looking for ways to improve our guest experience. We do operate in an old building rich with history, however that means we experience noise problems on occasion. We’re currently looking into better sound proofing for the rooms and hallways.

Normally, we are accommodating to individual food preferences and I apologize that you didn’t experience that level of service on your visit. “Steak Frites” is one of our most popular items on the Bistro menu, I’ll ask the service team to be clearer about what these dishes entail.

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the best views in Banff and our delicious wine selection. I hope you will stay with us again.

The Juniper GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

An excellent hotel. The only thing that was wrong with it was one of the shutters on our windows was a bit broken. If you don't mind the mile walk into town then this hotel is the best choice. The views are stunning and the food in the restaurant is very tasty. The pulled pork sandwich is a must. The staff are very friendly and Mason the barman knows his cocktails!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaz1987_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We’re glad you had a great stay here. I hope it was a memorable trip for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again and will check the shutters in all the rooms. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Juniper.

The Juniper GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am giving this hotel a star only for the view. My husband booked our room on booking.com, when we arrived, they tried to give him a room with two double beds. We ended up in a king room, but I think it is the worst room in the hotel. It fails on several levels:
We are directly across the hall from the ice maker and vending machine, as well as the housekeeping office. We can hear every word as well as every footstep in the hall and conversation. This place is VERY LOUD. The room is dirty with dust and dead bugs on the sills. When the windows are open, you hear traffic from the highway. It is not walkable to and from town (there are no sidewalks or street lights.). As I write this, I now also hear that someone as a dog din he hall that is whining and barking. Do yourself a favor and stay one where else.

Oh, and the staff is terribly rude and snotty. Maybe they don't like Americans? (which is fine, carpet diem, just warn us so we can take our money elsewhere.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssnpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your experience at The Juniper in July this year. I’d like to offer an apology on behalf of our entire team that your stay was less than satisfactory.

I’m sorry that you found the room and hallways too noisy, we do however, operate within a renovated building so have some challenges with noise traveling. We’re currently looking into building better soundproofing into the rooms so that our guests can have quieter stay in the future.

Your experience with our staff and room cleanliness is not typical and I’m sorry that you felt that way about your stay here. We strive to provide excellent service to all our guests (both international and domestic), during their stay and will review your experience in further training of our employees. I’m glad however that you enjoyed the spectacular views and would like to invite you to call the hotel and ask to speak to me directly if you have any further issues you would like to tell us about.

Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to change your opinions of us one day.

Hotel Phone Number: 403.762.2281

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews