We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am giving this hotel a star only for the view. My husband booked our room on booking.com, when we arrived, they tried to give him a room with two double beds. We ended up in a king room, but I think it is the worst room in the hotel. It fails on several levels:
We are directly across the hall from the ice maker and vending machine, as well as the housekeeping office. We can hear every word as well as every footstep in the hall and conversation. This place is VERY LOUD. The room is dirty with dust and dead bugs on the sills. When the windows are open, you hear traffic from the highway. It is not walkable to and from town (there are no sidewalks or street lights.). As I write this, I now also hear that someone as a dog din he hall that is whining and barking. Do yourself a favor and stay one where else.

Oh, and the staff is terribly rude and snotty. Maybe they don't like Americans? (which is fine, carpet diem, just warn us so we can take our money elsewhere.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssnpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your experience at The Juniper in July this year. I’d like to offer an apology on behalf of our entire team that your stay was less than satisfactory.

I’m sorry that you found the room and hallways too noisy, we do however, operate within a renovated building so have some challenges with noise traveling. We’re currently looking into building better soundproofing into the rooms so that our guests can have quieter stay in the future.

Your experience with our staff and room cleanliness is not typical and I’m sorry that you felt that way about your stay here. We strive to provide excellent service to all our guests (both international and domestic), during their stay and will review your experience in further training of our employees. I’m glad however that you enjoyed the spectacular views and would like to invite you to call the hotel and ask to speak to me directly if you have any further issues you would like to tell us about.

Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to change your opinions of us one day.

Hotel Phone Number: 403.762.2281
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    324
    107
    55
    25
See reviews for
214
483
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the July long weekend; it was the only hotel in Banff accepting a one night stay. The hotel is located in a secluded area approximately a 5 min drive from town; (make sure you have access to a car). Although it was scenic and nice to escape the Banff crowds, it was a hassle to drive to town and find parking. The restaurant was closed for a private function. Our room was on the second floor; (no elevator and no offer from staff to assist with luggage). The building is stick framed so noise is easily transferred between rooms. Our room was small with a view of the parking lot. The bathroom was nicely appointed but was extremely small with stand-up shower; only space for one person at a time to get ready. Power was out in the hotel due to a storm for hours; bring a flashlight just in case because the staff seemed unprepared once the emergency generator quit. The outdoor sheltered hot tub was our favourite spot; private with a great view!

Overall it was fine for a one night stay but underwhelming at $225/night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains. Choose a first floor room unless you are prepared to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank physio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great to receive your feedback, I really appreciate you taking time out of your day to help us improve. Sorry to hear you experienced a power outage, I can assure you it’s not a common occurrence, however I will follow up with staff to ensure they know the protocol in the future!

If you were to visit again please let me know and we can arrange a room with a valley view for you.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hot tub, you won’t find one with a view like ours anywhere in town. We’re proud to offer a respite from the hubbub and we’re now offering free taxi vouchers for Bistro guests to make transportation a bit easier. Thanks and hope to see you again!

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked this hotel so we could enjoy the mountain views with our last dinner in the Rockies - and imporantly allow us to have a drink and not to have to drive. At check-in we noticed a sign that announced the restaurant was shut on Monday and Tuesday nights! No attempt had been made to contact us. On complaining we were given a $10 food voucher each for use at breakfast, but this really did not make up for the disappointment on what was a special 'once in a lifetime trip' to the Canadian Rockies.

How can you run a hotel and be taken seriously if your restaurant is shut in the prime tourist touring (as opposed to winter sport) season of mid June? Shame on you! I cannot possibly recommend anybody to stay at a place that puts themselves ahead of their customers - so my advice is to stay somewhere else - such as Banff Avenue B&B - whose owners really care about customers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize your experience at The Juniper didn’t match your expectations.

Our Bistro does shut down for private functions, weddings and Mondays & Tuesdays during the off season. I’m sorry we didn’t find another solution for you as you were unable to use the food vouchers that we provide in these situations. Moving forward we’ll be attempting to communicate our hours and closures more clearly and be providing Bistro guests with taxi vouchers to get into town.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It had a spectacular view rundle stone and two other mountains! The restaurant is excellent! And they have a hot tub. It's right on the edge of town away from the touristy busy town centre. They also have a mice nature walk area, the rooms are very clean but small it's simplistic yet luxurious. My only complaint is that they DID NOT CARE that we were on our honey moon my husband even called in advance to let them know and they did and said nothing! He told them again when we got there and NOTHING! We would stay there again though but don't expect them to go out of their way for you. There was one girl that worked at the front desk that was very helpful about restaurants and stuff to do.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HannahLook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel, has a great location, away from the busy town centre but still 5 min drive or 15 min walk if you are up to it.
The view outside and from the restaurant are one of a kind, for sure one of the best restaurants in Banff. I visited with my family and our dog, great rooms, clean and nice rustic feel. And we have come back two times al ready. Just perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Huon, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our stay was a highlight of our two week road trip. we slept beautifully. Clean rooms with a great feel...Really enjoyed the food. Great vegetarian options.. View and setting was very relaxing. Nice staff. We booked one night and decided to stay an extra one to recharge further. Black Bear almost joined us for lunch, Pic uploaded as proof.!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in one of their mt. view room on the second floor. It is a renovated hotel but keep in mind that it is an old building. Thus squeaky floor throughout (literally every step in the room), really squeaky bed (couldn't sleep well as every toss and turn resulted sounds that kept us awake), topped off with a horribly noisy room heater. Also the sound of cars whipping by on Hwy. 1 was quite loud and bad! Will definitely need ear plugs if a sensitive person. Bathroom has no fan and the room smelled somewhat unpleasant so had to leave the balcony door open for a while for fresh air. We checked in early but had the front desk calling on my cell at 10:30 pm (!!) asking why I was not checking in. It was not our first time at this hotel but don't think we will come back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiftysomethingplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,023 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Property: The Juniper Hotel
Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a panoramic view, plentiful sunshine, and natural setting within vintage modernist architecture. Located along the wildlife corridor, the mountains rise straight up from our back door and downtown Banff is only minutes away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. Experience handcrafted cuisine using the finest and freshest ingredients in the Bistro & Lounge! Relax in our outdoor hot tub or next to our fire pits. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide. This boutique hotel features 52 guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Guestrooms are all equipped with an air cooling system, mini fridges, coffeemakers and iron & ironing boards. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Offering personalized, local hospitality; explore a peaceful place away from the crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing