We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WINTER GET AWAY !”
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

good rooms , good food , good location for a get away . if you want to party in town its only a $10 cab ride including tip, i went there in december and absolutley loved it, hot tub over looks the mountains and part of banff. at dinner time there is a nice resturant with a wood burning stove , also outside they have a nice fire pit burning most of the evening so its nice on a warn winter night to sit by fire and have a few drinks !!

Room Tip: ask for close to hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for skiers as the Mt Norquay field is only a few minutes up the hill behind the hotel. The location is not so good if you don't have a car as Banff township is a good 20 min walk away. The hotel also has fine views overlooking Banff from the open air hot tub, the restaurant and the rooms facing south.

Xmas dinner in the restaurant was great and the staff were very pleasant and helpful though one shouldn't require them to look stuff up on the net for you.

HOWEVER...

Our room faced the car park and the forested hillside to the north, the central heating didn't work, there was only short patches of hot water for several hours and our room seemed to be near a very noisy piece of machinery which only went off for short spells. As the outside temperature was -20-30C this was inexcusable, though we were eventually supplied with a small floor fan heater and the hot water was fixed after several hours. The noisy machine never went away and even the guy two rooms further away from it than us demanded and got a different room.

Another annoyance was the arrangement of the two double beds with the TV facing down the middle which would be sensible if the TV were not in a cabinet whose doors only opened 90 degrees and behaved like the blinkers on a race horse!

Room Tip: Don't let them put you at the end nearest the desk as there is a lot of mechanical noise at that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blairsensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Poor value for the price, but I did choose high season for skiers. Restaurant was average. Would stay again, as I like the location, view, simplicity of the rooms, but I would definitely reconsider when due to the cost.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank parkangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

All the staff were super nice and we really liked the modernness of the interior decor. Rooms are smaller but with enough room for everything you need. Great price for high season and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The view was great, but really noisy your right on the highway!! The restaurant staff are supper friendly, front desk staff not so much!! The night guy at the desk thinks hes being funny but it comes arcoss as very sarcastic! They are about 2km from town with no shuttle, so $10.00 each way with a cab. We upgraded our room and you would never have noticed, the rooms are average. We got a deal on the room but by the time you pay for cabs you could of stayed at a nicer place in town! The hot tub has a great view, but also loud from traffic. Nothing memorable to make us want to go back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clarke65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I hate lauding this place for everyone to see, as I feel it's a hidden gem. Great vibe. Good mix of modern updates with some original bits of the building, comfy beds, and the best view of Banff to be found in a hot tub. Food at Muk a Muk has slipped recently, used to be amazing, was mediocre now.

Room Tip: Pay more for valleyview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beernwinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a great little hotel... maybe better called a 'boutique' hotel... certainly not a 'cookie cutter' facility. The Juniper really celebrates Western Canada's aboriginal heritage.
Our room was 'spartan' but comfortable. Mountain views from our room and the Bistro dining area were breathtaking... probably the best of any hotel in Banff? Our meals in the Bistro were delicious and bountiful. Staff in the hotel and resturant were outstanding... efficient and very pleasant. We thouroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Juniper. The only negative is that our room faced the highway, so there was traffic noise. Didn't keep us awake though. The enjoyment of the exceptional mountain views from a room on this side of the hotel certainly overshadowed the annoyance of the highway traffic noise... at least for us.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Banff have great mountain views. I suspect that the rooms overlooking the hotel parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $94 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a panoramic view, plentiful sunshine, and natural setting within vintage modernist architecture. Located along the wildlife corridor, the mountains rise straight up from our back door and downtown Banff is only minutes away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. Experience handcrafted cuisine using the finest and freshest ingredients in the Bistro & Lounge! Relax in our outdoor hot tub or next to our fire pits. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide. This boutique hotel features 52 guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Guestrooms are all equipped with an air cooling system, mini fridges, coffeemakers and iron & ironing boards. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Offering personalized, local hospitality; explore a peaceful place away from the crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing