We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Still excellent on the 2nd visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grapes Wine Bar

Grapes Wine Bar
Ranked #19 of 136 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Savoury charcuterie, fine cheeses and award-winning wines are showcased nightly at the cozy Grapes Wine Bar. Sample from a tempting menu of tasty gourmet favourites made in-house, including cured meats and pates, candied salmon, freshly baked breads and delicious pickled vegetables. This historic, charming room was originally established in 1926 as a writing room and a place for people to gather their thoughts, share experiences and converse with family and friends. Enjoy the entertaining, interactive atmosphere of Grapes Wine Bar, a dining experience like no other.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still excellent on the 2nd visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was looking forward to again dining at Grapes as I enjoyed my first visit very much and I was not disappointed. The food is excellent and the menu well thought out. This is an intimate restaurant and can only hold a few diners so book early not to be disappointed. The staff here are fantastic very helpful and will work with you to make sure you have a great dining and wine inexperience. Hats off to Grapes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    25
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Fondue and wine : our night couldn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a really small wine bar at the Fairmont. It has about 6 tables and it ticked away somewhere in within the Fairmont Castle. If you are looking for a cosy romantic night in Banff, then this place is strongly recommended.
The wine connoisseur is fantastic and she makes some excellent recommendations.
We had some classic cheese fondue with bread and veggies, steak and some chocolate fondue for dessert along with our wines and were were very happy with our food.
Our server told us that the beef we were served was never frozen and it tasted quite amazing.
Note: the bar closes at 10pm. So the ideal time to come in would be around 7.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travebuff_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small but fantastic little restaurant/bar! Went there on a ladies weekend away, so there were four of us. Service was great, food was scrumptious, Dana was very knowledgeable about the wines, and kept an eye on us the whole time!
Definitely going back!
My only complaint was the music. It sounded like the radio. A little easy listening, soft pop or jazz could go a long way! Just my preference though...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pixieline82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Cozy Hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good, unpretentious food, and courteous service. The restaurant has great character, and a history as a writer's retreat. As such, it is quite small, and there are very few tables, but if you are fortunate enough to hit it at the right time, it has all of the elements you need to put a great evening together for you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shifttabctrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
387 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very good food, great wine list, knowledgeable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by several things here -- the food was excellent, and our server steered us to a British Columbia cabernet sauvignon that was truly outstanding (this in response to my question as to whether we should attempt a Canadian wine...). We had a nice table by the window (perhaps the only window in the dininr room), and felt that we were very well taken care of.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes Wine Bar also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grapes Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing