We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grapes Wine Bar

Grapes Wine Bar
Ranked #19 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Savoury charcuterie, fine cheeses and award-winning wines are showcased nightly at the cozy Grapes Wine Bar. Sample from a tempting menu of tasty gourmet favourites made in-house, including cured meats and pates, candied salmon, freshly baked breads and delicious pickled vegetables. This historic, charming room was originally established in 1926 as a writing room and a place for people to gather their thoughts, share experiences and converse with family and friends. Enjoy the entertaining, interactive atmosphere of Grapes Wine Bar, a dining experience like no other.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We went during the Banff food festival and had the $45 3-course meal at Grapes which for me included a carrot soup and venison steak. It was unbelievable!!! Beyond the food being great, the atmosphere was wonderful, and service was incredible.

I will definitely be back next year.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anm075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    25
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

A local suggested we eat in house. Wow we were not mislead. The intimate bar holds only a few tables. The staff were extremely wonderful. We enjoyed every morsel we ate and the waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with the wine list. If only there was room for dessert!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HikerMom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tiny little place in the Banff Springs Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

It is a must to see this hotel - so historic and like an old castle.

I ate at this restaurant in 1999 and wanted to come back. There are only 6 or 7 tables so it is very intimate and the food is great. The soup of the day was a butternut squash creation that was absolutely delicious - recommended by our server.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NMackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Phenomenal meal, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

A friend and I had a really spectacular meal at Grapes Wine Bar. The wine bar is located in an intimate, wood-paneled room and only one of the tables has a view out into the Bow Valley. But the atmosphere is lovely regardless!

Our waiter was fantastic and gave us great advice about wines from the Okanagan Valley in British Columbia. We shared two amazing appetizers: panko-crusted brie with a chambord butter sauce and topped with arugula, pistachio & blueberry and a maple vinaigrette served with crostini, and smocked duck with mache greens, orange, goat cheese, toasted almonds, granny smith apples, and a maple vinaigrette. And we shared a wonderful dessert of peach crisp and peach sorbet.

We had an absolutely delicious meal and a great experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wisebruinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Great food and personal service. They have a limited menu but excellent food. We enjoyed it twice during our seven day stay.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lwmwescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes Wine Bar also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grapes Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing