We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny little place in the Banff Springs Hotel”
Review of Grapes Wine Bar

Grapes Wine Bar
Ranked #23 of 144 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Savoury charcuterie, fine cheeses and award-winning wines are showcased nightly at the cozy Grapes Wine Bar. Sample from a tempting menu of tasty gourmet favourites made in-house, including cured meats and pates, candied salmon, freshly baked breads and delicious pickled vegetables. This historic, charming room was originally established in 1926 as a writing room and a place for people to gather their thoughts, share experiences and converse with family and friends. Enjoy the entertaining, interactive atmosphere of Grapes Wine Bar, a dining experience like no other.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tiny little place in the Banff Springs Hotel”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It is a must to see this hotel - so historic and like an old castle.

I ate at this restaurant in 1999 and wanted to come back. There are only 6 or 7 tables so it is very intimate and the food is great. The soup of the day was a butternut squash creation that was absolutely delicious - recommended by our server.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NMackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    27
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Phenomenal meal, great service”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A friend and I had a really spectacular meal at Grapes Wine Bar. The wine bar is located in an intimate, wood-paneled room and only one of the tables has a view out into the Bow Valley. But the atmosphere is lovely regardless!

Our waiter was fantastic and gave us great advice about wines from the Okanagan Valley in British Columbia. We shared two amazing appetizers: panko-crusted brie with a chambord butter sauce and topped with arugula, pistachio & blueberry and a maple vinaigrette served with crostini, and smocked duck with mache greens, orange, goat cheese, toasted almonds, granny smith apples, and a maple vinaigrette. And we shared a wonderful dessert of peach crisp and peach sorbet.

We had an absolutely delicious meal and a great experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wisebruinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love this little place”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Great food and personal service. They have a limited menu but excellent food. We enjoyed it twice during our seven day stay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwmwescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
319 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wine bars just seem to have some magnetic drawing power.”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Grapes in the Banff Springs Hotel is a small and cozy wine bar that makes use of a very competent hotel kitchen. The smoked duck salad was wonderful, from a true salad lover, combining nice greens with mandarin slices and a delicate goat cheese. There was a maple flavoured vinaigrette reduction that was a perfect complement to the duck. I ordered the beef tenderloin as Alberta is of course renowned for their beef. It was very good, but not exceptional, which will please my local butcher Darren, who delivers the best beef I have ever had anywhere. The garlic mashed were really done well, and all in all it was a decent meal with a few different wine offerings. I recommend the Sumac Ridge sparkling accompanying the duck.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our favorite spot at the Banff Springs”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

They don't take reservations, but if you can get in, it is a quaint and cozy spot, with great food and wine. It never disappoints! Definitely a romantic spot if you're looking for one.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wenztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes Wine Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grapes Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing