We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elk and owls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fenland Trail

Fenland Trail
Ranked #27 of 70 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“elk and owls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Walked this trail on a recent trip to Banff and was lucky enough to see both elk and an owl. It's an easy walk for anyone although there was lots of snow on the path (in February).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    24
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice little trek in the woods with beautiful views of the wetlands and creek. Benches to rest and enjoy the stillness. Easy walk. Stop at Tim Hortons and take a coffee for the walk or warm up with afterwards if you go in winter as we did.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Prairiegirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I found Fenland Trail by accident and am glad I did. It is just over the train lines from the Bow trail and is an easy 2km walk. It is a beautiful quiet walk in winter and the people I met on my walks were really friendly. It is where I had my first wildlife experience outside of a tour bus, with loads of squirrels and my first ELK. Totally amazing!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Leese D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably better in Spring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A nice easy walk - very pretty in the snow, but would be lovely in the summer to picnic and enjoy the river and wildlife. But travelling in the Winter I didnt really expect too much.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Little Stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Rocky Mountain Resort during our skiing trip. The resort offered a number of guided walks. The Fenland Trail was one of the walks offered. It is a nice little walk, it is surprising quite, considering that it is so close to Banff and the highway. All I could hear was the lumbering goods train. I liked this walk.

Helpful?
2 Thank MartynR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenland Trail also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Fenland Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing