We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Front desk staff very friendly. The room was spotless. Our room had a pool view and since it was March the hotel was not fully occupied so there was no noise issue from the pool area. The hot tub was clean and hot! Comfortable bed. Underground parking but be careful if you drive a large truck....our F150 barely made it in. The only complaint was that the room was quite hot. We did not complain...just shut off the heat and it was all good. Wifi a little slow but it's free. I'd staff here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank txlibrarygoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    426
    135
    36
    19
See reviews for
263
493
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We recently spent a night here. Nice hotel. Comfortable (except for the renovations). Its wonderful to see upgrades being done here. It is clear the hotel is a bit tired; the carpets are worn, the walls could use a fresh coat of paint or wallpaper but even so,.... this is a clean and comfortable place to stay! The bed was very comfortable. We used the Jacuzzi - it was clean and the temperature good. WE used the pool. It has a liner in it. I suspect that this pool needs to be updated or replaced but the liner doesn't really detract from swimming in it. The weight room is small but we saw that is was almost constantly used by guests.

The restaurant in house is a beef restaurant. Great food! Huge portions so please be careful.

I was a bit taken aback by the need to put a $150 deposit on my room above and beyond the room rate! They required a credit card for this. Apparently it has something to do with damage from sports equipment and boots and such, but since we had none well, ....... When I asked the next morning to ensure this extra deposit charge was taken off my credit card, the front desk receptionist assured me that it would be removed and I would see this on my bank statement in 1 -3 business days! Huh? Well, I am happy to report that it has been 5 or 6 days and the initial deposit charge never did show up ... no refund necessary, I guess. Did anyone else encounter this? If so, please write in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We are equally excited about our renovations. We have now completed a full overhaul of all our rooms and corridors on our first and second floors. This has included entirely new carpets, wall vinyl, lighting, furniture, other additional furnishings, and bedding. We have also completed some important upgrades to other communal areas including an entirely new hot tub, new swimming pool lining, and new gym equipment. The remaining renovation work for our communal areas will happen within the next two months when we add some finishing touches to our lobby area.

We look forward to completing our renovation work when we do our third floor, which is comprised mostly of our luxury jacuzzi, fireplace and kitchenette suites, in Fall 2014. We are confident all our hard work will provide an even more welcoming, homely and comfortable environment for all of our guests to relax in and enjoy.

Regarding the $150 incidental deposit I hope I can clarify our policy for you. As with many hotels nowadays, we do require this incidental deposit to be covered in some form by all guests checking in to our hotel. This can be covered by a credit card pre-authorization which is basically a temporary hold rather than an actual charge – hence there being no need for an actual refund. This is then deleted by our front desk staff on the day of check-out although the credit card companies can take up to five business days to show the funds as available again. Alternatively, if guests prefer, we are happy to hold the $150 in cash or on a debit card which we are then able to refund immediately at check-out.

We try our best to explain this procedure as best we can at the time of check in and we also notify all guests prior to their arrival providing their reservation is made directly with us.

The primary reason for this policy is to provide us with some sort of guarantee for various incidental charges which guests may bill to their room during their stay – for example meals in our restaurant, Bumper’s the Beef House. On occasion, of course, this may also be used to cover repair costs when rooms are damaged but fortunately this is a very rare occurrence and is not something we look to do if it can be avoided.

If you have any further queries regarding this please feel free to contact our front desk directly – we would be more than happy to explain further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for Newyears with some friends. The room was clean, and the bed was so comfy. They have free dvds at the front desk to borrow for the night, and when i called to ask if I could get a kettle for my room they were up with one within 5 minutes! I loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jymm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullibardine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was in Calgary for a conference but managed to get away for a day to Banff and it was certainly worth it. The Rundlestone had a good offer on even though they were busy, it's located on the quieter uptown area of the main road but only a 5 to 10 minute walk to everything you need in town. The hotel has a decent sized pool, rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was the best of any of the places I had stayed (although this was an additional charge). Worth getting up Sulphur Mountain and spending time up there, the views were stunning and too many people just go, take a snap and leave. Plenty of options for food in Banff and don't worry about getting the cheaper option of the Greyhound to Banff - couldn't fault it! I'd recommend anyone to a stay here...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Rundlestone Lodge belongs to the same hotelfamily as the High Country Inn, Irwin's & Red Carpet Inn which are all located on Banff Ave. Rundlestone is the furthest away from Banff Centre, about a 15 minutes walk. We (2 adults) choose this one for our 5 night stay because of the great winterspecial rates.

Our room (#302) was a loft suite (1 King in main area, 1 Queen in loft, full bathroom on main floor & half bathroom in loft). With the vaulted ceiling you'll have a pretty large room! The suite has a kitchenette (small fridge, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, 2 burner electric cooking plate). Also 2 comfortable chairs & 2 large flatscreens, both with DVD player. 2 open closet spaces. Beds are very comfortable. Individual airco. The interior is a bit dated (lots of dark brown colors) with a bit too much furniture, some modernisation could do wonders to this place.

Important to us: quiet (little or no noise from other rooms), no slamming doors etc. & black-out drapes.

Other conveniences: heated garage (a must in winter) with lockers for skies etc. (no charge). Wifi AND guestcomputers (no charge) which allow you to Skype, mail, print etc. Even an iPad available. Dvd's on loan (no charge) .. great service! Restaurant on site (didn't visit, there are also plenty of other restaurants nearby). Pool & hottub (didn't use it .. hottub was being replaced during our stay.

Front desk staf was friendly and helpful, in person as well as through email. Also tumbs up for housekeeping: very nice & friendly. All-in-all, we would gladly stay here again for a short winterbreak

Room Tip: If you find the right offer, choose a suite! Vaulted ceilings give that real 'lodge' feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anika43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Rundlestone this past weekend. Our room was very clean, comfortable and so quiet. It was my best sleep in a hotel room in a long time. We enjoyed the short 10 minute walk into downtown and the quietness that came from being away from the crowds. The heated parking garage was a nice perk. The front staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The front desk manager should get a promotion. What a great man. He helped us out so much and the hotel is in such great shape. For what we paid for in Banff, it was absolutely superb. Lovely gym and swimming pool, the Bumpers Restaurant attached was also great.

Room Tip: We had a king bed room and was very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamdoestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing