We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong with this one!”
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong with this one!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Rundlestone Lodge belongs to the same hotelfamily as the High Country Inn, Irwin's & Red Carpet Inn which are all located on Banff Ave. Rundlestone is the furthest away from Banff Centre, about a 15 minutes walk. We (2 adults) choose this one for our 5 night stay because of the great winterspecial rates.

Our room (#302) was a loft suite (1 King in main area, 1 Queen in loft, full bathroom on main floor & half bathroom in loft). With the vaulted ceiling you'll have a pretty large room! The suite has a kitchenette (small fridge, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, 2 burner electric cooking plate). Also 2 comfortable chairs & 2 large flatscreens, both with DVD player. 2 open closet spaces. Beds are very comfortable. Individual airco. The interior is a bit dated (lots of dark brown colors) with a bit too much furniture, some modernisation could do wonders to this place.

Important to us: quiet (little or no noise from other rooms), no slamming doors etc. & black-out drapes.

Other conveniences: heated garage (a must in winter) with lockers for skies etc. (no charge). Wifi AND guestcomputers (no charge) which allow you to Skype, mail, print etc. Even an iPad available. Dvd's on loan (no charge) .. great service! Restaurant on site (didn't visit, there are also plenty of other restaurants nearby). Pool & hottub (didn't use it .. hottub was being replaced during our stay.

Front desk staf was friendly and helpful, in person as well as through email. Also tumbs up for housekeeping: very nice & friendly. All-in-all, we would gladly stay here again for a short winterbreak

Room Tip: If you find the right offer, choose a suite! Vaulted ceilings give that real 'lodge' feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anika43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    491
    157
    41
    21
See reviews for
296
581
38
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Rundlestone this past weekend. Our room was very clean, comfortable and so quiet. It was my best sleep in a hotel room in a long time. We enjoyed the short 10 minute walk into downtown and the quietness that came from being away from the crowds. The heated parking garage was a nice perk. The front staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The front desk manager should get a promotion. What a great man. He helped us out so much and the hotel is in such great shape. For what we paid for in Banff, it was absolutely superb. Lovely gym and swimming pool, the Bumpers Restaurant attached was also great.

Room Tip: We had a king bed room and was very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamdoestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My reviews of this place must be getting boring. It was as good as always. The one thing I can add is that I had an amazing Bison Burger in Bumpers Restaurant, and the yam fries were yummy. The breakfast the next morning was huge--could've shared it with my travel buddy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackstrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your second review – we are always very pleased to hear such positive feedback from regular guests. We hope we continue to host you for a long time to come and will strive to live up to the high expectations you have. Next time you are with us please feel free to pop by the front desk and ask for me – it would be nice to meet you and thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

.......but at least this one is nice. (The 10% hotel tax that the town of Banff puts on hotels certainly doesn't help). We stayed at the Rundlestone for 4 days between Christmas and New Years this year. My wallet ended up being $1100.00 lighter at the end of the 4 days, but I have to say we enjoyed the hotel. The architecture is typical for Banff - high end modern mountain look. The hotel is well appointed with nice amenities such as a free heated parkade (parking garage), which is a nice feature in this climate and it even has ski lockers in the parkade. (however, they are the cheap tin variety typically found in fitness centers) The hotel provides free locks and I didn't see any lockers that had been tampered with. The pool, fitness center and hot tub are nice. The rooms are nice, quiet and the beds comfortable. One feature that is nice is that they offer free DVD movies at the front desk. Just visit the desk and choose a couple of movies if you feel like staying in that evening. The location is good, but be prepared to walk 15 minutes or so to get to the center of town- which we did numerous times. It was a nice walk and good exercise in the beautiful Banff air.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a loft room with a fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Resort is under renovations but this was on the first floor and we were on the 3rd. Very nice room, King size bed with jacuzzi and fire place. Arrived mid week so it was very quiet. The front reception was very friendly which is different from other resorts we stayed at in Banff. Restaurant (Bumpers) was a little pricey for dinner but reasonable for breakfast and drinks in the lounge. Breakfast was ok, not very hot.
We dont travel to Banff anymore as it is too expensive for what it is worth but this was one of the better visits we had

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Friendly front desk service.
Clean and well kept hotel.
Beautiful rooms, go for the hot tub! Fantastic balconies with great views of Banff.
Walking distance from downtown, but away from the noise.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_get_around2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing