We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Hotel, rooms need updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, rooms need updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The lobby of the hotel is wonderful but the rooms need to be updated. While there is plenty of storage space, the decor is outdated. The bed was extremely comfortable which is always important to me. The restaurant was nothing to be impressed about. You'll find better restaurants downtown. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had a leak in our AC and they quickly moved us to a new room for the last night of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magicfan225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    461
    148
    39
    19
See reviews for
277
541
35
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is my second time at this hotel in one month. I rebooked here primarily because of the good sleep quality and free, fast internet. Beds are comfortable, good air conditioning, effective black-out blinds, and quiet hallways. Tub is great for a soak. Rooms are very nicely appointed and very comfortable. On our second visit, we had a larger room - but unfortunately it did not have black out curtains which was disappointing as the room was quite bright. Other than that, everything was perfect. Front staff very helpful. Fridge and coffee maker in room - although no decaf and no tea. Location is removed from the town - probably a 20 min walk at least. Bus stop right in front and the hotel provides complimentary bicycles. I will stay again but make sure I have a room with black out curtains.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep past 5am, make sure your room has black out curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blong526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.John's
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My daughter is in Calgary for the summer and having not been there before decided to visit her for her birthday, rent a car and drive to Banff for couple of nights. We chose the Rundlestone by reading Trip Advisor and the location, reviews and room rates seemed to suit our needs and then once there, they surpassed them. We loved the look of the place immediately we pulled in and once inside the rustic lodge looking hotel lobby with its leather furniture, large rock fireplace with the wood stacked alongside and the outgoing, welcoming staff on the front desk, we were thrilled. it was just as we had envisioned a place to stay in Banff would be like. There was a room ready for us even though we were there early and check in is not till 4pm, but we were offered an upgrade with a larger suite with balcony on the front of the lodge looking at the mountains if we were willing to wait a couple of hours and we agreed....and so happy we did. They stored our luggage and we did the gondola ride and lunch and by the time we returned our room was ready. We had a huge room with two queen size beds, clean, spacious, good a/c, clean new looking bathroom, fridge and the balcony was a bonus. We sat out each evening and took in the sights and had our coffee each morning. The balcony itself was great because it was glass and while sitting your view was not restricted at all. They offered convenient parking and the location was 10-15 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants, perfect. Nice touch was the breakfast sandwich and coffee to go when we were in hurry one morning to get on the road to Lake Louise. Also, the last day check out was 11pm but we wanted to spend time on Banff Avenue for Canada Day and the hotel was very accommodating in allowing us to use their free parking till we were ready to leave that day. We truly enjoyed our visit at the Rundlestone Lodge and would recommend it and would stay there again. My only suggestion to the hotel, and this maybe just me, but I don't like bedspreads in hotel rooms. Although the beds were comfortable, gorgeous white crisp clean sheets and comfy pillows, I prefer the sheets or duvet covers on hotel beds that you know are washed and clean. Just my opinion.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend room with balcony in front of the lodge for the view and being able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

i stayed here for 13 nights between the 18 june and 2 july....and was one of the last to make it to banff before the chaos kicked off....check in was very smooth...my room was excellent and overlooked tunnel mountain..was great to have a balcony...the front desk staff were always very good...and always greeted you as you left and entered the hotel...particular praise must be given to jonathan here during the floods the hotel became very busy being by himself he dealt with everyone got them sorted and remained completly calm throughout....the housekeeping staff were great no complaints here at all...i never ate in the actual resturant but the bar was very nice and the bison burgers were superb...dominic the barman was always happy to chat...and shared some of his hiking tips for the area...overall i would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend anyone going to banff stay here...it may be a bit too far out from town for some but theres a bus stop right outside...for me the location was just right....the only thing that let the hotel down slightly was the gym..i often find this with hotels though

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burndust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were looking for a decent place to stay, after midnight, we had limited Internet access after driving for what seemed like hours. The first two places we stopped at were between $200-300 per night. We finally got Cellular access, and found the Rundlestone lodge. The man on the phone was super helpful, and took all our info, even though our phone cut out a few times. When we arrived, Mike was extremely polite and gave us an excellent room! I am sure he must have upgraded us!! The price was awesome! The room was perfect for us. Very spacious and clean. There were 6 of us...3 adults and 3 children, and we were not crowded at all. The kids had a lovely swim in the pool before we checked out. Our stay was wonderful. I wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you, Mike!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyB786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spend a couple of nights at the Rundlestone. Our room was large, the kitchen was handy. Great restaurants are a few minutes walk away. Parking was easy and very accessible. The staff were very helpful. The location is excellent. Very spacious, very clean, good linens, comfortable bed. The pool area was clean and enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolligen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed one night (opted for two additional nights in Canmore) and were very lucky with the lodge. Location is great, staff very friendly. The rooms were good and definitely worth the money.
Cleanliness of the room, WiFi etc. all very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSR3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing