We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great hotel near the centre of Banff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great hotel near the centre of Banff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was very good in terms of food, room, decor maintenance and staff.

The hotel itself is on the main street in Banff but 15 minutes away from the main downtown area meaning it is quiet at night.

It has a steak house restaurant which has good food and good decor. There is a salad, chicken and pasta option but it is mainly different variations of great Alberta beef. Other places to eat are near by.

The room we had was a premier king. Stacks of space, big bathroom, clean and well looked after.

It has a pool whcih we did not use but it looked OK. The hotel has an underground car park which is good. Two lifts give you access into the hotel.

Staff were very good and helpful. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheena59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    461
    148
    39
    19
See reviews for
277
541
35
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked in January for a August trip and ended up with a terrible room. We left Calgary a day early to spend more time in Banff and called to get into our room a day early. She gave us the last room at the end of the hall on the main floor, opposite the door to the garage and a big air conditioner out the window. We also had to pay full price even thought we had already booked to stay for 4 nights. The girl at the front desk was not at all interested in what I had to say. The air conditioner in our new room (after I got upset) buzzed all night and I had to beg someone to come and fix it. There are so many nicer, newer hotels on the main street to choose from. This hotel is very outdated and could some a lot of TLC. I did send the manager an email after we got home and never heard a thing back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went to Banff for the weekend and got a very good deal to stay at the Rundlestone Lodge and we loved the hotel. Very good rooms, well located, great staff service and a beautiful swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Their restaurant is also very good! We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Calgarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I can only give an average rating as it is pretty tired and in need of a bit of TLC. Everything is slightly worn and dated. But it was all clean. The staff at the desk seem to get distracted easily, as in they are dealing with you and another member of staff asks a question and they leave you to sort that out! And I agree with are previous TA member, what is with all the hotels blocking money on your credit card? This hotel was pre paid completely several months prior. No mini bar was available nor laundry service or room service, pool and gym were free so what 'incidentals' could there be? It was irritating to find it blocked for at least 2 working days after we left. A pretty average place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnniePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At the Rundlestone Lodge, we recognise the importance of maintaining a modern product whilst keeping the 'lodge' feel. The hotel is currently in preparation for our forthcoming renovation in the Fall - which will allow us to continue to provide excellent value for our patrons.
Speaking of value, you are correct in identifying many of our amenities are included with the stay; parking, swimming pool, hot tub, gym, mini-fridge wi-fi, DVDs, bicycles, ski lockers and so on. Incidentals may include; phone calls, restaurant charges, dry cleaning service, firewood etc. It is commonplace for many hotels to pre-authorise a guest's credit card for an amount greater than their stay; unfortunately it is not yet commonplace for all of them to tell you about it - something we feel the customer should rightly be informed of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here when we got snowed out of camping at Banff. (Weaklings I know.) I booked it on a last minute site for $100, and I can't complain at that price.

The hotel was welcoming, and the room was nice and clean. The bedspreads seemed a little old and could be replaced, but they were really fine. The tub was nice a deep and a joy to use.

The pool and hot tub were great.

I didn't expect that a $200 hold would be put on my credit card, as I've only seen this done when people travel with only debit cards. Usually just putting the card on file is sufficient. (Unfortunately, I hadn't warned the credit card company that I would be travelling in Canada from the US, so when they attempted to use it, the account was locked up. No trouble with a second card though, and phone call fixed the first one.)

I would stay again, and certainly at a discount rate.

Room Tip: The discounted room we were given looked at the back parking lot. I imagine that a room looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great value hotel. Friendly staff, underground parking good location to town centre (we had car but only 10min walk). We were walk-in guests based on other trip advisor recommendations. In april we got a great rate. Stayed three nights. Chose cheapest poolview room but did get a peak of mountain thru pool roof windows! Room was clean, spacious, comfortable. Decor not new but good. Lovely pool, hot tub and fitness gym. Newish Bumpers restaurant on site offered good menu with range of prices and good food. Salad bar was a disappointment and overpriced but rest good. Conveniently neighbouring hotel for pick up lakelouise ski shuttle.

Room Tip: Pool view has view over pool and thru high windows to mountain peak. Maybe wouldn't want floor 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moomin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked the Rundlestone Lodge just 2 days before Christmas to get some skiing in before spending Christmas with my daughter in Calgary. The resort is very reasonable priced set in a great location with friendly front desk staff. Our room had two beds and a little sitting area. The patio door looked out onto the street and had a little balcony. I found the rooms to be spacious enough for the three of us and very clean. The Rundle is only two stories which to me is great size for a hotel. It has underground parking which makes it very nice when visiting in the winter especially when we did for it was one of the coldest recorded for December. The pool, hot tub and change rooms are very nicely kept. My favourite part of the resort was the beautiful huge stone fireplace in the lobby. It was great spot for just relaxing and enjoying the warmth and smell of a real fireplace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing