We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Rundlestone Lodge They were renovating the restaurant while we were there but this was not an issue at all. We got a great "local" rate which was appreciated. The only concern we had was that we found the bed too soft. This of course, is a personal preference so really may not matter to others. The room itself was very clean and spacious. We were in an end room so found it to be very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mi4Sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    423
    132
    36
    18
See reviews for
258
490
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michiana, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had wonderful stay at Rundlestone. Staff are friendly and accommodating. We had not so good weather and was able to move our reservation under the same rate the next day. Not a problem at all, which in the US, this thing could be a hassle. Very clean room, nothing to complain at all. Check their direct website for specials, often it won't show up at other booking sites. Thanks, Rundlestone - you made our stay at Banff very pleasant indeed !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwesterner_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lee, nj
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Chantalle was the receptionist at the time I called the hotel to book my 6 nights there. I read great reviews on trip advisor. All I wanted was a top floor quiet room. When I arrived I got just that. Everybody was very accommodating and helpful with all my touring needs. The pool was great and so was the hot tub. The hotel is only ten minutes to downtown Banff. Great for walking around and just stare at the beautiful snow capped mountains that surround the town. Breakfast not included. No microwave or fridge. That will for sure be something they need to offer for the price.

Room Tip: room on the 3rd floor corner 324
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoFortLee_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge in mid January 2013 and we were very impressed. It is very clean throughout, the halls are bright and cheerful and the carpets didn't look worn at all. Everything about our room was perfect, the bathroom spotless and even the windows and draperies looked like they were freshly cleaned. The beds were comfortable and the bedding is high quality linen. The pool area is beautiful.
I met houskeeping, maintenance and front desk staff. All were pleasant and friendly.
Micheal, the front desk staff member who checked us in, was particularly accomodating to our room requests.
It is ideally located, away from the busy downtown but a lovely 10 to 15 min. walk to the centre of the town. If public transportation is preferable, the bus stops very close to the hotel.
Overall, an excellent hotel. We are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Our room faced the front with a balcony, traffic noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJS499253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Over the years we have tried a lot of hotels in Banff and the Rundlestone Lodge was the only one on the main street where we didn't hear the train at night. Also we didn't hear the neighbours or noise in the hallways. The rooms must be very well insulated/soundproofed. That is a big plus for me.
Another plus is the underground heated free parking.
Sleep quality is very good. The bed is a bit soft for my taste, but the missus praised it. The rooms are comfortable and well laid out. The cleaning staff did a very good job. That being said, the room amenities are quite basic for a 4 star. Service is very friendly and competent.
We didn't try the restaurant, so we can't comment on that, but we tried the heated pool and hot tub and it was a pleasant way to end the day. Clean and refreshing.
Overall a very good choice in Banff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked Rundlestone Lodge for a 2 night mid week break in Banff, the price was very reasonable and we were very happy with our choice. Rundlestone lodge is around a 15 minute walk into town which didnt bother us, and as a result even though we had a street side room was very quiet. We had a lovely room, with a tv and a nice firm bed. Reception staff were polite and helpful, and our room was clean, and true to the pictures on the website.
There was underground parking, and lockers in the parking lot for storage of skis, poles, boots etc.
The restaurant was undergoing renovation on our stay, however it was partly finished and looked very nice, the breakfast was also good, with plenty of choice.
I would certainly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ponytail186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your gracious comments regarding the staff and some of the other amenities we are proud to offer here at the hotel!

The Rundlestone Lodge is pleased to announce the extensive dining room and bar/lounge renovations mentioned in the above review are complete and the legendary 'Bumper's The Beef House' is open!! We look forward to welcoming everyone in for some fantastic Steaks and Ribs in our new restaurant; all meals of course come with the famous salad bar! The lounge offers patrons the chance to sip cocktails by the fire or enjoy a few cold ones watching live sport at the bar!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your Canadian trip and had a great journey home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Banff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked rather last minute for the family day weekend, so we were not sure what to expect. We stayed in the honeymoon suite! WHAT A TREAT! Everything was just lovely. The hotel was great, very cozy feel, the room was great, with a loft area for the bedroom, and staff were all very helpful. The view for waking up was also beautiful, as just across the road there is a great view of the mountains ( what else can you expect when in Banff )!

One thing we enjoyed was that after a busy day, we could go down to the lobby and select a DVD to just unwind and relax too ( free of charge, with a pretty big selection) cool feature and have not seen that at any other hotel we have stayed at. Check in and parking was also easy and convenient, nice to have parking free of charge as well as underground!

Can't wait to return to Banff as we know where we will be staying again:)

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite was amazing! A great room upgrade to treat yourself to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing