We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dark rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dark rooms”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Ok for a overnight stay bit tired very dark rooms bit of a hike into town. Better off looking at town centre hotels near brewpubs and bars. Could do with complimentary breakfast to make up for out of town location.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    476
    152
    41
    20
See reviews for
287
564
36
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is easy to find on Banff Ave as you drive into town. We had 2 queen beds which were very comfortable and there were extra pillows in the room. It was nice to be able to open the door to allow some fresh mountain air in rather than use the air conditioner. There is free underground parking which was great. Plenty of towels and toiletries supplied and while we didn't use the pool and hot tub it looked inviting. It is a good walk into the town centre which we enjoyed but there are also plenty of restaurants nearby. Free wifi was good and quite stable to use. The in only negative was there was no bar fridge but we survived without it. All in all we highly recommend this hotel for its great value and comfort.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gfun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A good value hotel about 15 mins walk from downtown Banff.
The main negative about this hotel was the reception staff. They were grumpy and quite unfriendly and seemed to have no idea of the importance of customer service. Despite the sad faces at the front desk, the room was excellent. Very neat and quiet. There was free parking, free wifi and the room had air conditioning (that goodness). No fridge in room but you could get ice from down the hall. No complimentary breakfast but the restaurant downstairs was quite good.
For the price, this hotel is good value, they just need to be more careful of who they employ at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
I was very disappointed to learn of your impression of the Front Desk staff. Customer Service is extremely important to us here at the Rundlestone and it is very concerning a happy and welcoming environment was not presented. I will most definitely share the feedback with my staff.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and were able to use our complimentary amenities to enhance the experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILANO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Charming and warm reception room with a large fireplace.The staff at the reception was very helpful. Ample free parking and accessible by elevator from the lobby.
The spacious room with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom.Free internet wireless.The location is not so near the town centre but quite outside along the main road .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilanoRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a nice place to stay in Banff. Rooms are clean and quiet. Underground parking is adequate, but beware of the pillars and the HVAC equipment hanging close to where you park that can damage your car. If traveling with a companion have them guide you in and out of the parking spaces. Lodge should provide complimentary coffee in the Lobby, but provides a coffee machine in the room that is a chore to use and slow as molasses. Pool, work-out room and hot tub were excellent. Reasonably priced. Drawback in Banff is food quality and expensive prices. Tip, go outside of Banff to Canmore or bring a sandwich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I picked this hotel based on price for the following: Location, Jetted Tub, King Size Bed & Fire Place. Rundlestone had the best price for what we were looking for. We stayed in 362. The room was clean, decent size with an exterior view window.

As noted in previous reviews, the front end staff were pleasant enough but not overly engaging. I can see how a person could be turned off if they were expecting a more "catered too" atmosphere. Our check-in and check-out were easy enough and that's all we could ask for.

Room: While the Jetted Tub was awesome, the shower was a trade off... same as the stalls at the pool. While it did the trick, the shower curtain was not wide enough and leaked all over the floor and with the tiled floor sloped for the tub, we had to throw a towel down as it became slippery. If you are a bigger person (6'3 and broad) you would have difficulty with the size of the shower and low ceiling. This was my only complaint about the room.
The toiletries are Bath & Body Works (so much nicer then the standard) and the in-room coffee is Rocky Mountain Coffee Roasters, an awesome company out of Jasper and this too was a nice change from the standard hotel coffee. The room has a DVD player and the hotel offers a variety of movies at no charge. This was a nice option after a long day. The bed had lots of pillows and was very comfortable. There is no mini-fridge, which we found odd.

Location: The property is a ways from downtown. If you are not terribly mobile, you would likely need to take the bus or drive (there's a stop nearby). There are bikes available until 8pm, something that is not noted on the website or in the Guest Binder. With free underground parking it made coming and going very easy. It would be more of a challenge in the winter to get around if you are not used to Canadian Winter or not equipped for the cold.

We didn't see any kids or younger people at the hotel during our stay which was nice for us. It was very quiet at night. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have a view of the next hotel (we could see into the rooms so kept the shears...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarleighJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while on 3000 motorcycle trip from States. Reasonable walking distance from hub of Banff downtown, but surrounded by hotels and restaurants on this end of town. Easy to find coming in from 1A and Lake Louise. Covered parking a plus - on motorcyclists, be aware of sluices in ramp. Room was large and clean; windows overlooked (quite publicly) the indoor swimming pool. No refrigerator, which really should be standard in a hotel of this caliber.

Very attractive lobby and entrance.

Really enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub with plenty of windows and skylights. A bit confusing to navigate multiple elevator options and layout. Ate at their restaurant; empty and understandably so. Mediocre food and servers were MIA... had drinks at bar in hotel, and the bartender had the same "get out of here, you're bothering me" attitude. So go elsewhere - so much to choose from in Banff! (NOTE: bartender made a point of telling us that the restaurant and bar were not owned/run by hotel)

Front desk help, though, was friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver4comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Despegar.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing