We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really convenient and comfortable”
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
MILANO
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Charming and warm reception room with a large fireplace.The staff at the reception was very helpful. Ample free parking and accessible by elevator from the lobby.
The spacious room with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom.Free internet wireless.The location is not so near the town centre but quite outside along the main road .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilanoRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    499
    158
    41
    20
See reviews for
300
588
38
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a nice place to stay in Banff. Rooms are clean and quiet. Underground parking is adequate, but beware of the pillars and the HVAC equipment hanging close to where you park that can damage your car. If traveling with a companion have them guide you in and out of the parking spaces. Lodge should provide complimentary coffee in the Lobby, but provides a coffee machine in the room that is a chore to use and slow as molasses. Pool, work-out room and hot tub were excellent. Reasonably priced. Drawback in Banff is food quality and expensive prices. Tip, go outside of Banff to Canmore or bring a sandwich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestermere, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I picked this hotel based on price for the following: Location, Jetted Tub, King Size Bed & Fire Place. Rundlestone had the best price for what we were looking for. We stayed in 362. The room was clean, decent size with an exterior view window.

As noted in previous reviews, the front end staff were pleasant enough but not overly engaging. I can see how a person could be turned off if they were expecting a more "catered too" atmosphere. Our check-in and check-out were easy enough and that's all we could ask for.

Room: While the Jetted Tub was awesome, the shower was a trade off... same as the stalls at the pool. While it did the trick, the shower curtain was not wide enough and leaked all over the floor and with the tiled floor sloped for the tub, we had to throw a towel down as it became slippery. If you are a bigger person (6'3 and broad) you would have difficulty with the size of the shower and low ceiling. This was my only complaint about the room.
The toiletries are Bath & Body Works (so much nicer then the standard) and the in-room coffee is Rocky Mountain Coffee Roasters, an awesome company out of Jasper and this too was a nice change from the standard hotel coffee. The room has a DVD player and the hotel offers a variety of movies at no charge. This was a nice option after a long day. The bed had lots of pillows and was very comfortable. There is no mini-fridge, which we found odd.

Location: The property is a ways from downtown. If you are not terribly mobile, you would likely need to take the bus or drive (there's a stop nearby). There are bikes available until 8pm, something that is not noted on the website or in the Guest Binder. With free underground parking it made coming and going very easy. It would be more of a challenge in the winter to get around if you are not used to Canadian Winter or not equipped for the cold.

We didn't see any kids or younger people at the hotel during our stay which was nice for us. It was very quiet at night. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have a view of the next hotel (we could see into the rooms so kept the shears...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarleighJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while on 3000 motorcycle trip from States. Reasonable walking distance from hub of Banff downtown, but surrounded by hotels and restaurants on this end of town. Easy to find coming in from 1A and Lake Louise. Covered parking a plus - on motorcyclists, be aware of sluices in ramp. Room was large and clean; windows overlooked (quite publicly) the indoor swimming pool. No refrigerator, which really should be standard in a hotel of this caliber.

Very attractive lobby and entrance.

Really enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub with plenty of windows and skylights. A bit confusing to navigate multiple elevator options and layout. Ate at their restaurant; empty and understandably so. Mediocre food and servers were MIA... had drinks at bar in hotel, and the bartender had the same "get out of here, you're bothering me" attitude. So go elsewhere - so much to choose from in Banff! (NOTE: bartender made a point of telling us that the restaurant and bar were not owned/run by hotel)

Front desk help, though, was friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver4comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
561 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights in a loft kitchenette room. fridge was a bit small but otherwise we could cope for ourselves quite easily with the microwave and 2 hot rings. Clean, good size television which I could connect to my laptop via HDMI and stream from the internet or watch our own DVDs (could not use the provided DVD player as ours were PAL and not SECAM). Same problem in Canada that we have in the UK - lots of cable/satellite channels but still not a lot to watch :-)
Safeway less than 10 minutes walk away - town a couple of minutes further on, so fair location. Would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge for 3 nights. Check-in staff were friendly. Our room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The room had a large plasma screen and we received good strong wifi. Free underground parking was great. A liquor store was located a couple of doors up the road, and on the walk into town, you will pass loads of restaurants/hotels.

On the downside, there was no fridge or safe in the room. If you don't enjoy walking, we wouldn't recommend this lodge. It is approx 15 min walk into the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwibrent1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Whilst staying with friends in Calgary I took to the Rockies for a few days. I was travelling on my own and hired a car from the airport (got upgraded to a Mustang V8 5.0). The roads are easy to drive on and in Banff quick quickly.

The hotel is on the main straight and very easy to find. The room was clean and it was a peaceful nights stay. I ate in the restaurant for my evening meal and the service and food was very good. The waitress was for Australia (I think) and was much more welcoming than the Front of House.

I was disappointed when I compare the welcome I received at reception, to all the other hotels I visited on my holiday. I managed hotels in the UK for 14 years and feel I'm a good judge of service and expectations. My check-in and check-out was very systematic with no interaction or pleasantries. I felt I was more of a burden than a guest and I was a bit surprised. I was not surprised when check-out was much the same. Never asked if everything was OK or enjoy your journey etc etc.

I left Banff and headed to the Ice Fields :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel overall and found the rooms clean and comfortable.
I fully understand your standpoint on the check-in/out service. Although there are many other guest reviews on this site alluding to the friendliness of the front desk staff, our aim is to ensure ALL guests feel welcomed into the hotel and receive a more personal touch when they encounter staff members - particularly the Front Desk. I am sorry you did not feel this was the case during your stay.
Your comments are extremely valuable and will be shared with my Front Desk staff to help us improve and consistently provide the highest level of customer service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,434 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing