We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with no view”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Room with no view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a queen room with a view towards the indoor pool. They do mention the possibilty of an internal view on their website, but it's still weird to have a 125 cad room that has no daylight. Room was clean and quiet. Bed was a bit too firm. Parkinggarage was convenient. The hotel is a 10 min walk from the city centre.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your response. For the benefit of future guests, please be advised that although the windows in our pool view rooms are internal, they do receive natural light from the glass ceiling and windows in the pool area. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    476
    152
    41
    20
See reviews for
287
564
36
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Big hotel, decor is rustic and typical for Rockies area. The front desk staff was less than welcoming and appeared bothered by our later than normal arrival time ie 22:00 hrs. Parking underneath is badly conceived and hard to get in and out. Room was good size. The most impressive fact at that location was the restaurant for breakfast, great meal which was served by a young waitress of English origin I would say who enjoyed her job.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank danoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Not having a clue where to stay in Banff and first time visitor to Canada, a friend recommended this property. Wonderful location, great parking, accommodating staff and awesome beds. Made this reservation 3 weeks ahead of our holiday, called and made a reservation directly with the property. We arrived as planned and enjoyed our stay.

Thank you Rundlestone Lodge. My first trip to Canada was made more enjoyable because of your hospitality.
DallasRN

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DallasRN_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice twin room. Beds were comfiest we had over a 2 week holiday - other were all too soft.
Only negatives were only 1 pillow each (no spares to be found in the room) & a fridge in the room would have been nice.
Staff were all really friendly. The bistro was great.

Room Tip: Nice, quiet rooms with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I just wanted to mention there are spare pillows in the drawers under the TV in all guestrooms and we are currently working on installing fridges in rooms throughout the property in order to improve guest experience. Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My two kids and I stayed at the Rundlestone for the last week of this month, our final little road trip and R&R escape before we return to school/work. The Trip Advisor special deal made this a GREAT deal for us, and I was pleasantly surprised to find out what a charming little hotel this is. The room was exceedingly clean - not even any darkened grout in the tub/shower area, which seems a rarity (unfortunately) these days. We had a small but quite functional balcony, from which we were able to watch a doe and her young one every evening as they came down to snack on the grass of the complex behind our hotel. The room was quite nice, beds very comfy, special blend coffee appreciated, and two seriously comfortable armchairs much welcomed after a long day of hiking and meandering. The staff weren't just pleasant, they were downright friendly - housecleaning, front desk, and other staff! - and they offered many welcome suggestions and advice for our trip. The pool and exercise area was very well maintained, and if I had any complaint at all, it's that the pool area had nothing but plastic plants (which I understand are easier to maintain), and the smell of warm, moist plastic was a bit overwelming. However, that's my only 'complaint'...I would definitely - and will - stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, and NOT one facing into the pool area. I think it would be noisy if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJD_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge for 10 nights from August the 7th 2012. We stayed in a 'Separate Sleeper Room' which was fantastic as it allowed our son his own, completely separate bedroom (and gave us peace and quiet while he ws asleep without worrying over waking him). The beds in both rooms were very comfortable and we all slept very well.

The room (and hotel in general) were kept to a very high standard of cleanliness and the staff were all very welcoming and helpful in all of our dealings with them.

There is also a swimming pool with a jacuzzi (hot tub) that proved very relaxing following a long days hiking. They also provide free internet access which we made great use of in planning our trips and using Skype to keep in touch (though the cost of their own phone calls is very competitive)

The hotel is well located, being an easy walk into the centre of Banff.

We made little use of the restaurant, catering for ourselved for breakfast (making use of the fridge in the room) and eating out at a wide reange of restaurants within Banff itsellf. The only time we did use the restaurant the quality of the food wasexcellent, the service was great and the the atmosphere was quiet and relaxed.

All in all I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would certainly stay here on our next visit (which wil, unfortunaley be some time away)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryEuph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived in Calgary picked up our car and arrived in Banff we stayed here to get our bearings before moving on
Room was clean
Bed was cosy
Staff were very helpful
Pool warm
We decided to stay another night as too tired to move
Enjoyed our stay would stay again as the views of the mountains were great
We had a brilliant deal $79 a night !!
Didn't like the guy who runs the restaurant we ate there once and gave it a miss most unhelpful not the attitude you need when on holiday

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains this also faces the road but wasn't noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrynj572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing