We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Rundlestone!”
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our family of 4, plus our 15 yrs old neice, stayed for 3 nights and had booked a standard room with 2 queen beds thinking one of us would sleep in a cot for an extra $30.00/night, however, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to a room with a king size bed and a loft area with a double bed and another bathroom area for the same price. The pool & hot tub were fine but the hotel itself is a little dated, but a great value for the money! Nice heated complimentary underground parking, but no microwave or fridge in the room. I think we could have requested a fridge for extra money. Good size for the living room area. Again, not perfect, but a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just spent 2 nts here - great accommodation, 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite next to the swimming pool. Quiet and very clean. Pleasant and friendly staff. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights (instead of Rimrock Resort) while attending Annual Canadian Melanoma Conference. Check-in effortless. Room clean, everything working, modern TV, bathroom well equipped. Ambient heat perfect. No noisy heaters! Bus stop right outside the front door. Banff public transit has improved a lot ~ 2 major routes from Banff Avenue, one to Banff Springs Hotel and other to Sulphur Mountain and Hot Springs. $1 each way for seniors :) Quiet accomodations. Didn't eat or swim here but these facilities are available.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Clean, comfortable rooms. Recommend the hotel impose a time limit to whirlpool sessions, or add another whirlpool. We waited 2 hours, checking back every 15 - 10 minutes, and never got to enjoy it; appeared that a large group of university students decided to make that their hangout for the night. That was disappointing for our ski-weary bodies.

Room Tip: If you live in the area, ask about their "locals" rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed here last weekend and was really disappointed - really didn't like having to give this place my money.

Location - almost last hotel on the road out, most better located

Check in - fine I guess

Public areas - a chintzy mixture of crappy old furniture and strange decoration

Signs - lots of them telling you not to bring boots and skis into a ski hotel ????

Pool, small, no toys, my 11 yr old came back bored - that's a first

Bedrooms - really old furniture, uncomfortable bed and way too much crammed in

Shower and bathroom - nice enough

Breakfast - in early to an empty dining room, no buffet, no breakfast included and no time for poor service so we left after waiting 5 mins

Check-out - unfriendly and slow, was waiting for the 'how did you enjoy your stay' question but wasn't asked.

Can't understand why this place is currently rated 7th - it shouldn't be in my view so not sure whats happening with ratings of this place.

Rob

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I was sorry to learn you did not enjoy your time with us. I offer my apologies on behalf of the restaurant and will pass your feedback to the owners regarding having to wait.
Taking the balance of guest feedback into consideration – both from our comment cards and online reviews, we feel our ranking on TripAdvisor is a fair reflection on the vast majority of our guests’ experience at the Rundlestone Lodge.
The above review fails to note the new 42” flat-screen TV’s in all guest rooms or the complimentary Wi-Fi throughout, DVD collection available from the Front Desk for the in-room DVD player, the large wood-burning fireplace in the lobby; or that guests are requested to use our complimentary ski lockers in our free, underground heated car park to help avoid unintentional damage in the rooms.
Our Health Club (gym, 45’ pool & 8-person hot tub) is one of the property highlights and is a combined amenity not many other properties in Banff are able to match (including other hotels this reviewer has visited).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a single night after a nearby convention. Having stayed here before (but in a jacuzzi suite last time), I can say that the jacuzzi suites are much nicer. Don't get me wrong though, the standard, king room was adequate - the suites are just better if you're looking for a bit of romance.

We checked in (swiftly & efficiently) a bit late and on a Saturday, so the last king room available overlooked the garage entrance for the underground parkade. I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. The room itself was roomy and clean; the bed was comfy.

We enjoyed the nice walk from The Rundlestone in to the town centre (the hotel is several blocks away from the centre). This is probably why this hotel is peaceful - all the "rowdies" stay close to the pubs! Ha!

Check out on Sunday morning was quite busy with one attendant at the counter, but she did her best and stayed focused. Soon enough the line was gone and we were on our way.

We'd surely stay here again, for the value, location and quiet!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Banff Ave for a bit more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McInMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We had a 1 night get away stay at this hotel - beautiful hotel, we booked a one queen bed for a really good price, what i like about this is we got a "special" discount online for "locals", ask for it or go to the "special" category in the website. The hotel exceeded our expectations - friendly and helpful staffs, we got a free rental for DVD movies, they have a selection of free movies, 10% discount for their restaurant coupon that they gave, clean bedroom, we got a queen bed with a twin bed unexpectedly, heated underground parking, good sets of towels and pillows, we can see the pool from our window. We didn't get the chance to go to the pool.

Things to improve maybe - option for a tea instead of coffee in the room and free bottled water. Shampoo and conditioner available, the only available in the room is shower gel and lotion and bar soap which are not bad. Maybe if we ask they will give them to us, we just didn't bother to ask.

Overall, our money is worth it and great time. Quiet hotel too. Loved our stay. Thank you. Also we checked out over 11 am, maybe before 11:30am and they didn't bother to mention that. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roxanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $87 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing