We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another great time at the Rundlestone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Another great time at the Rundlestone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

This lodge has the friendliest staff that I have ever dealt with. They call you by your name, are always friendly and always ask how you are doing and ask if you require anything. The rooms are spacious and the suite has a giant jacuzzi and a fireplace. They are spotless and smell good.
The restaurant Toulouloos has fantastic food and great service. The owner, Steve, also gets to know you and the staff, morning and night are very friendly.
Great resort for a relaxing and friendly time.

Room Tip: My room was on the third floor with a pretty good view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesforscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    461
    148
    39
    19
See reviews for
277
541
35
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Rundlestone Lodge 29-31 Dec , 2011 - well presented, well maintained and friendly. The open fire in the reception area is a real feature - we grabbed a bottle of Baileys and spent a couple of hours before we headed into Banff town centre for New Years celebrations. The rooms are bigger than some 'country' hotels and are well maintained, good facilities and whilst the air conditioning was a bit hot when we arrived, it quickly adjusted and was quiet. Parking in the basement was free and it was good to get into a 'warm' car - it was -8C on the streets. The parking lot is a bit tight and some drivers are not thoughtful of others which makes for some tricky parking maneuvers at times. Check in and check out was friendly fast and efficient. About 1 mile, 1.6km from the town centre, it is a nit out of what is going on but this was not a hassle.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSL_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We enjoyed a large, modern, clean room. Staff were friendly and the restaurant was well worth patronising. Breakfast was not brilliant but not bad. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a front room. Many of these have balconies and, although these are on the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoroniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Loved it! We were looking for a cozy romantic getaway and Rundlestone was the perfect place! The rooms were very clean and modern. The beds were really comfortable and the room we were in had a fantastic jacuzzi and fire place! The main lobby also has a large fireplace that we enjoyed and we were pleasantly surprised to find the large hot tub and pool area! Staff were very friendly and the location was perfect to walk to shops and restaurants. Would definately recommend staying here if you are heading to Banff!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bouche7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Upon arrival, we drove into the underground garage as instructed on the sign by the front door of the hotel. The 'warning bar' was damaged ( which we did not notice) and was actually missing. We entered through the garage door with no problem but as we advanced through the underground to seek an open space, we suddenly heard a dreadful noise. Yes, we had hit an overhead, very low lying, concrete structural support beam. It tore off the roof rack and destroyed one of our ski binders. Wonderful. Ruined our 3 day ski trip as we spent most of the following days renting a set of skis, trying to get the broken binder repaired, and as our roof rack was now useless, we had to try to get all 4 sets of skis and poles into the car, together with the 4 passengers. We proceeded to check in and the girl at the check in desk was arrogant and rude when we mentioned what had happened. A sympathetic ear would have gone a long way, not the ' attitude' and the ' I don't have the time to listen to YOU' approach. We would never stay there again, not because of the damage to our car which we feel strongly was totally avoidable with some clearer warning signs; but because of the dreadful attitude of the front desk staff member. That's all it takes for a person to look elsewhere on the next trip. As we live in Calgary, we frequently drive up to the mountains and enjoy staying over the weekend or for a few days here and there. We will never stay in Rundlestone Lodge again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. I regret the incident which occurred and am are deeply disappointed that your ski trip to Banff was less than satisfactory. The height clearance for vehicles is clearly signed (Maximum vehicle height of 6’4”) at the entrance to the underground parking lot, and the warning structure is not damaged. The chain links that hang down are meant to create noise if the vehicle is too high to fit in the parkade. (There is not meant to be a bar that hangs across the warning structure.) There is an additional metal bar inside the underground parkade to further warn our customers if their vehicle is too high. The lowest point in our underground parking area is 6’5”, which is the concrete structural support beam sited in your review.
Understandably the incident was distressing and I'm sorry you felt the service received at check-in was unsatisfactory. We have addressed this matter with our customer service representatives and we will endeavour to provide all of our customers with exemplary service in the future.
We value the feedback received and, as such, will be reviewing the possibility of creating additional steps to further warn our customers regarding vehicle height restrictions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here December 26,27, 2011. Very impressed with the room for the price. $130 Cdn (including all taxes) for a king size bed. Very quiet room. TV was great and free DVD rentals were a nice touch. Underground heated parking was a plus especially for winter. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDKF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

This hotel was super awesome with a wicked friendly staff and super clean rooms it was great. We stayed for a week in our kitchenette and loved it. Close to downtown but not too close that we were bombarded with heavy traffic. Lots of space in the rooms and comfy beds. The fire place was a wonderful touch. Loved the underground parking too! Over all it was a great hotel and we will definitely being staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natascha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing