We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointed-” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
victoria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed-”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were excited to stay here and had made a reservation based on the picture of the room on the hotel website. Big mistake. We booked a king fireplace jaccuzi room. Warning- If you stay here make specific requests regarding your room. We did not have a lovely cathedral ceiling in our room as seen in the website photo- it was a regular ceiling- the effect was a very closed in effect The worst part was that the room was at the side of the building and our view was the building next door so we had to have our drapes closed all the time. We felt so claustraphobic that we ended up going to the lobby to sit and read. Thge chairs were cozy but the lobby was noisy and gusts of cigarette smoke from people waiting for cars came in the door. Although we were on a non-smoking room (floor?) on the morning of our departure we could smell cigarette smoke in our room- whether it was from another floor or venting from outside we had no idea but it was unpleasant.
The hotel is clean and the staff pleasant and helpful but I think we'll go elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: CONFIRM special details
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amusedcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    448
    141
    36
    19
See reviews for
271
521
33
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roxby Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

On arrival we were met by a friendly staff member. He helped us with things to do and recommended places to eat. We had a standard room which was quiet and comfortable but the window view was to the indoor pool. The restaurant had great food and a friendly (talkative) waitress, which was good as she gave us direction to Calgary Airport. The only downside was the distance to the main part of town. The Lodge is on the main street of Banff but is a good 10 minute walk to the town centre. We hired a car when we got into town and then the problem vanished. There is free underground (secure) parking at the Lodge. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo_T_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhanson@usao.edu
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge the last week of May while vacationing in Banff.
Due to airline cancellations, we were unable to make our flight connection and had to change our plans at the last minute with the Lodge. The staff were more than happy to help with the necessary changes with no additional charges.
Upon arrival and throughout our stay, the staff continued to be helpful in assisting us with many requests. We asked about a fridge in our room, and even though there was none and fees are usually charged to have one delivered (no problem!), a fridge was delivered to our room before in less than 10 minutes---and with no charges!
Time and time again during our four-day stay, the staff was very kind and truly worked hard to make our stay comfortable and fun! The lodge is not large and the rooms as well as all facilities are kept clean and in order. We did not have the opportunity to eat in the on-site restaurant, but the staff did allow us access to a microwave, which came in handy and also provided a kettle for our room (tea, etc). There is a comprehensive list of DVD's and a "sharing library" (books) available for guests and DVD players are available in each room. No issues with WI-FI (free).....
Location: the lodge is about 10-15 minute walk to "town" and there is a "green" fleet of bus-vans that you can board just outside of the lodge (exact change/Canadian), if you wish to go further (Sulphur Mountain, etc). There is a Safeway close by where you can stock up on food and supplies, if needed.
Our room was very quiet and there was a small balcony. The view and fresh mountain air was very, very nice.
Stay here! The staff will do their best to help you in any way!

Room Tip: Call the Lodge directly for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripinMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Rundlestone Lodge in Banff in May 2011.
It was easy to find along the main road and had heaps of under ground parking for the hire car!
The service upon checking was a little cold and seemed liek the girl had had a long day- as had we... SO we expected a bit more of a greeting.
The room was lovely with a small balcony looking out to a mountain and a small park. It was a lovely quiet location. The bed was comfy and the room clean and tidy- I loved the hollywood mirror!
The only downfall of the room was no fridge or hairdrier, so it was hard to keep any drinks, fruit etc cold in the room.

We used the restaurant for dinner on our first night, the service was once again cold and nearly non existant, but the food was yummy.

Over our 2 night stay the service warmed up at the front desk, and by the end of it was friendly, but nothing special.

We loved Banff, and would stay again if we make it back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allisonr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your lovely comments about the room and on-site parking. We agree - fridges are handy to have in the rooms and are currently working towards adding them to all our guest rooms! May I politely add all guest rooms have hair-dryers.
I was happy to hear your experience with the Front Desk staff improved during your stay, but I was sorry we didn't provide as-warm-a-welcome as was expected on your arrival - especially after a long day. Please accept my apologies! Your feedback is most helpful and I will be sharing it with my staff to ensure each guest is treated with the warm welcome they deserve on arrival.
From reading your other reviews, it sounds like you had a great trip overall, I'm glad we were part of it and look forward to warmly welcoming you back should you return to Banff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of a tour of the Rockies. We were made to feel very welcome by the Reception Staff, who were also very helpful with all the questions we needed to ask. Rooms were very clean and quiet, with all the amenities required on a touring holiday. An excellent start to our tour!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentishMaid52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I have just read a negative review of the Rundlestone Lodge, and could not believe what I was reading! We stayed there (our fourth visit to the hotel) in April. We were warmly welcomed by the staff at the front desk, and all information was couteously explained. We too were asked for a damage deposit, and had no problems understanding that it was standard policy and in no way a suggestion that we might vandalise the room or the hotel. There is no doubt that on occasions the staff on duty may well have spent their leisure time sk`iing - but why would young people not enjoy the wonders of skiing in these particularly stunning mountains? Although we ourselves are no longer in the first flush of youth, we too often returned to the hotel after an exhilarating day on the slopes! At no stage was anyone during our lengthy stay wearing ski clothes behind the desk - evidence of skiing seemed to consist largely of quite impressive goggle tans.

As for comments about the price and distance from town - all these are explicit on the website, and price comparisons with other hotels can easily be made at the time of booking. Even standard rooms had a very clear note on the coffee maker that kettles were available on request. Indeed anything and everything that we asked for was promptly dealt with by the front desk, and delivered with impressive speed by house keeping staff.

We left the Rundlestone Lodge impressed that the young front of house staff had done much through their high standards of courtesy and helpfulness to restore our faith in a younger generation who all too often get a negative press.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I booked over the internet based on Trip Advisor reviews. The reception was staffed by and young "dude" staright off the ski slopes. He was just too cool to be professional. A 60 year old couple, we were told that we would have to provide a $150 surety for the room in case of any vandalism. His manner was VERY poor.
The room had no refrigerator and had not been serviced properly - no soap; but I guess we did not request one of their better rooms. The motel is long walk (1.5km) to town.. The room had good wifi and free parking.
A nearby Best and Western was half the price with a refigerator, free parking, free wifi, breakfast inc for half the price and it was only 500m from town - it most likely provided soap too. The staff also smiled.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing