We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget cheap steak night”

The Bear Street Tavern
Ranked #9 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Forget cheap steak night”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Calzones on Tuesday, that's all you need to know. Ask the staff for their favourite cocktail if you want a buzz. If the rocky mountain weather permits--definitely try to get on the patio!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nairuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    398
    110
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here based on the high reviews on Trip Advisor. We had the Margerita and the Primo Italiano and they were both very good. The Primo Italiano was full of flavor and very tasty. They also are known for having honey and rosemary oil to dip your pizza in. Don't knock it until you try it! It was a flavor combo I did not expect to like!!! The restaurant is a tad small, but a lot of the restaurants in banff are so no big deal. Great pizza for a good price!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good pizza in Banff”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a pretty good experience in the Bear Street Tavern. Although it was fairly busy, we didn't wait long for a table and the waiting staff were very friendly and efficient. We happened to go on a Sunday and took advantage of the $10 pizza and $9 steins, which we thought was very reasonable for Banff. There was a good selection of beers and a nice bustling atmosphere in the restaurant. I'm not sure we were quite so head-over-heels in love with the pizzas as some of the other reviewers but they weren't bad and were certainly filling. Recommend potential customers to go on a night when they have offers on (check which days on their website) - the full price menu does not offer quite such good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambrose010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not Much good to say”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were recommended to try the Bear Street Tavern and high hopes. We started off pretty bad with the hostess sighing at us about seating us, then after about 20 min squeezing us in between some other cramped tables. We ordered the mac and cheese (it was cold and hard and kid wouldn't eat it who eats anything), grown up grilled cheese (great idea but inedible dry ), a donair wrap (which was also really dry ) and 2 kids pizzas. The kids though the pizzas were meh - and didn't finish them. I like to write good reviews because I think it is important to support small businesses, but I also really hate spending almost $80 USD for lunch and leaving hungry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drozowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Went here on our first night in Banff and went back two days later. Staff were young and friendly, always time for a chat. Not a mega menu but the quality and quantity was great. We sat outside both times...take a jumper in the evening as it can get chilly. All the food looked good. I has pizza both times...yum. My husband has a salad and the fajitas, both very good too. One of the top places to eat in Banff and I would agree. Do go there!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SKKBmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing