We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome Food Great wines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
Ranked #9 of 140 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Food Great wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were in our first day of vacation in Banff and we had a very hefty lunch before arriving to town after checking in at the hotel we went to Banff centre for a leisure walk and run in to this gem of a restaurant the food even do a limited menu was gerat and teh most impressive thing was teh fact that with such a limite menu they had a wonderful wine list with great options by the glass.

The service was efficient and very friendly and the ambiances was a perfect mix of locals that appreciate a great place and tourist that have heard about it or just like us that were lucky enough to run in to this place. we are going back before we leave Banff

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andres L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    342
    95
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cromer, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Happy Aussie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went back for lunch after dinner last night WOW again, you gotta go. Had Tuna sandwich and a litre of beer for lunch today, had pizza and ribs last night yep a bit pricey but we are in a ski village after all. Service was outstanding and the beer, well coming from Australia where we know our beers it was beerlisious. 10/10 all around.Thanks folks

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honey on your pizza? Yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After a long wait at the front of the restaurant (it was $10 pizza night) we were seated at a small table for two. The place was packed with a young, local crowd. The pizzas were excellent, including the bison pizza, which my husband had. Bison seems to be on every menu in Alberta. Each table to provided with chill oil and honey for drizzling over the pizza. This is a must try. We want to try it at home with our own homemade pizza. This is a great place for a casual dinner, but expect a wait, as it seems like quite a popular spot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank petiteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food, atmosphere, and service all great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had read the reviews and "gourmet pizza" sounded good. It was a busy Saturday night, and the only seating available was at the bar, which ended up being a pleasant surprise. The bartender, while very busy, was very attentive and informative. His menu selections and amounts were all perfect. The Godfather pizza was very flavorful, and the spicy oil and honey additions were great additions. The spinach salad was sharing size and very fresh. The pulled pork natchos could have had a little more pork for my liking, but they too were well done. All in all, good value, great service and a busy friendly spot to return to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dforr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Working for a tip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ordered a pizza and fish tacos...too much food! The pizza is big enough to share and the server should have said so! We would have chosen something else to go with it ....but she wanted to sell us lots of food to up her tip. Pity!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelencTorontO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing