We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Bison pizza - must order!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
Ranked #8 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
634 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“The Bison pizza - must order!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Three of us went to Banff for a quick spa weekend and stopped into this little place as we had a craving for some nachos and the look of the place appealed to us. Cozy with not too many tables, an upper end pub atmosphere without that stale beer smell. It was great. We ordered their pulled pork nachos (heaven), the fish taco (tasty but no comparison to the nachos) and their The Bison pizza.
Let me tell you this was the best pizza I have had in forever! Smoked bison, caramelized onions, edamame beans and cheese on a thin crispy crust. I loved it! And, we took their advice and tried it 'Tavern style' - which is with honey and chilli oil to dip in...why have I never done that before!? A taste sensation. Our waitress was super friendly, they have a great selection of beer on tap and the prices were just right. A total recommend. Loved it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    359
    95
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We went on Sunday- $10 pizzas and $9 steins. The pizza was fresh and flavorful and beer was great! Definitely good value and great food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adbagwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st johns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beer and pizza joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Loved the pizza, only one size, about 11". Thin crust, cooked perfect. Served with honey and hot chili sauce though we didn't use either. We split a pizza as we weren't very hungry. Two men would probably want their own pizza as three slices would not be enough. The Bison is upstairs which is a meat lovers paradise. Same owners run the Maple Leaf. Service was very, very good. Small establishment and a bit crowded but worth the effort. Definitely recommend on a visit to Banff

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Calzone with Honey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We piled in as a group of seven, and although we had to wait a while for a table, the food was excellent. Calzones were 10 dollars each, so we all went for different ones. It has to be said that I'd never considered honey on pizza, but it was pretty delicious. Empty plates all round.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I went here for cheap pizza night with a big group, we had a wonderful time but when our pizza came it was burnt. They took it off the bill but we didn't have time to get another so I left hungry. I loved the atmosphere and the server was very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontariogirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing