We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfortable hostel near Lake Louise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI-Castle Mountain Wilderness
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Lake Louise is arguably the most beautiful location on earth. The hiking around Lake Louise, especially Yoho National Park and near Bow Summit doesn't get better. Where to stay? Well, is you're not set up for camping but want an economical choice to those 200 dollar rooms in Banff-LL try hosteling.
Hosteling International has two big, busy, well equipped hostels in both Banff and Lake Louise but our favourite is Castle Mountain, located right in the middle. It is small with 2 dorms: one for women and one for men. The bunks are comfortable and it has indoor toilets and a nice kitchen.
We especially appreciate the efforts of the manager, Tony, who runs a very tight ship: it is spotless, quiet, organized. For people who enjoy a little quiet and coziness I recommend Castle Mountain. The location of the hostel also allows more opportunity of seeing wildlife, including bears, from behind the safety of the picture windows.
Families with active, rambunctious children or party animals would be happier in the bigger hostels - there's more to do and you can easily find a party nearby.

Room Tip: Choose a bed away from the door so the opening and closing of the door doesn't wake you up.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

This place is great. The manager, Tony, is very friendly. Bunks are comfortable!

Even though this is officially classified as a wilderness hostel by Hostelling International - it isn't the normal wilderness hostel. The place has been renovated recently and has full facilities: kitchen, flushable toilets, showers, and laundry. No Internet.

I would recommend staying here to anyone passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CndTrvlr042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Carineonthenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bearinthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: O check in começa a partir das 17:00hs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaBorret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: je slaapt hier op gescheiden slaapzalen. Dus als je met je partner in een bed wil liggen moet je hie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
63.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
801 reviews
62.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
62.9 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#23 of 33 in Banff
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
62.1 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
62.9 mi away
Banff International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Castle Mountain Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Castle Mountain Wilderness

Address: Highway 1A and Highway 93 South, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range: $22 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — HI-Castle Mountain Wilderness 1.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HI-Castle Mountain Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing