We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good German style restaurant at the Banff Springs Hotel”

Waldhaus Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 158 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Reviewed January 26, 2016

We have been many times to the Waldhaus and always enjoy it. We like the cosy German-style atmosphere and the fireplace. Sometimes the lighting is very low and I have had problems reading the menu, so remember your glasses! They do an excellent cheese fondue which you can have as a starter. The meat courses are really good and on this occasion we had the venison loin and the goulash - both excellent. Very good and friendly service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, Food & Beverage Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. It was so nice to hear that you continue to visit on your many trips to Banff. Tucked beneath the hotel in the Bow Valley, the Waldhaus is one of our best kept secrets. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 336 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2016

The restaurant was lovely with a wood burning fireplace in the dining room. It was dark wood and they had us a table saved by the window. We ordered a plate of local cheeses and meats, then for the entrees Beef Goulash and Schnitzel. Very Good.

Thank guy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, Food & Beverage Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. With it's unique surroundings, the Waldhaus certainly has it's charms. I was so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Banff.

Warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2016

This pub is situated next to the lake behind the Banff Springs Fairmont. We had some time to ourselves between a wedding ceremony and the reception and so braved the stairs in our kilts and dresses to visit the Waldhaus. The setting and view from this beautiful heritage building is amazing and we were able to watch people skating on the lake from our seats.

True to their Bavarian architectural heritage the Waldhaus has a fantastic selection (for a bar in North America ) of German/Austrian beers on tap and in bottle. It was a fairly cold day and the steak and ale pies spoke to the three of us which lead to the only disappointment in that when they arrived they were all actually much too cold. We didn't have that much time to spend as we had some running around to do so we just grinned and bore it but it was a little disappointing.

Definitely worth the visit though, a little gem!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SeanFromCapeBreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, Food & Beverage Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor. It was lovely to hear that you were able to join us prior to the wedding reception you were attending. Nestled behind the hotel, the Waldhaus truly offers unrivalled views of the Bow Valley. I am sorry to hear that your meal was disappointing. I definitely will be sharing your comments with our culinary team as they are always looking for opportunities to improve. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Banff.

warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015

While staying at the Banff Springs hotel we enjoyed a supper-time meal at the Waldhaus Restaurant. I ordered the goulash, and for a relatively simple meal it was fantastic-highly recommended. My wife enjoyed the veal schnitzel (i.e. cutlet) and my daughter very much enjoyed the cheese fondue. The portions were quite large and we unfortunately did not have any room for dessert or I'm sure it would also have been very good. The service was excellent and the prices, although somewhat dear, were not unexpectedly above those of the Keg (for instance). The food and the atmosphere was worth the extra cost, in my opinion. The restaurant is located off the main premises of the hotel, and can be reached via 90+ steps or via a shuttle to and from the hotel. We had a pleasant walk to/from the restaurant, but I would not recommend it for anyone with mobility or serious health concerns. As a treat, we will definitely return to this restaurant, although in the future we may try the pub (located in the lower level of the restaurant) which apparently serves similar fare.

Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent experience. It was so nice to hear how much you enjoyed your dinner. I will sure to share comments with our culinary team as they always love to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

warm regards,

Jeffrey C.
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2015

German Specialty restaurant with Typical Fondue and German dishes of very good quality. Service is very good. Food is served hot and at a leisurely pace. Good for families that want dinner to last and be enjoyed for more that 20 minutes.

1  Thank OrdinarymanSaluda_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing