We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: German, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I walked down the many stairs to the bar. It was very cozy with good beer. Then it was a long walk back up. Most people take the shuttle.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KDons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for visiting all the way from Illinois! We are so glad glad that you enjoyed the many German beers we have on tap! We hope you visit again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    80
    33
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
204 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Perfect Schitzel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Enjoyed a excellent meal in this hotel restaurant. Service is good, cocktails can take a while as they are claimed to come from the hotel bar some distance away. A place I'm likely to return to for another meal in Banff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrs7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience in the Waldhaus. We are so glad you enjoyed the Schnitzel and service. Thank you so much for visiting us all the way from The Netherlands and we hope your travels bring you back soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
714 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, superb setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hidden away in the lower grounds of the Fairmont Springs hotel and near to the Bow River Falls. A superb location overlooking the Spray river, mountains and lovely golf course (it looks onto the 15th tee and fairway). We had lunch on the lovely balcony. A fab place to sit and have lunch in the sunshine. I had a burger & Barb a mushroom wrap. $60 with tip and a beer each. Superb. You could eat anything here, as the location is superb on it's own.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderfule comments! The Waldhaus is a hidden gem of our Hotel and we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you again and we hope you visit us again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Ct.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Wonderful German food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Waldhous Restaurant is part of the Banff Springs Hotel complex, but it occupies a separate 1920’s Bavarian style lodge in the woods below the hotel. The main floor dining room is decorated as a grand European hunting lodge. There is a separate pub on the lower level. The menu offers mostly German entrees or local meats and fishes prepared in a German or Swiss style. My wife and I both had the jaeger schnitzel, which is similar to the traditional wiener schnitzel but enhanced with wild mushrooms, raclette cheese, spatzle, and veal jus. An excellent dish. My wife preceded her entrée with escargots which were done in a stronger, tangier sauce than in the normal French treatment. My starter was an onion soup that was rich, dark, and flavored with cognac. I accompanied my meal with one of their excellent German pilsners while my wife stayed with a glass of Bordeaux.

I am just sorry that we did not have an opportunity to return to try some of the other dishes

If you are not a hotel guest, the easiest access is to turn left just before the hotel and go down to the Bow Falls parking lot. A well-marked staircase leads up to the restaurant from one end of the lot while a sloping drive leads to the restaurant from the other end of the lot. Be sure to bring a small flashlight with you to find your way back after dark.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gordon475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding the Waldhaus Pub and Dining Room. Receiving positive comments from our guests is very motivating and we do appreciate it. Thank you again and we hope you visit soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Both my husband's entree and mine were tough. He had wiener schnitzel which was full of sinews and I had venison, which while tasty was tough. As we were leaving I heard another waitress apologizing to a couple for their meat being tough and they had a different entree.
On the good side the onion soup was very good with a hearty beef broth; the apple strudel and fruit plate were very nice desserts. And service was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and honest feedback regarding your dining experience. We do apologize that your meal was not up to standards. Your comments have been passed on to our Culinary Team for their consideration. We are always comitted to excellence and will work hard to improve our offerings for our guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing