We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly alpine pub and great beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs | Separate Location From Banff Springs Hotel, Off Property, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada (Formerly Waldhaus Pub)
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 131 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $36
Cuisines: German, Swiss, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
718 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Friendly alpine pub and great beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The pub has a real alpine feel to it. The service was attentive and friendly while the bratwurst and sauerkraut better than average. Beers are excellent and good atmosphere with most customers glued to the hockey on TV. Authentic Canadian?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Wienerschnitzel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This restaurant is part of Banff Springs Hotel, tho in a separate building near the golf course (used to be a clubhouse). The interior features some very nice woodwork in a terrific wilderness setting outside.

While the prices are more than my normal budget, I must say the food was well-prepared & service was good. The schnitzel was among the best I've ever had - very tender, almost melt-in-your-mouth - veggies were crispy yet tender, tho if I were to quibble a bit with one thing, the spatzle seemed a bit dry, considering the speck they were served with...

All in all, if you like good german cuisine in the Canadian Alps, you can't beat this, even if you have to pay a little extra for it - the quality & service make it a special treat.

As a bit of a bonus, the location of the restaurant happens to be near an apparent central gathering place for wildlife, judging by the various "remnants" left behind in a nearby field...& sure enough, spotted a couple of large deer feeding before entering & after leaving the restaurant for dinner...

They also have a bar downstairs, tho the menu is different than the main dining room.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flybynite85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Waldhaus Alpine restaurant at the Fairmont Banff Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

After a busy day exploring, we arrived at the restaurant approx. 8:15pm. We had not realized that it closed at 9. We were warmly welcomed & served a delicious dinner at no time feeling rushed (we left significantly after 9!). The fondue dishes and various schnitzels were ordered promptly. The red cabbage was excellent & we should have ordered more. It was a perfect meal to enjoy when dining in the Rocky Mountains! The restaurant is not physically attached to the hotel. It is a brief walk although a shuttle is available. There is a pathway down from the restaurant that leads to the Bow River Falls.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CKJ_MOM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very cozy, spectacular setting, wonderful food, big screen TVs for hockey fans in Playoff time! The chef went above and beyond to accommodate my food allergy. The waiter was kind and understanding and made sure that my needs were met. I felt safe and I enjoyed my meal immensely.
elks were grazing outside

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sk8rmom4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This building houses two restaurants, a pub downstairs and the lovely fine dining restaurant upstairs. First, you must know that neither the pub nor the restaurant are in the actual Banff Springs Hotel, they are in a building near the Banff Springs Golf Course. There is a shuttle that takes you from the hotel to the front steps of the restaurants, you don't have to climb the many stairs (70 or so) to get up there. My family and I took my 90 year old mother who was visiting for a beautiful dinner here and we were not disappointed. The reason I chose this restaurant was for the fondue: an alpine setting, chilly weather, snow, got the picture? So much fun and so delicious. After living in the French Alps for a year it brought back many memories of fondue with friends and it was a lot less expensive than a flight to Geneva. We also had the French onion soup and the beet salad, all up to the usual standards of the Banff Springs chefs. The hostess, server and manager were all extremely knowledgeable and attentive. The decor is Alpine Swiss and fit the image I was hoping for perfectly. Treat yourself, go with your significant other or friends. Click if this helps.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanjl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#