We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant change”

Waldhaus Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pleasant change”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not to be confused with the restaurant upstairs in the same building, this little pub is tucked away in the grounds of the Banff Springs hotel (10 minute walk or short $2 bus ride from town). Not a big place and gets very busy on "wing" Wednesday when the chicken wings are only 50c each but worth a try and offers a nice change of scene from the other Banff bars. If you're feeling brave, ask for "The Boot" - a boot shaped glass that holds about 4 pints of your chosen beer!!! Has a pool table, outside seating (with lovely views) and TV screens showing various sports. Staff very helpful, as you'd expect from a Fairmont establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AWA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    83
    34
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miller Place, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Found this place in an inroom publication. It is set up on a hill. If your staying at the hotel, I believe there is an easier route. Just feel you should know if there are any elderly folks in your party. We were staying in another hotel, so there was a tiny hike.It is absolutely charming. Food is good and service is top notch! It is pricey, but we were very happy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great beer!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

And great wine too. My wife and I made this our first stop when we arrived for a three night stay at Banff Springs. Bartender Jackson was a treat and was very friendly.
We were able to enjoy a nice fire outside the pub at intermission during the game. Wine list is wonderful. Beers on tap were delicious and food was epic. Make sure you pop in if you're at Banff Springs, you won't be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Try the fondue.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to the upstairs restaurant part for the fondue. It was a super relaxed enjoyable evening. The food was amazing and so was the service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2013 visit”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Really enjoyed this place last year. It was pricey for drinks then but after the latest minor refurb works, prices for beers are a total disgrace. Avoid if you don't have deep pockets. A great shame as staff are great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry3Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing