We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to put some money into the accomodations...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity
Save
You added Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Time to put some money into the accomodations...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was here for a conference. I hadn't been here for several years (since the last conference), and I was told at front reception how there have been so many changes. There are some beautiful new buildings for conference sessions and meals, but as memory serves me, no changes to the rooms... When I arrived there were whisker trimmings around my bathroom sink. I brought it to the attention of the front desk, thinking special attention would be put into cleaning it properly the next day... Wrong! They were still there and I had to speak to the manager of housekeeping to have my bathroom cleaned properly. In addition to that, on the second day the toilet wouldn't flush, and they didn't have anyone on site to fix it, so I had to move rooms. Oh, and there is no air conditioning! Need I say more.... for the cost of the room it's better to just stay downtown!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    82
    19
    22
    10
See reviews for
30
56
6
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Lloyd Hall for a conference. Room has no air condition, vey basic accommodations, you can feel every spring in the bed, hangers have nails sticking out that snagged some clothes, beautiful view of a dumpster and parking lot. Duct tape keeping the carpet down in several locations.
Work booked me here for the conference and would never stay here if given the choice. I stayed in the main building last year and the difference was black and white. The main building has king size beds flat screen Tvs and feels modern this building not so much. There is a nice smell of musk and age in the halls that made for a riveting experience. Tried to move rooms but nothing available. Wanted to cancel when I saw the room but the 48 hour cancellation policy was not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austic403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was very impressed by the location (of course) but also by the service at the Banff Centre. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a problem with my phone and it was resolved quickly. You have food options at the centre if you do not want to walk to town. The walk is only 10 minutes through a trail. The website was not clear about this but I found out that being a guest gives you free access to the fitness centre which is very well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitinefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The conference facilities are good, the hotel is ok. nothing too special. There is wireless internet and it is very fast. The view here is spectacular.

Helpful?
1 Thank Will577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed in one of the newer rooms in the PDC. Great room, layout and also couldn't beat the view. Bit of a walk for breakfast, but that was my own fault for getting up late. But, how do you complain when your looking at Tunnel Mountain in front of you. Rooms were very clean and very nicely appointed, nice amenities. It really is a hidden gem while in Banff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was there for a conference.
Very good food and a very nice room.
I stayed for 2 nights and I felt very comfortable.
The view up there is amazing! You can eat seeing the mountains...it's very beautiful!
I would recommend to anyone...

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank juckleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed again this New Year's at the Professional Development Centre at the Banff Centre. Have stayed here many times and find this the best value for dollar in Banff. Not in the town centre, we like it because it is a little off the beaten track and consequently quiet. You need a car if you stay here, even though it is less than a 5 minute drive to the centre of Banff. The staff is efficient, friendly and helpful. The rooms are not exceptional and are a tiny bit worn, although I understand they are slowly renovating all the rooms. They are, however, clean and perfectly acceptable by any standard.

Room Tip: The executive king suite is a bit overpriced at $215/nt but after renovations are done, it will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.9 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity

Property: Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity
Address: 107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity exists to inspire artists and leaders to make their unique contribution to society. Located in the vibrant mountain destination of Banff, Alberta in the Canadian Rockies, Banff Centre offers professional conference facilities and services for groups of up to 1,000 delegates. Banff Centre is a renowned site for Canadian and international business, government, research, scientific, and educational meetings. Banff Centre's inspirational setting and creative, educational environment provide the essential framework for productive learning and engagement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing