We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A wonderful hidden gem”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Located on Tunnel Mountain overlooking the Banff and the valley heading west is The Banff Centre. It has undergone major renovations in the past few years. Gone is the old Donald Cameron Hall to be replaced with the modern Kinnear Centre.
During our stay for a concert at Eric Harvey concert hall right in the centre, we stayed at the Professional Development Centre with a beautiful view of the valley. The room was comfortable and quiet.
The Three Ravens Restaurant and Wine Bar is located atop the Sally Borden building which is a short walk from the building we stayed in. My wife had the beef tenderloin steak and I the rabbit. Both were exquisitely done. There is also a buffet dining that looked as though it was a typical buffet (we did not participate). On the main floor of Kinnear is a more relaxed eating area open until 2 a.m. with quite good food, although more pub like in its menu - still good though.

Good skiing is nearby at three excellent hills. The town of Banff is only a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing west to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    113
    24
    32
    17
See reviews for
45
67
10
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

It's a little hard to get around this cluster of buildings in the beautiful town of Banff.

Some buildings are in better shape than others, so I can only talk about the ones I've been inside. This complex is a conference center, theatre and hotel (and possibly more).

The hotel part I stayed in was not bad. A rather oddly laid out lobby, nice rooms with comfortable beds and sheets. Our room was simple and clean.

The conference center portion was quite new and half the rooms have a breath-taking view of the mountains.

We also had our meals there and for feeding around 150 people it was better than expected. We had a great breakfast buffet (waffles, bacon, etc) and decent hot lunch and dinner. It's not going to blow your mind, but definitely some of the best mass-produced meals I've had.

I didn't get a chance to see it myself, but I was told there was a pool and hottub on site as well.

Overall I enjoyed my stay.

Notes:

great staff
clean rooms
hard to navigate campus due to size and layout
parking can be tricky depending on how busy they are
10 minute walk into town
woodsy feel to the place
saw elk on campus once! awesome!
can't speak to value as it was a business trip and paid for.
FREE WIFI WITH NO PASSWORD BS! :)

PS - be sure to check out the hot springs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winona, mn
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Be it Mozart or Blue Rodeo, The Banff Centre is a location that offers it all. World-class events, accommodation, dining with incredible views. Always enjoy my time at The Banff Centre!

Room Tip: The PDC offers the most modern accommodation, but rooms in Lloyd Hall can be incredible value and of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Banff Center is a huge complex a little distant from the city. There are many buildings to choose from.
The pool jacuzi and gym are way above any others available in hotels. There are of course many cultural events on the premises. Rooms are good. Restaurant good. We had a noisy heating unit of the next building opposite our window running 24 hrs a day.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerusalemtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

First of all, you need a map to get around the place (and I've been here before). Close parking is often full and the other available parking is not located convenient to the accommodations. When we finally found the registration desk, check in was simple, but we then had to go back to the parkade to get our suitcases!
My biggest pet peeve was the lack of air conditioning. Rooms had windows that opened, but no air conditioning. There was a small stand up fan that was old and noisy. There were 3 of us staying in the room, and only 2 towels.
We were there for a conference, with food included. Breakfast was great, but the family banquet was only okay. My daughter and I both chose to have steak, hers was undercooked throughout. Mine, well, after the chef touched it with his fingers to check how well done it was!! it wasn't as well done as he assessed.
I've stayed in the Banff and Canmore areas a lot and would recommend staying at another location. Other than the convenience of being on site for this conference, it was not worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main section are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tempestt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity

Property: Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity
Address: 107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity exists to inspire artists and leaders to make their unique contribution to society. Located in the vibrant mountain destination of Banff, Alberta in the Canadian Rockies, Banff Centre offers professional conference facilities and services for groups of up to 1,000 delegates. Banff Centre is a renowned site for Canadian and international business, government, research, scientific, and educational meetings. Banff Centre's inspirational setting and creative, educational environment provide the essential framework for productive learning and engagement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing