We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep it simple and keep it good.”

Squish Sandwich Cellar
Ranked #76 of 145 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Keep it simple and keep it good.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

There is something to be said about keeping it simple and keeping it good. This is a simple sandwich place that simply makes excellent sandwiches. The owner came around the counter and greeted us, he proudly reviewed his menu with us; I could't help but like him.

The sandwich was really good, nothing crazy and nothing gigantic, just fresh delicious food.

I like the pride in ownership here. The place is very well maintained and cozy. Certainly a good stop in Banff.

Great place that certainly deserves a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CP-Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    63
    27
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

The place is cool, the dude who owns it is cool, and the sandwiches are outstanding!

The Montreal smoked meat is as good as it is in Montreal !!! This is a must have if in Banff, You won't be sorry!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Sandwiches, period”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We are frequent visitors to Banff, and have been frustrated over the years with Banff's typical overpriced and underwhelming lunch options. Enter, Squish Sandwiches- a breath of fresh air in Banff. Squish doesn't just rely on the premise that tourists are fair game to be overcharged simply because of the stunning location of the town. We were greeted by the owner upon entering the shop, and were presented with the challenge of picking only one sandwich off the menu of 10. They all looked amazing! We had the Montreal smoked meat, which was right up there with any I have had in Montreal itself. Prices were between $10-13 and included sides such as cole slaw, pickles, and chips. A bit more expensive than Subway, but the quality of ingredients more than justifies the price. Service was fast and friendly.

All the sandwiches looked amazing and we will certainly be back to try the remainder of the menu.

Try it, you won't be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good, but a bit over-rated”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

At the time of my review this was rated the 8th best restaurant in Banff.....really? The sandwiches were very good but very overpriced. The "sides" were a very small cup of cole slaw (about 3 spoon fulls) and a cup of chips (about 6 potato chips - seriously). The sandwiches were $13.00 each and weren't huge so all-in-all, just a good experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff-from-hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have four food critics aged 14- 46 in the family. Making everyone happy is a challenge.
We loved Squish and went back the next day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wes s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squish Sandwich Cellar also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Squish Sandwich Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing