We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viewing only”

Banff Springs Golf Course
Ranked #10 of 39 Outdoor Activities in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by the late Stanley Thompson, this challenging 6,729-yard, 27-hole course offers scenic thrills and golf challenges throughout its "Stanley Thompson 18" and "The Tunnel 9" courses.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Viewing only”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent condition although did not play. Rode around the course. Comparable to the best course condition of a mountain course I have seen ever.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    54
    12
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where to see the animals”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Drive the golf course loop at dusk to see the elk, we did and found the elf watching the golfers. We drove the whole loop around the golf course, and was able to photograph many elk and saw a fox. You can tell where the animals are, because the cars are stopped and everyone is out of their cars taking pictures

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rene0651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful golg course”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The golf course is beautiful and easy to play had a wonderful day. We were given golf balls and towelsand the rental clubs were very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GissyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great course with terrible front person”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We are blessed to have had opportunities to played some hi-end courses in the past and this course should count as one of them, at the price they charged but greeted (lectured) by one condescending immature pro-shop attendant was an undesirable experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful views but very poorly managed.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I like golfing here as it truly is a beautiful course. The staff are so amateur and ill trained - and management are not a visible presence at all. As others have noted, there is never a starter or an effective marshal and it is often slightly chaotic. The pro club staff are not well trained in the course or products offered. Checking in or buying something can take an unreasonably long time. Unlike other reviewers, we have never noticed rude staff - just unprofessional and poorly managed. Fairmont really falls down on the job of training staff at this course. But it is gorgeous so you decide what's most important.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Springs Golf Course also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Banff Springs Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing